Discuss » Current Issues

Wastage of Indus water in sea by Pakistan versus noble use of Indus by India.

(96 posts)
  1. @hariskhan and Wahid Doyum
    Your comments should not be based on ethnic/provincial hate.
    Hate based content would be knocked off from you comments/ or comments removed.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 6:34 #
  2. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Mirza sb.: I'm just presenting facts.

@Wahid Doyum: Let me show you a glimpse of reality :-)

---------------------------------------------------------------
    DAWN News: ADB terms Sindh education project a failure

Sunday, 31 Jan, 2010
    ---------------------------------------------------------------

Did you see this news ?

This was a $97 million project for imparting basic, quality education to people of Sindh. It was marked as 'failed!'.

Wrangle it up. Tell me what do you see ?

(1) Was JI or Islam or people of any other province involved in this ?
    (2) What does JI have to do with this ?
    (3) Why do you accuse JI or Islam or others for your own failures ?

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 6:37 #
  3. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

VICTIMIZATION OF RIVER INDUS BY Govt of SINDH

On one side Sindh is wasting River Indus water in sea but on other side making objection on use of water by other provinces for agriculture (Chasma Jehlum Link Canal) and Kalabagh dams for electricity generation.
    On one side Sindh is calcimining that there is rise of sea level and problem of land erosion and other side also advocating wastage of 10 million Acre feet water in sea to further raise the level of sea and will cause more land erosion.
    On one side Sindh is saying there is water logging and salinity problem in Thatta and Badin and on other side itself spreading and aggravating these problems with wastage of huge (13 Million Acres feet= 0NE CRORE Thirty Laks Acre Feet Water) Quantity of water for few thousands Acres of land in Thatta and Badin
    On one side Sindh is calaiming that there is rise of sea level due to global warming and other side also advocating generation of electricity from Thar coal which is the most polluted source of energy and main culprit of global warming and will pollute all land, air and water resources of Pakistan including River Indus.
    On one side Sindh is cultivating Rice crop in desert and there is always increase in agriculture out put in the end of year but on other side always crying that there is shortage of water while infact all rivers of Pakistan including Hub River of Balouchistan goes down towards Sindh and their is contineously increase in flow of water year by year.

On one side Sindh always demanding fresh water but itself doing nothing for prevention of pollution and preservation of water. no single treatment plant is there, no desalination plant is there, on the contrary polluting river Indus water with salt mines and sea water and many lakes have been converted into useless lakes due to pollution.
    On one side Sindh makes claim on whole water of Indus but on other side victimizing this river by polluting with sea water,factories wastage and fertilizer, infact Indus water near Thatta and Badin is so much polluted and poisioned in Sindh that no one can use that for any purpose.

On one side Sindh show they love river Indus,but on other side by wasting its water in sea and opposing any development project on River Indus, Province of Sindh is converting to River Indus into a Nullah and making this river useless for People of Pakistan and instead of preventing its wastage and diverting towards Karachi and coast of Makran,Sindh is wasting River Indus in the sea.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 7:58 #
  4. @above
    Kindly avoid SPAMING threads. Do not keep posting same content repeatedly.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 8:05 #
  5. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

In view of rise of sea level and presence of salt deposits in Thatta and Badin pouring and wasting River Indus water in this area is like pouring fuel on fire

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 10:17 #
  6. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@RajputPuttar: If non-Muslims stop interfering in our politics, in our governance, critical areas of our state, they will be given FULL freedom to live their lives in peace.

Untill they interfere in our/Muslims's matters, they can expect more of the same from us, perhaps even worse.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 10:59 #
  7. RajputPuttar

hariskhan

Why u r interested in my religion at all ? Koi rashtey daari karni haai ???

Talk on the topic ,probably i m a better muslim than u . Leave it to GOD to determine that who is muslim or not or who is a better muslim.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 11:11 #
  8. Wahid Doyum

"@hariskhan and Wahid Doyum
    Hate based content would be knocked off from you comments/ or comments removed. "

@semirza, your friend jamaati member haris khan just called all Sindhis as:

(1) are uneducated
    (2) are uninformed
    (3) have high ego
    (4) have low thinking power
    (5) have high tendency to commit treason
    (6) are sold-out AHOs

So, tell me how he is allowed to post these racists comments and gets mild warning, but pointing out the obvious historical facts where West Pakistani leaders held the same views for Bengalis until they were humuliated warrants any warning?

Did the admin not say racism is not allowed, but not only is haris khan a racist, but also bigot towards anyone who does consider Munawar Hasan as their leader and savior and thus is called a kaffir in not so many words.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 15:24 #
  9. Wahid Doyum

@haris khan, what does ADB project have to with proven record of Punjab being responsible for stealing away Sindh's water where the lower areas have been left barren. This is FACT.

And you have the nerve to justify this cruelty and colonial mindset of Pakistani establishment and then consider yourself a good Muslim? Will you justify this by declaring Sindhis as kaffir, so it is ok to starve them to death?

I have shared this posting with my Sindhi friends who are also involved in the progressive national movements and they are not shocked by the fascist attitude of people like you. They experience it daily.

At least you can never say such things face to face with a Pukhtun as we will tear anyone's face off for even attempting to do so.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 15:26 #
  10. RajputPuttar

Mirza Sahib,

I expect imparital moderation , if there is any. How can u warn both members ?

A member 'Migel9' got banned for racial abuse last/this week and another member is at large.

Admin/moderators

plz be consistent.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 15:40 #
  11. @all
    I will repeat again:
    @hariskhan and Wahid Doyum
    Hate based content would be knocked off from you comments/ or comments removed.

That meant both in case you failed to understand.
    I will add one more thing to what I said above. Anti Pakistan agenda will certainly face the same.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 17:05 #
  12. tamaazkhan

@semirza

Isn't spreading ethnic hate the most blant form of anti-pakistan agenda.

Plus who will decide what is anti-Pakistan agenda?

According to some people most people who post here are non-muslim or have "low thinking power" and have "tendancies to commit treason" becuase of their ethinic background.

Is being from Sindh, and standing up for Sindhi rights an anti-Pakistan agenda?

Please, I request that you make an example of those spreading ethnic hatred on the forum.

I protest that anyone has the audacity to say that the people of Sindh have "have high tendency to commit treason".

PS. Walid Doyum has not mentioned any point of 'ethnic/provincial hate".
    Bengali's WERE slaughtered by the establishment, with the connivance of a political party. That is, unfortunately, a part of Pakistan's legacy, one we should learn from, NOT IGNORE!

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 18:20 #
  13. @taamazkhan
    Post anything anti Pakistan and I will let you know.
    Issues concerning members other than you, will be dealt with accordingly, with them only.
    Our discussion ends here.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 18:50 #
  14. Wahid Doyum

semirza, haris khan called all Sindhis and I repeat his won words:

(1) are uneducated
    (2) are uninformed
    (3) have high ego
    (4) have low thinking power
    (5) have high tendency to commit treason
    (6) are sold-out AHOs

On what basis is he still allowed to post and not banned?

And why are you claiming that I have said anything hateful or racist? Please prove that my post contains racism. Have I called all Punjabis so and so?

NO, it is haris khan and only him who has hate for non punjabis and anyone who does not follow JI thuggery.

Your allowing a post and not banning member which ridicules all Sindhis is shameful and pathetic. How long will I last on this forum if I make a similar post listing certain "qualities" of Punjabis and attributed it to all Punjabis?

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Mar 2010 2:50 #
  15. altaf husain

fighting for past 63 years bengolis got separated n rest are still fighting n will continue untill this beloved homeland is destroyed n captured by india, america, afghan n iran to merge with mother nations

fcuk all

Abusive language

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Mar 2010 3:09 #
  16. Raavi

Wahid, I am surprised that you have not seen posts against punjabis.

People have been saying all types of things against em.

What Haris has said is nothing. Believe me.

But I dont agree with Haris here. And pardon me Pakistanis, all our provinces are like this.

You think Punjabis are smart and eating up rest of Pakistan. Come visit punjabi villages, cities. You would find hordes and hordes of people who are uneducated, uninformed, have high ego, have low thinking power etc etc. We collectively are being looted by an elite class. Punjab has the biggest popuplation so the reps in this elite class are more from Punjab.

This looting elite from other provinces puts blame on Punjab for the bad condition of the masses in their provinces. In punjab these bas**** have other excues.

Wahid, we need unity to fight against all these looters. If you want to do it without involving the poor/neglected punjabis, you would NOT succeed.

Zulm yahan bhi ho raha hai mere bhai. Tassub ki patti (aur wo patti jo tumhare siyasat danon ne pehnai hai) utar ke idhar ki halte zar bhi daikha karo.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Mar 2010 5:45 #
  17. @Niazi
    Kindly do not spam threads by using same content repeatedly.
    Such content will be removed.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Mar 2010 9:47 #
  18. @Wahid Doyum
    And why are you claiming that I have said anything hateful or racist?
    Anything Anti Pakistan or based on ethnic/provincial hate will not be tolerated.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Mar 2010 9:50 #
  19. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Due to raising sea level globally and releasing and wasting One Crore Acre Feet water of River Indus in the sea as per demand of Sindh it is expected that more cities and countries like Maldives and Bangladesh will sink under sea.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Mar 2010 10:55 #
  20. Mr. Niazi
    Global warming is a fact and not just a controversy. Water level is rising all over the world. I agree that Maldives first and later Bangladesh will be the most effected. Maldives is already worried and taking steps to relocate its public.

But I must say reduced water flow from the source itself is main reason for inward sea encroachment.
    Reasons include short monsoons as well as illegal diversion of some river water by India.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Mar 2010 12:56 #
  21. RajputPuttar

Patriot
    Reasons include short monsoons and illegal diversion of some river water by India.

as well as illegal diversion of some river water by punjab.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Mar 2010 13:07 #
  22. Thanks Rajput for pointing it out for me.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Mar 2010 13:11 #
  23. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

If we release and waste One Crore Acre Feet water of River Indus in the sea near Karachi, most certainly in Karachi there will be intrusion of and sinking of much part of Karachi under sea. Question is who are those fools who are wasting River Indus water in the sea.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Mar 2010 13:28 #
  24. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

It is certain that if you collect the whole water of your country in one or two districts like Thatta or Badin and where there is also already problem of raising of sea and erosion of land,its clearly indicates that you want to sink those districts under water.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Mar 2010 13:34 #
  25. By looking at your above comments it is obvious now you have no knowledge of the very issue you have posted to be discussed. Use logic if you have and you will certainly arrive at the same what others are saying.
    Stop bringing in twisted logic loaded with half truths. Better update your own knowledge about the topic you intend to open here because at pkpolitics you will definitely face those who are well educated, aware and even belong to the very field you want to be discussed.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Mar 2010 13:42 #
  26. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

There is need to distribute and preserve and store the water of the country in as many dams like Kalabagh and Turbela as possible and efficiently use and evenly distribute in whole of the country, if we will surrender to any provicialism and ethnocentrism, and if will collect water of all rivers of Pakistan in Thatta and Badin and then waste in the sea then we will face same problems as we are facing now.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Mar 2010 13:44 #
  27. Sorry Niazi Sahab, to understand your view point is almost impossible.
    All hue and cry is due to lack of water in the river Indus right now while you say:
    'and if will collect water of all rivers of Pakistan in Thatta and Badin and then waste in the sea....!

Can't you visualize/realize lack of water in the areas you have mentioned is a reason of inland sea encroachment itself. Not that anyone has stored or intends to store water there.

My dear there is not enough water available therefore nothing to waste. No body is building dams in Thatta and Badin.

Kindly update your information.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Mar 2010 18:14 #
  28. Niazi Sahib... Where are u based at?

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Mar 2010 20:26 #
  29. NNL

You have to forgive Haris

He is a jamati ( an offence in itself )

and i think he is from Punjab thus you can expect extreme level of feelings of being victimized while in reality being the oppressor.

So there is nothing new to be shocked about.

Posted 1 year ago on 21 Mar 2010 3:22 #
  30. Wahid Doyum

"@Wahid Doyum
    And why are you claiming that I have said anything hateful or racist?
    Anything Anti Pakistan or based on ethnic/provincial hate will not be tolerated. "

@semirza, I did not say that you have said anything hateful or racist, but you lumped me with haris khan by saying both of us are saying hateful and racist comments, which was not true.

Posted 1 year ago on 21 Mar 2010 3:36 #
  31. Wahid Doyum

Akram Khan is a "Niazi" like Imran Khan is also a "Niazi". Both seem to enjoy talking, but not listening.

Posted 1 year ago on 21 Mar 2010 3:44 #
  32. I salute you RajputPuttar. If all the Pakistanis think like you and be considerate for other Pakistanis then we can get rid of most of our problems. Thanks for raising your voice on behalf of people of Badin and Thatta. As far as Mr. Niazi is concerned he is speaking without any logic just repeating same rhetoric. If he wants to discuss this topic genuinely then he should respond to your queries logically.

Posted 1 year ago on 21 Mar 2010 5:59 #
  33. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

My dear Semi Raza, there is not enough water available in River Indus becuase you have wasted ONE CRORE ACRE FEET River Indus water in rain season in Thatta and Badin, therefore now there is nothing to waste or use. No body is building dams in Thatta and Badin but using Thatta and Badin for wastage of water.We need to preserve water at Kalabagh other wise we will continue to waste Indus water unchecked.

Kindly update your information.

Posted 1 year ago on 22 Mar 2010 5:58 #
  34. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Noble says, burning home garbage and use of coal for cooking and use of Gas and Petrol in cars harms and pollute the environment while Govt of Sindh is shamelessly advocating burning millions of tons of coal which will pollute all land, air and water resources of not only Pakistan but of whole earth.
    Wastage of water and burning of Coal should be stopped at each and every cost.

Posted 1 year ago on 22 Mar 2010 12:51 #
  35. NNL

Yaar Niazi Sahib Govt kitna paisa de rahi hai dam ke kareeb wali app ki zameen ka jo inna shor macha rahay ho.

Posted 1 year ago on 22 Mar 2010 13:46 #
  36. Yaar Niazi Sahib Govt kitna paisa de rahi hai dam ke kareeb wali app ki zameen ka jo inna shor macha rahay ho.

Well said

Posted 1 year ago on 23 Mar 2010 5:34 #
  37. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

On one side India is using water of Indus for generation of electricity and agriculture while on other side Pakistan instead of wasting river Indus water in the sea.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Apr 2010 15:04 #
  38. while on other side Pakistan instead of wasting river Indus water in the sea.

Agreed that we are wasting Indus water into the Arabian Sea.
    Do you have some practical solutions to this problem so that we would not be throwing water into the Sea?

From which point in distance onwards there should be no water flowing into the Sea?

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Apr 2010 16:47 #
  39. tamaazkhan

I do not understand what you mean by 'wasting river Indus water in the sea'?

The river Indus is meant to drain into the Arabian Sea, it is a NORMAL ecological function.
    If you distort that function you will have to deal with sea encroachment.

Sea encroachment happens when you do not 'WASTE' water into the SEA, not when you do.

Mr. Niazi you need to try to gather more information on this issue.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Apr 2010 18:17 #
  40. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Just beside River Indus,there is Hub river on which Hub Dam is present in between Hub Chowki and Karachi,and there is no wastage of river water and water is being purposefully used by INDUSTRIAL AREA OF H.I.T.E,HUBCHOWKI AND KARACHI,There is no problem of salinity, no problem of water logging and no problem of sea encroachement and intrusuoin but DELTA IS HIGHLY FERTILE AND WATER IS A BLESSING FOR PEOPLE ,WHILE WASTING RIVER INDUS WATER AND BY not constructing Dam like Kalabagh Dam we have created lot of problems for ourselves,due to wastage of river Indus water there is shortage of water,shortage of electricity, problem of salinity, problem of water logging and problem of sea encroachement and intrusuion and DELTA IS of no use AND Wsatage of river water have become a nuisance FOR PEOPLE of Delta and Pakistan.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Apr 2010 7:01 #
  41. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Politicians of other provinces want to make Punjab a crippled province but foolish government of Punjab is not able to comprehend that, a sick ,crippled punjab wil be a liability and not an asset for Pakistan.Allowing and accepting wastage of River Indus water in sea in 1991 by Province of Sindh is a fatal and non forgivable crime of Punjab Government.

Accepting wastage of River water in sea is like accepting wasatage of wheat,rice,sugar and cotton in the sea.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Apr 2010 8:18 #
  42. Sick and crippled Punjab will be a liability as foolish government of Punjab (and not Pakistan) is allowing and accepting wastage of river Indus water in the sea!

Mr. Niazi, if I may ask are you stoking up an issue between Punjab and Sindh governments through you hard to understand logic?

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Apr 2010 20:06 #
  43. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Wahid Doyum: I didn't put up that comment for expressing hate for people of Sindh.

My objective was;

(1) short-comings of people of Sindh
    (2) to show you the wrong-doings of people of Sindh
    (3) their contribution in destroying Pakistan, their contribution in stopping Pakistan or its people in the masses from making progress, from having prosperity over the decades

That is their crime against millions! of people of Pakistan. I can give you many examples of continuous treason committed by people from Sindh against ALL people of Pakistan.

Yes, I agree, Nawaz Sharif did deprive Sindh of water. I don't support Nawaz Sharif, because he's yet another criminal.

I agree with grievances of Sindh, people of Sindh. They are part of us, they are part of our country, our nation, our UMMAH.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Apr 2010 20:18 #
  44. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Even India an arch enemy of Pakistan is advising Pakistan to build reservoirs like Kalabgh Dam and others for storage and preservation of water while on other side we Pakistanies are sitting idle by Keeping hands on hands.

Please Read following news.

Pakistan must improve storage to avoid water woes'
    Sandeep Dikshit
    ‘Should use available water during lean season by constructing storage projects, canals'
    NEW DELHI: India feels Pakistan should improve its storage capacity to ensure adequate water flow during the lean season instead of raising the pitch over sharing of river waters.
    India had offered joint storage under adequate supervision, which would address the immediate water needs of Pakistan and cater to its requirements if the need arises and as per the Indus Water Treaty (IWT).
    In fact, it is to avoid any strain on Pakistan's water resources that India has so far refrained from using any of the water of the western rivers for storage, which is allowed under the IWT. Of the water permitted to be used for irrigation, India has been using only two-thirds, officials associated with sorting out water issues between the two countries point out.
    While both countries agree on the usefulness of the IWT, India's view that Pakistan should immediately undertake better utilisation of the available water during the lean season by constructing storage projects and canals is backed by a World Bank report, as well as a recent statement by Pakistan Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi.
    In an interview to a Pakistani channel on April 2, Mr. Qureshi said: “It is not being stolen by India. It's been wasted in Pakistan. The total average canal supplies of Pakistan are 104 million acres per feet. And the water available at the farm gate is about 70 million acre per feet. Where does the 34 million acre per feet go? It is not being stolen in India; it is being wasted in Pakistan.”
    Officials, who provided the transcript, say they have the video clip to prove their claim.
    The World Bank report that they cite, titled ‘Pakistan's Water Economy Running Dry,' states: “When the river flow is variable, then storage is required so that the supply of water can more closely match water demands. Relative to other arid countries, Pakistan has very little storage capacity.”
    Instead, Pakistan is making the “mistaken assertion” — as made out in the non-paper submitted by it during the meeting between the Foreign Secretaries on February 25 this year — that Islamabad has full control over the waters of the three western rivers.
    The notion that Pakistan has a veto over the water flow in the three western rivers (the Indus, Chenab and Jhelum) goes against the spirit of the articles and annexure of the IWT. And it is because of this notion that Pakistan is raising objections over the projects implemented by India “in accordance with the Treaty” on the western rivers.
    To prove their point, they refer to a clause which states that Pakistan has unrestricted use of only those waters of the western rivers, which India is under obligation to let flow after its own use under the provisions of the Treaty.
    Care was being taken to ensure that all hydroelectric projects on the western rivers were run-of-the-river (which do not consume any water) and did not affect Pakistan's interests in any manner, the officials said.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Apr 2010 8:13 #
  45. India is city of Arch Demonon, Pakistan is city of grey wardens, the final fight between archdemon and grey warden is not so far, so prepare ur swords, Soon we will see the end of India

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Apr 2010 8:27 #
  46. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

The simple logic is that those who do not want dams like Kalabagh to be built, they are enemies of the country or at least don’t want Pakistan to have vibrant economy and social peace. The forces and lobbies that opposed Pakistan and those that are stuck up in their narrow grooves of provincialism would not like Pakistan to become an economically viable country. The weak economy foments societal discontent and poltical instability. That is the spectacle that patriotic Pakistanis have been witnessing since the inception of Pakistan.

Disease of Provincialism in Politicians of NWFP and Sindh is mainly responsible for power shortage mayhem and the resultant chaos in the society due to tormenting blackouts and long power outrages.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Apr 2010 15:55 #