Discuss » Faith and Religion

Should we celebrate Prophet's Birthday?

(85 posts)
  1. LalBichoo

SufiSoul,

"""Lal Bichoo,
    we reserve the right here to discuss any matter abt ISLAM in this world rather than feel sorry where we are not allowed to do something like that but only the result sheet will be handed over with computerised entries for every second of life,good or bad......pls feel free to understand ISLAM and rules sorrounding this Religion... """

Isn't it funny that you people are discussing whether to celeberate B/Day of your prophet or not ?
    Why is it taking so much time to come to a decision on this matter ?
    Why Deobandis/Wahabies call Barelvis 'Bida'ati' and why Barelvis call 'Kucharay kee gand Deoband' ???

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Mar 2010 10:28 #
  2. SufiSoul

Lal bichoo mission is to distart the thread always but i dont know why he is tolerated by the Modes????i must say it a delibrate tolerating attitude towards Lalbichoo....what else i can say???

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Mar 2010 10:29 #
  3. @ LetsDoIT

hmm, you've not answered my questions. Anyway, I was not making fun of the hadith please re-read my post, I was just talking about some people's distorted interpretation of that hadith.

Third regarding Bidaah-e-Hasana, i have just one question who will decide its good or bad???

The critera to judge that is Quran and Sunnah, and let me reiterate it once again, that any innovation that is in contradiction with Quran and Sunnah is rejected and any innovation that conforms with Quran and Sunnah is an approved innovation

Performing Sajda (Prostration) is for sure one of the wonderful Ibadah and we know that there are only two Sajdas in one Rakaat of a prayer but Prophet PBUH never said in any hadith that do not increase it from two to three so if i want to include one more in my Prayer, could it be called Bidaah-e-Hasana???

Narrated Malik: We came to the Prophet and we were young men nearly of equal ages and we stayed with him for twenty nights. Allah's Apostle was a very kind man and when he realized our longing for our families, he asked us about those whom we had left behind. When we informed him, he said, "Go back to your families and stay with them and teach them (religion) and order them (to do good deeds). The Prophet mentioned things some of which I remembered and some I did not. Then he said, "Pray as you have seen me praying, and when it is the time of prayer, one of you should pronounce the call (Adhan) for the prayer and the eldest of you should lead the prayer. "

Increasing sajda's from two to three would go against this hadith, and any innovation that is not in conformity with Quran and Sunnah is rejected.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Mar 2010 15:59 #
  4. @ Sufisoul

Just wow!

Before you read my post, please do as well go through what you've written or asked, as that would benefit both of us and avoid the confusion we are in right now.

Let me give you just two of the many examples where you took my posts out of context.

Letsdoit said: 'Prophet PBUH forbade yearly celebrations'

I replied: 'Where did he(saw) say that? On the contrary he advised the Ummah to fast 'every year' on the tenth of muharram. '

You said: 'All these celebrations are according to Quran and Hadees so allowed as directed by the Quran and hadees.....But no clear orders for milad to celebrate like the people.....'

another example:

You asked: 'Please provide any proof from last 7-8 hundred years for milad celebrations please....'

I quoted some excerpts from history that proved that mawlid has been celebrated from hundreds of years.

then you came back with a rant: 'Its good that you completly failed to give any proof from any of the source like,Quran,Hadees,Sahaba RTA act,Four Imams'

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Mar 2010 16:03 #
  5. @ NNL

I m simply asking if the Ahle Bayt or Kibar-us-Sahaba (radhi allah Unhum ajmaein have done it or not.

Bro, seems like you're having a hard time finding my posts, anyway, here you go, please read these posts:

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/should-we-celebrate-prophets-birthday#post-123499
    http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/should-we-celebrate-prophets-birthday#post-123517

And bro have you forgotten when the Prophet(saw) immigrated to Medinah Sharif he was welcomed with songs in praise of him out of love by the young girls of Ansars:

“The full moon rose over us from the mountains of al-Wada‘!
    We must give thanks as long as there remains one who calls unto Allah!”

They celebrated even his arrival in madinah, and you claim they didn't celebrate his mawlid? That is wrong bro, please read my posts.

Thank you.

May Allah(swt) guide us all. Ameen

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Mar 2010 16:15 #
  6. SufiSoul

@Umer
    Fasting at a particular time.
    Did you find any match between fasting at birth date and todays money sucking tactics of barailvi moulvis...
    If you are still thinking it (Jaiz) than what do you think about people having a long long (Iftar) during Ramazan at 1100 am..They are with the same logic that SEHRI AND AFTAR is shown by the prophet now we can make aftar long till 11pm at bight to earn more sawab and this is not addition to the religion/Biddah...
    What abt the people offering some time 3 FARAIZ at zuhar slath and think no addition to the religion..
    What about the people celebrating EID for upto 10 days and so Qurbani and think this is not Biddah or addition to the Islam..
    What about the people used to go to tombs which are decorated and MAHAFILI SAMA and KHARAFAT like this are attended.and thinks this is not crossing the allowed orders of Prophet abt tombs...
    You have provided some SHIEKHS refereences above but these shiekhs are never the authority over such issues and pls stop following such So-called shiekhs and just stop urself at IMAMS only for following ISLAMIC RULINGS otherwise the result will be the same like theft of electricity for Mahafile Milaad...
    This limit for celebrations is only crossed for money purposes otherwise at Milade Nabi SAWW and own birthday fasting is the best and more expressive representation of from AN UMMATTI.....
    For more information please search through the PROPERTY DEALER PEERS AND ROOHANI PESHWA'S of the same milad Party sect..
    1.Peer sahib Golra sharif Property
    2.Peer sahib saifur Rahman sahib property and his khalifa a retired colonel plotting business at tarnol housing.
    3.Peer naqibur Rahmans Urf Prado pirs business dealings with shiekh Rashid and election compaign in favour of Shiekh Rashid with all of thousands of Murid
    4.Shiekhul Islam Hazrat Maulana Tahirul Qadri LLB MINHAJUL QURAN business and property.
    5.Rahbari Sunnai Tahrik from Karachi SARWAT QADRI MADIZILLAHO ALAIH NAJAIZ QABZY AT plots in Karachi for construction of Masajids for chandas.

The list is long as they sect is famous for their such money driven approach and acts and only SADA LOH people can be Attracted by this Drama BAZI.
    Further you are failed to enlighten us about Historical PAGAN back ground of sub-continent people and also failed to come forward with some example of such EID EQUVIVALENT CELEBRATIONS OF MILAAD from rest of the world......

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Mar 2010 18:44 #
  7. @Umer

Please let me know which answers i have not given, i thought i already answered them in the above posts. now coming to your post.

I know you will quote this hadith: Sallo Kama Raitamooni Usali (Pray as you have seen me praying)

But similarly there exists another hadith which tells that Muslims have two days of celebrations in a year...what to do with that?

Ok leave that and tell me whats wrong in praying Eid prayer on Eid Meelad-un-Nabi. Since it is also an Eid and praying eid prayers on Eid is also Sunnah then this addition would be brilliant and it is 100% according to sunnah and Quran also. So is it a good addition or not????

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Mar 2010 20:54 #
  8. Please let me know which answers i have not given

Bro, I asked for proof for the claim that, Bidah in deen is forbidden and in means to attain deen, it's not and secondly, about how performing an act of bidah collectively is blameworthy, and doing the same act individually is not.

But similarly there exists another hadith which tells that Muslims have two days of celebrations in a year...what to do with that?

Ok leave that and tell me whats wrong in praying Eid prayer on Eid Meelad-un-Nabi.

No, no, Why leave that, let us first discuss that for now, that is it against Quran-o-Sunnah to celebrate more than two eids.

So, I would like to draw your attention towards Friday. Jumah is also an ‘Eid’, and it is other than al-Fitr and al-Adha. The word “Eid” was used for jumah by the Holy Prophet (sallallahu alaihi wa sallam) himself.

And Its called jumm'ah because sayyiduna Adam alayhis salaam was put together on this day, meaning its the day he was born - his Milad. So whoever performs the Jumm'ah salah is actually celebrating Eid Meelid un nabi of sayyiduna Adam alayhis salaam.

here is the hadith:
    Ibn Majah reports in his collection, Rasulullah (sallallahu alaihi wa sallam) said: “O Muslims! Allah has made this day (jum’ah) a day of Eid. So have a bath on this day, whoever has perfume should apply it, and use the miswak.” (Ibn Majah)

Furthermore, Once Ibn Abbas (radiallahu anhu) recited the following verse: “This day, I have completed your Religion for you.” A Jew was sitting near him. On hearing this verse being recited he remarked: “If this verse was revealed to us, we would have celebrated that day as a day of Eid .” Ibn Abbas (radiallahu anhu) replied: “This verse was revealed on two Eids” , i.e. on the day of jum’ah and the day of arafah, referring here to jum’ah as Eid.

Therefore, It is permissible to call a day other than the two Eids, an “Eid”, as to do so is from the teachings of the Apostle of Allah (sallallahu alaihi wa sallam) and is the way of his Family and Companions.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Mar 2010 14:12 #
  9. @ SufiSoul

Never seen a sufi filled with so much hate.

May Allah(swt) bless your soul.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Mar 2010 14:15 #
  10. Dear Brother Umer

Here are the examples but i guess i already gave the same examples.
    1 - Expansion of mosques, Use of internet for propagation of deen, Use of electronic media including TV, construction of madrisas, classification of hadith, All these are means to understand, propagate deen. They are not deen itself.

2 - Individual acts: I gave you one example that if i make it my habit to read 100 times darood after every prayer, it is my individual act and it is not bidaah until i start saying that it is a part of deen and start compelling others to do this. and in such case Reading darood is not bidaah but making it part of prayer will become bidaah.

Secondly i gave you one more example that suppose if i am a businessman and i do not want to celebrate Mawlid-e-Nabi in an innovative way (no matter its Bidah-e-Hasana or watever). But i have to keep my business close on that day. If i have to close it on other Eids then i am sure Allah SWT will compensate it, if not here then on the day of judgment. But if i have to keep it closed on 12 Rabi-ul-Awal then who will compensate this loss, Allah SWT, the person who invented this Bidaah, or the person who was helping him in this Bidaah. I am sure there would be some one answerable to me in such situation if not in this world, then in the after world.

Similarly i asked you one more question and it was regarding Bidaah-e-Hasana. What do you think about praying Eid Prayer on Eid-Meelad-Un-Nabi like all other EIDs have their prayers. Jumma has Jumma prayer and similarly Eid-ul-Fitar have its prayer, Eid-ul-Adha have its prayer and all of these prayers have Khutba in it. So if someone wants to start a prayer on Eid-Meelad-Un-Nabi in a same style, would you favour him or try to stop him and if try to stop him then with what daleel?????

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Mar 2010 14:33 #
  11. NNL

Umer can you give me a reference to the Abu Lahab hadith that you talk about.

the first link you posted doesnt have any hadith or any athar of the sahaba which indicates that they celebrated Mawlid...

in the second link you posted you talked about Abu lahab and the prophet saying that i keep roza on monday. Could you kindly give reference for both of them

May Allah Azza Wa Jal Guide you

Jazak Allah Khair.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Mar 2010 16:38 #
  12. Sahih Muslim, Book No. 6, Hadith Number 2606:

Abu Qatada Ansari (Allah be pleased with him) reported that Allah's Massenger (may peace be upon him) was asked about fasting on Monday, whereupon he said: It is (the day) when I was born and revelation was sent down to me.

And in my opinion, Abu Lahab freeing a slave girl is mentioned in the history books not in ahadith books.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Mar 2010 17:16 #
  13. @ LetsDoIt

Thank you for these examples, but what I am asking for is proof from Quran-o-Sunnah. Like where is it said or what do you base your claim on that bidah in deen is not allowed but bidah in means to deen is allowed. And similarly I would like proof for the claim that performing an act of bidah individually is not blameworthy, while doing it collectively is. Thank you.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 0:04 #
  14. @ NNL

“Thuwaiba, who was the freed slave of Abu Lahab fed Rasolallah Sallalalhu ‘alaihi wa sallam milk. Abu Lahab freed Suwaiba at the time when she informed him that a son has been born at your brother’s house. After the death of Abu Lahab he was seen in a dream, in which he said ‘I am in severe punishment but this is lessened on Mondays, he showed his forefinger, and said that he would suck from it. This is so because it was with this finger that I freed thuwaiba when she informed of the birth of the Prophet, and she also fed the Prophet Sallalalhu ‘alaihi wa sallam milk”.

In Sahih Bukhari and in many other books of Traditions, this Hadith has been mentioned with a slight change of wording. In some narrations it is brief, in others it is detailed.

You can find this hadith In Sahih Bukhari Vol 2 Pg. no. 764

Let me name some of the few scholars who have quoted this hadith in their books, and whom it seems you follow.

Hafidhh Ibn Taymiyyah
    Iqtidaa’ as-siraat-il-Mustaqeem

Abdul wahab najdi
    Mukhtassar Sirat-ur-rasool, “Milaad-un-nabi”, by Ibn Muhammad bin Abdul wahhaab Najdi].

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 0:15 #
  15. Narrated Um Habiba:

(daughter of Abu Sufyan) I said, "O Allah's Apostle! Marry my sister. the daughter of Abu Sufyan." The Prophet said, "Do you like that?" I replied, "Yes, for even now I am not your only wife and I like that my sister should share the good with me." The Prophet said, "But that is not lawful for me." I said, We have heard that you want to marry the daughter of Abu Salama." He said, "(You mean) the daughter of Um Salama?" I said, "Yes." He said, "Even if she were not my step-daughter, she would be unlawful for me to marry as she is my foster niece. I and Abu Salama were suckled by Thuwaiba. So you should not present to me your daughters or your sisters (in marriage)." Narrated 'Ursa; Thuwaiba was the freed slave girl of Abu Lahb whom he had manumitted, and then she suckled the Prophet. When Abu Lahb died, one of his relatives saw him in a dream in a very bad state and asked him, "What have you encountered?" Abu Lahb said, "I have not found any rest since I left you, except that I have been given water to drink in this (the space between his thumb and other fingers) and that is because of my manumitting Thuwaiba."

Bukhari :: Book 7 :: Volume 62 :: Hadith 38

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 0:26 #
  16. Umer

If some thing is done by Prophet Muhammad SAW or if it is in Quran then it could never be called as Bidaah or Bidaah-e-Hasana etc

But few acts are agreed upon by all scholars of all the sects like use of different means to gain deen including use of internet, modern media are not bidaah as they are not changing the deen but they are just a way to understand/propagate deen. But still if you want some examples from history, then expansion of Kaa'ba and changes in basic Kaa'ba structure done by Haz. Abdullah Ibn Az-Zubair RA is a big example. Similarly expansion of mosques could not be presented as a example of Bidaah in deen because it is not at all Bidaah.

For the second case you yourself provided so many examples. Just consider Haz. Bilal RA example of offering two rakaat nafal after wuzoo or if you take example of Sahaaba's many of them were having some WAZAIF which they used throughout their life. Tell me how many muslim follow them regularly. Tell me one sect of Muslims who in any case offer 2 rakaat after wuzoo or who every time only say RABANA LAKAL HAMD; HAMDAAN KATHEERAN MUBARIKAN FEEHE after standing up from rukoo.

but instead i could show you many who are following some unknown person who started some action which was not authenticated by Prophet Muhammad SAW or his companions.

I hope this will resolve the problem now if possible please answer the questions i raised in my post above.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 23:36 #
  17. @ LetsDoIt

I do not know if this confusion is happening because of my communication skills or are you intentionally mis-interpreting what I say or ask.

Anyway, let me now explain what I've been trying to ask, and I hope I finally succeed in getting my question across.

In short, the concept of Bidah to me is that if a new thing has been started, and it neither goes against the Quran or Sunnah, and neither is it elevated to the status of 'farz' then it can be declared a good innovation. However, if a new act is initiated against the Quran and Sunnah, that will be called Bidah sayyiah or bad innovation. And this principle is backed up with many ahadith of Rasulallah(saw), and of which is a following hadith:

Jarir b. Abdullah (radiAllahu anhu) narrated that the Beloved Prophet (sallAllahu alaihi wa aalihi wa sallam) said, "He who introduced some good practice in Islam which was followed after him [by people], he would be assured of reward like one who followed it, without their rewards being diminished in any respect. And he who introduced some evil practice in Islam which had been followed subsequently [by others], he would be required to bear the burden like that of one who followed this [evil practice] without their's being diminished in any respect."

Similarly, what I am asking for is what proof do you have for the principles you've laid out for a bidah to be considered good or bad. As you say that, performing an act of bidah collectively is blameworthy, but doing it individually is not. I mean on what basis, have you come to this conclusion?

Bilal RA example of offering two rakaat nafal after wuzoo or if you take example of Sahaaba's many of them were having some WAZAIF which they used throughout their life. Tell me how many muslim follow them regularly. Tell me one sect of Muslims who in any case offer 2 rakaat after wuzoo or who every time only say RABANA LAKAL HAMD; HAMDAAN KATHEERAN MUBARIKAN FEEHE after standing up from rukoo.

The question is not how many Muslims do it, the question is, if Muslims start doing it collectively without making it farz, would it be bad? And according to your laid out principle, it would be, but I've yet to see proof for this claim.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2010 3:33 #
  18. Salam

fasting on Mondays (every monday & thursday) not just one 'especial day of the year'

secondly what govt of pakistan and some people of pakistan do is not fasting, they have invented their own set of actions that they call celebration-

but even if they have "daleel-e-shubha" then one can not outrightly say "kuffr", so if they claim to have a daleel then at worst case scenario it is a very weak daleel hence requiring a "judge/qazi/imam/khalifa" to choose stronger daleel over weak daleel and unite people

unfortunately we don't have an imam/khalifa who can select stronger opinion so people are left on their own for endless arguments-

that is why the need of imam/khalifa is a must for the unity of muslim ummah

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2010 4:35 #
  19. @UmeR

Dear brother, i told you that i have no intentions to impose my thinking on you. My purpose is only to present my point of view which you may or may not agree so there is no question that i am intentionally mis-interpreting some of your questions. I am answering to the best of my understanding.

You yourself actually gave an answer. You told that until they dont make it farz and my point is that slowly it become automatically farz if a group start practicing it openly and then it became Bidaah. Bidaah is elevating some practice to the level of Farz and at this point it is included in deen and inclusion in deen is Bidaah.

Lets take the example of Pakistan, when Mawlid-e-Nabi is celebrated, is'nt it true that the whole country observes a holiday?? Could you find a doctor if you are in emegency on that day? Could you avoid the noise created by the jalsoos passing from your street? It has become farz now to observe this day in Pakistan.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2010 6:49 #
  20. @ LetsDoit

You told that until they dont make it farz and my point is that slowly it become automatically farz if a group start practicing it openly and then it became Bidaah. Bidaah is elevating some practice to the level of Farz and at this point it is included in deen and inclusion in deen is Bidaah.

Let's not speculate and stick to whats happening right now.

I have yet to come across any scholar, group or sect that claims that celebrating the Mawlid of Rasulallah(saw) is farz, and if you have come across such a claim, please educate me as well. And your examples still fail to prove the principle of bidah you've laid out.

Lets take the example of Pakistan, when Mawlid-e-Nabi is celebrated, is'nt it true that the whole country observes a holiday??

Alhamdulilah

Could you find a doctor if you are in emegency on that day?

lol, you're saying it as if 12th rabi-ul-awal is the only public holiday in Pakistan, with that reasoning let the scholars first give a fatwa against every public holiday.

Could you avoid the noise created by the jalsoos passing from your street?

hmm, you can't avoid hearing the slogans in the processions, and your point is what, exactly?

It has become farz now to observe this day in Pakistan.

Those who celebrate Meelad-un-nabi(saw) don't deem to be farz, but it seems like those who do not celebrate it, have made it farz upon themselves that they'll keep on opposing it, whether they find any daleel for their claims or not.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2010 15:19 #
  21. UmeR

I asked you two questions, still waiting for any answer.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2010 16:51 #
  22. @ LetsDoIt

Sorry if I have missed any of your questions, please can you point them out. And thrice I have asked a question, but the answer is yet to come.

"Bro, I asked for proof for the claim that, Bidah in deen is forbidden and in means to attain deen, it's not and secondly, about how performing an act of bidah collectively is blameworthy, and doing the same act individually is not."

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2010 17:22 #
  23. UmeR

I am copying this from above.

Secondly i gave you one more example that suppose if i am a businessman and i do not want to celebrate Mawlid-e-Nabi in an innovative way (no matter its Bidah-e-Hasana or watever). But i have to keep my business close on that day. If i have to close it on other Eids then i am sure Allah SWT will compensate it, if not here then on the day of judgment. But if i have to keep it closed on 12 Rabi-ul-Awal then who will compensate this loss, Allah SWT, the person who invented this Bidaah, or the person who was helping him in this Bidaah. I am sure there would be some one answerable to me in such situation if not in this world, then in the after world.

Similarly i asked you one more question and it was regarding Bidaah-e-Hasana. What do you think about praying Eid Prayer on Eid-Meelad-Un-Nabi like all other EIDs have their prayers. Jumma has Jumma prayer and similarly Eid-ul-Fitar have its prayer, Eid-ul-Adha have its prayer and all of these prayers have Khutba in it. So if someone wants to start a prayer on Eid-Meelad-Un-Nabi in a same style, would you favour him or try to stop him and if try to stop him then with what daleel?????

and i think you do not read my post above, i have answered your question multiple times.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2010 18:06 #
  24. SufiSoul

Umer

My questiones are also still pending here..

.Dont you think that such celebrations and some more are due to Pagan culture of Sub-continent...

.Even in this region ppl out of Pagan culture range never celebrate such activities..

.While our marriage ceremonies and other culture is having PAGAN BASED activities than how our religion can be free from PAGAN activities.
    .Please give me any example from rest of the world/Arabs of performing such activities..

If no such example than please accept that we have more ISLAMIC RICH CULTURE than ARABS in the sub-continent...

thanx

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2010 18:06 #
  25. @ LetsDoit

Prophet Muhammad(saw) said: "None of you becomes a believer until I am dearer to him than his children, his parents and all mankind." (as reported by Bukhari and Muslim) Some versions add: "his life, his wealth and his family".

And Hazrat Ali(ra) is reported to have said: "The Holy Prophet is dearer to us than our wealth, our children, our fathers, our forefathers, our mothers and cool water at the time of severe thirst."

Read these ahadith, and read your question again. Anyway, thank Allah(swt) that people like us were not present in the life time of Rasulallah(saw), or we would have said why should I celebrate his arrival in madinah, who is going to compensate for the loss of my business I would have to bear because of this. Right?

Brother, Mawlid is called Eid only in a linguistic sense not in Sharee sense. In Islam there are only two Sharee Eids without doubt. And also people fast on linguistic Eid days as well like on friday where as fasting on Sharee Eid days is haram. Muslims usually do zikr of Allah, recite Quran , Naats, biyans on seerah of Prophet (saw) are done on mawlid. Its not a sharee Eid day so there is no compulsion of doing any khutabah or special Eid salah, one can offer Nafl salah on such a blessed day

and i think you do not read my post above, i have answered your question multiple times.

Bro, I did read your posts, but I don't think my question has been addressed.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2010 9:58 #
  26. @ SufiSoul

Which act from these is borrowed from pagan culture? Please guide me:

1) decorating homes and streets
    2) wearing new clothes
    3) gathering in masjids or some other place
    3) reciting naats
    4) delivering speeches on the seerah of the prophet
    5) sending durood-o-salam on Rasulallah(saw)
    6) performing nafl Ibadah
    7) making Dua's
    8) distributing food
    9) street processions

Secondly, even if, for the sake of argument I agree with you that some of the acts are imitation of kufar, then what? Does a thing automatically become haram because a kafir did it?

The rule regarding imitation of the kufar is as following:

“Prohibition of Imitation” of the non-Muslims comes into effect in one of two ways:

(1) Either through one’s directing oneself in imitating them, of his own accord, with the intention of being like them, or

(2) Through imitation of something religiously or otherwise unique to them, in a way that would allow an onlooker to consider one as “one of them”.

let me as well quote one of your ulemas regarding this issue, Mufti Taqi Usmani says:

“Imitation, without resolve or intent (s: to imitate the non-Muslims) is not prohibited even though one resembles the non-Muslims due to it.”

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2010 10:04 #
  27. UmeR

So you mean if someone celebrates the way they celebrate in Pakistan is the only one who love Prophet Muhammad PBUH and because its love of Prophet PBUH so its OK to force him to go through this innovative way. Although there exists a way which was told by Prophet PBUH himself but that is not sufficient to express the love. Great logic.

Secondly even on Fridays fasting is forbidden except if you are fasting for some other reasons like ramadhaan or fasting a whole week etc. The way praying Eid Prayer looks absurd to you now, it would be 100% the same when a first person would have started celebrating Mawlid in this innovative way but since you are now looking at it since your birth so it does not look absurd to you.

Anyway with this i feel i have already conveyed my point of view and its totally your choice to believe in what you feel is better. May Allah SWT show both of us the straight path. Thanks for answering in detail every time.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2010 10:13 #
  28. @ LetsDoIt

So you mean if someone celebrates the way they celebrate in Pakistan is the only one who love Prophet Muhammad PBUH

I never said that, my reply was to your logic of not celebrating mawlid, just because some one might face a loss in business. And even to this example, let me reitrate what I said earlier:

"you're saying it as if 12th rabi-ul-awal is the only public holiday in Pakistan, with that reasoning let the scholars first give a fatwa against every public holiday."

but since you are now looking at it since your birth so it does not look absurd to you.

Well! I do not celebrate mawlid just because my father did it, the permissibility of celebrating the mawlid is proven from Quran and Hadith, and still if someone doesn't want to celebrate it, it's their wish.

Anyway, if you have a problem with how mawlid is celebrated, but you say there is no problem is fasting on that day, then why don't or do you fast on the mawlid of Rasulallah(saw)?

Anyway with this i feel i have already conveyed my point of view and its totally your choice to believe in what you feel is better. May Allah SWT show both of us the straight path.

Ameen

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2010 10:35 #
  29. NNL

Umer.

Except a dream which Bukhari and Ibn Kathir in Fath recognise as mursal you dont have anything recorded from the Sahaba Radhi Allah Unhum to be celebrating the Prophets birthday.

So i will repeat my question again.

we know that the Sahaabah (may Allaah be pleased with them) were the people who loved the Prophet most. Was it reported that Abu Bakr, who was the closest of people to him and the one who loved him the most, celebrated the birthday of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him)? Was it reported that ‘Umar, who ruled for twelve years, or ‘Uthmaan, did this? Was it reported that ‘Ali, his relative and foster son, did this? Was it reported that any of the Sahaabah did this?

But we do know this

“Do not exaggerate about me as the Christians exaggerated about the son of Maryam. I am only a slave, so say, ‘The slave of Allaah and His Messenger.’” (Reported by al-Bukhaari).

And also

[قُلْ إِن كُنتُمْ تُحِبُّونَ اللَّهَ فَاتَّبِعُونِى يُحْبِبْكُمُ اللَّهُ وَيَغْفِرْ لَكُمْ ذُنُوبَكُمْ وَاللَّهُ غَفُورٌ رَّحِيمٌ - قُلْ أَطِيعُواْ اللَّهَ وَالرَّسُولَ فإِن تَوَلَّوْاْ فَإِنَّ اللَّهَ لاَ يُحِبُّ الْكَـفِرِينَ ]

(31. Say (O Muhammad to mankind): "If you (really) love Allah, then follow me (i.e. Muhammad), Allah will love you and forgive you your sins. And Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful.'') (32. Say: "Obey Allah and the Messenger.'' But if they turn away, then Allah does not like the disbelievers.)

Surah Al-Imran

SO if this was ever celebrating as yall do going bonkers and what not and was a very good deed that secret would have been told by Rasool Allah Sallaho Alahi Wa Ala Aalayhi Wasallam. However it wasnt so did Rasool Allah Sallaho Alahi Wa Aalayhi Wa Sallam miss out a good deed and never told it to the awam ? ( u will sound like Shias when they say qadeer-e-Qum )

The people who loved him the most didnt do it or atleast you have no relevant or even specific proof for it.

We however on the other hand do have a proof for it most of the things that you will say are bidah. You have the audacity to say that Umar Al Khattab Radhi Allah Uuhu was endorsing Biddah Hasana even though in his entire life Ameer al Momineen Radhi Allah Unhu was beheading bidah at its roots.

You quote Bilal Radhi Allah Unhu but that action of his has an approval from Rasool Allah Sallaho Alahi Wa Aalayhi Wa Sallam and you dont !!

The proof what the Sahaba did isnt not a bidah is the following

“The best of mankind are my generation (or my century), then those who come after them, then those who come after them. Then there will come a people who will not care if their testimony comes before their oath or vice versa (i.e., they will not take such matter seriously).” (Reported by al-Bukhaari, Muslim and al-Tirmidhi).

Ya ibn Hilal
    To learn your deen you need to learn the language in which it was revealed not in the language of Deen-e-Ilahi

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2010 12:11 #
  30. SufiSoul

1) decorating homes and streets
    2) wearing new clothes
    3) gathering in Mandirs
    3) reciting naats for Kali maa with music
    4) delivering speeches on the seerah of Vishnu/Kali ma/Devi ma
    5) sending and praising
    6) performing poojas
    7) making Dua's
    8) distributing food
    9) street processions

These are all Pagan culture unless and otherwise clearly stated by any Islamic order....e.g wearing of new clothes..

Islam only allows you to FAST at that day following the Prophet sunnah any extra activity like this is always BIDDAH..

We are still not sure what is Biddah according to your knowledge or is their ant biddah their at your side.???

Secondly why such culture is present here in sub-continent only FURTHER why this culture of decoration e.g tombs and charhawy is only in sub-continent Hindu/sikh converted masses only...
    Rest of the muslim world even Makka and Madina have no such culture.....
    So it shows that makka and madina are missguided in such
    such activities....
    If you listen to ur barailvi Maulvi Hazarat they are clearly
    preaching that ppl of saudi arabia and makka and madina are not muslims but something more than kuffars.......

Dear these concepts of exageration are in Islam are mixture of local culture with ISLAM and cannot be found any where in ISLAM...
    I feel pitty for the ppl proudly call him Shaikul Islam i-e
    to the ex-lawyer mr Tahirul Qadri..
    And Tahirul Qadri sahib is preaching that four Imams made amny faults in explaining Islam and now i am the only person which has a duty to make correct these faults MAAZALLAH.....

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2010 12:20 #
  31. SufiSoul

Umer

Have you any Hadees or sunnah for such acts in front of Prophet SAWW.

Please enlighten us...why Shaikul Islam want this tradition in Islam.......

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2010 12:29 #
  32. nice video han:)

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2010 16:50 #
  33. @ NNL

we know that the Sahaabah (may Allaah be pleased with them) were the people who loved the Prophet most. Was it reported that Abu Bakr, who was the closest of people to him and the one who loved him the most, celebrated the birthday of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him)? Was it reported that ‘Umar, who ruled for twelve years, or ‘Uthmaan, did this? Was it reported that ‘Ali, his relative and foster son, did this? Was it reported that any of the Sahaabah did this?

This shows your tragic ignorance of the Sunnah, anyway as for the claim that "the Prophet and the Companions never celebrated the Mawlid as it is celebrated today", this never formed proof for the undesirability or prohibitiveness of anything in the Law, Mawlid or otherwise. As I have already mentioned in my posts, TARK (not doing something) is NOT a proof that something is condemned or that it is not praiseworthy.

“Do not exaggerate about me as the Christians exaggerated about the son of Maryam. I am only a slave, so say, ‘The slave of Allaah and His Messenger.’” (Reported by al-Bukhaari).

And how did Christians exaggerated the status of Hazrat Isa(sa)?

They exaggerated his status to the level of God/son of God, on the other hand no Muslim considers Prophet Muhammad(saw) to be a God or Son of God, so please first get your understanding of the Holy Quran right. What you show as proof for your claim, is nothing but a proof of your ignorance of Quran and Sunnah, which you have used to strip Rasulallah(saw) of everything else, and just consider him a delivery man, (astaghfirullah)

You quote Bilal Radhi Allah Unhu but that action of his has an approval from Rasool Allah Sallaho Alahi Wa Aalayhi Wa Sallam and you dont !!

Did that approval come before he had performed that action or after? So you mean, before Prophet Muhammad(pbuh) praised Hazrat Bilal(ra)'s act he was sinning, by doing something Prophet Muhammad(saw) didn't do, and after he(saw) praised it, it became a good act?

We however on the other hand do have a proof for it most of the things that you will say are bidah.

Oh yeah? Then why don't you blow me away with it, as I've yet to see 'any proof' for your claims.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 12:01 #
  34. @ SufiSoul

I don't think a person who cannot seem to find any difference in the naats of Rasulallah(saw) and in hindhu bhajans or one who considers wearing of new clothes to be a 'pagan culture' is sane enough to have any rational discussion with.

And IMHO, I think you don't belong in faith & religion discussion, you'd probably fit-in 'hate and ignorance' forum, which seems just about right for your level.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 12:10 #
  35. SufiSoul

Umer,

You should appreciate that we are going to mix naats with music...and know brailvis are going to mix QUran with naats...
    Just think abt the present day musical naats and Quran..This music of present day paaseed through different stages of development and becoma full musial shows know..
    Look how the qadri brothraans are using thier tongue and DUFF to creat and made you enjoy music all the time with naats...

And i can challenge you that you cannot prove it as music cuz they r using just DUFF and tongue..and both are out of musical interpretation...
    The best prove you can found about all these EXAGERATIONS is any MAZAAR of owliya...
    Any MAZAAR is the best example of all developments in this field of Biddah...
    Sajday at mazaars,young ones meetings at mazaars,Dhol Bhajy and things like that....
    Women were forbidden to come and pray namaaz in masjid ..Why???

When they r not allowed to go for FARZ in Masjid than Brailvis want them to go for ourting at MAZAARS and things like that.....

Actually during my college time i used to go at different URS in Punjab and i have experience of of all these PAGAN activities in the name of ISLAM...

Dear delibratly you are not touching this mazaars discussion point in brailvi mazhab....

This is only new shape of ISLAM and only in sub-continent Pagan converted muslims follow this culture.....Just for the sake of money.....

JALSY JALOOS,Decoration and things like that are never needs of the PRACTICAL ISLAM to help ISLAMIC way of life...
    BUT an exageration n ISLAM and cannot be found in ISLAMIC history.....I am talking abt majority of scholars some individuals acts are never an example to follow....

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 12:41 #