I got some good information about music. Nice job by all the contributors.
PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues
Sher-o-Naghma
(2633 posts)-
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 2:34 #
Here is a combination of Kaifi Azami, Khayyam, Talaat Mahmood and Asha Bhonsley.
A perfect Sher and Naghma.
A good composition from 1956.Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 2:58 # -
Ameer Khusro and Tabla
James Kippen is a professor of Ethnomusicoloy at University of Toronto.He has conducted research on the history of Tabla.
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 6:04 # -
Prof James Kippen's student Dr Lowell Lybarger lived in Pakistan and learned Tabla from Legendary Table player Ustad Mian Shaukat Hussain.
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 6:09 # -
@javedSheikh
Thank you. It took me back few years and as you said a good blend of sher-o-naghama.
"husn ka pas nighaon to sikhana hoega"@Khan Sahib Peterpan
History of Tabla was interesing and educationl. I liked the second posting especially the gestures with the bols. I felt the gestures put more meanings to the bols.Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 8:37 # -
I wonder when this thread has been diverted towards nominations..
Pls stick to the topic keeping the thread on track..Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 9:45 # -
Good Point SufiSoul
This is politics on PKPolitics!
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 10:02 # -
@ Khan Sahib Peterpan,
Your selections and collections are really mind blowing.@Sufisoul
@ JJ Khan,
yaar kabhi kisi baat ki taareef bhi kar dya karen.
har waqt tanqeed, tanqeed, tanqeed acchi nahin hoti
yeh gup shup ka bazaar hai, es men aflatoon ki philosophy ke moti talash na karenPosted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 11:45 # -
Let us keep it to Sher-o-naghma and not start campaign of favoritism or building mini clubs here.
For titles, open another thread and let people vote for all members.
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 11:57 # -
No other thread would be as proportioned to express one's feelings of preferences.
It is not favoritism, but the acknowledgment of talents and encouragement of those who deserve.
This is unofficial proposals, what could be killed by a majority vote or by the Veto of the Administration.
(Don't take it so serious. This is Chit Chat Gup Shup, to relax)Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 12:12 # -
Right, so besides Music what other talents have you identified on PKPolitics?
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 12:27 # -
JJKhan
I view differet threads and if I do not like what is being discussed, I move out of that and do not contribute to it unless I notice some abuse in which case I will report it to the Moderators.I notice that on various threads you keep telling members off, keep to the topic etc. In fact some of your wiritings are offensive.
Remembeber that youj are just another member unless you are the Adminisrator and are pretending to be a member.
Even then you should rememenr that under the Chit Chat Forum one can discuss anything without any questioning from you.Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 12:56 # -
My dear JJ Khan,
With due respects, I dare to beg for not pouring the drops of lemon in the pan of fresh and pure milk.
Please don't deprive us from the sweet dish.betar hai dil ke paas rahe pasban-i-aql
lekin kabhi kabhi isey tanha bhi chhord dePosted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 13:05 # -
Unique,
Regarding:
I view differet threads and if I do not like what is being discussed, I move out of that and do not contribute to it unless I notice some abuse in which case I will report it to the Moderators.
Good, keep it up.
I notice that on various threads you keep telling members off, keep to the topic etc. In fact some of your wiritings are offensive.
Inform in polite way.
Remembeber that youj are just another member unless you are the Adminisrator and are pretending to be a member.
Thanks for the reminder.
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 13:08 # -
Javed Sheikh,
No need to beg, it is a public forum and people can express their views as long as they remain under CoC.
Nothing personal.
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 13:10 # -
Unique,
Please do not create an environment of unnecessary arguments, what is your point here?
What do you want?
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 13:19 # -
I'll ask Admin to dig up on you and one other new ID to verify if you guys are really new or old ones with new mask.
Please mind your own business.
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 13:21 # -
JJKhan
I am speechles after you last post.
Mujhe tum se kuch naheen chahiay
Mujhe meray hall pe chor do.Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 13:27 # -
Unique,
Instead of making points on me which is totally uncalled for, why not enjoy some sher-o-naghman?
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 13:38 # -
JJKhan
Your message is well received and in recongnition of that I will woon post a musical item which I hope you will enjoy with others.
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 13:42 # -
Please relax and enjoy sher-o-naghma.
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 13:44 # -
Here it is especially for you JJKhan
Enjoy both the lyrics and the compositionPosted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 13:48 # -
lolz!
Thanks.
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 13:55 # -
Khayal-e-khaatir-e-ehbaab chahiyay hurr damm
Anees thaiss naa lagg jaey abgeenoo kooPosted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 14:17 # -
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 14:42 #
Well said Anees and then by bsobaid.
"Khayal-e-khaatir-e-ehbab" is of paramount importance.Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 14:42 # -
iss hee mozoo (subject) pay aik aur sher by Meer Dard
lay saans bhi aahistaa kay nazuk hai bohot kaam
Afaaq kee iss kargah-e-sheeshaa garee kaaPosted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 14:52 # -
@Musician
What musical instrument do you play?
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 18:01 # -
I wish I did. But as you can imagine as a youngter wanted to play on Harmonium but without a teacher one cannot. Got the Harmonium and statred trying to play the film songs tunes. Similrly had a go a flute, sitar and finally at Tabla. BUT failed miserably and I can think of only reason for the failure "lack of dedication" I still would like to have a go at Harmonium becasue this is the only instrument one can use when one wants to sing.
Long story but the simple answer is "NONE"
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 18:08 # -
Thankyou very much for the award. Can I make a speech and Thank all my.... dood wala, gosht wala and ........ LOL
Aap sub logoun kee zara nawazee hay jo aap nay iss qabil janna.. I can never think that my contibution was enough, quality or anything positive towards this forum except that I managed to air my rants/belief/views every now an then. But regardless.. Many Thanks for bearing me in this forum. :-)
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 20:07 # -
Khan Sahib
Aap ke aane ki khushi main yeh hazir haiPosted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 20:13 # -
I dont know..but I feel a sense of guilty when I watch or listen Indian songs....
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 20:16 # -
Well done Mr. Musician.
Imtiaz-i-Forum Khan Sahib, deserves a warm welcome.
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 20:18 # -
Hmm This is tough one. Personaly, I do not feel guilty becasue when I listen to a peace of music I simply go by its appeal to me but I can understand your reservtion.
Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 20:22 # -
As water in the oceans,
fragrance in the flower,
refreshing morning breeze,
soothing Moonlight,
heat from the Sun
and clouds in the sky
cannot be regionalized,
the Music cannot be localised.Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 3:19 # -
Javed Sb
Aap ki nazar (jaunpuri)
Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 15:57 # -
Subahan Allah, Jazak Allah
What a rare find?yad-i-maazi aazab hai ya rabb
cheen lay mujh se hafiza meraPosted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 16:19 # -
I hope you and the real poet will forgive me but I cannot help to reply as:
Yad-maazi shabab hai ya rabb
cheen lay mujh se bhurapa mera.Apologies in advance
Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 16:42 # -
kehta hai koun waqt gya lot-ta naheen?
jaa maikade se meri jawani uthaa ke laaPosted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 17:35 # -
Kati raat saari meri maikadey mein
Khuda yaad ayia swaray swaray"Lalit paish hai
Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 17:57 # -
At out home every Friday starts with this beautiful Recitation by Qari Sheikh Abdul Basitt Abdul Samad.
This is above all of the Poetry and all of the Music.
Just listen to the Wizard from Egypt.
Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 18:48 # -
Thank you Javed Sb
Had the audio casette but not the video. It is great to see him doing the recitation. I beleive Qari Basit passed away sometime ago.Thank you again. May Allah reward you for this.Ameen
Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 19:11 # -
For Khan Sahib Peterpan
Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 21:46 # -
Thank you Dearest Musician
Can you please post a light song composed in the same raag?Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 22:50 # -
@JS Sahab
Aap Ke liyeTwo Pakistani musicians Salim Iqbal,who didn't get recognition which they deserved.
This song based on Raag Puriya Dhanashree a difficult Raag to compose in light music.
This song composed in Jhap Taal (10)beats by these brothers.
Posted 2 years ago on 20 Nov 2009 18:30 # -
Khan Sahib Peterpan,
Very good find.
Salim and Iqbal also composed music for movie Kartar Singh and one of their compositions almost became a Folk Song:dessan da raja mera babul da pyara
veer mera ghori chardya(For you information, Salim was a good friend of mine during my stay in Pakistan)
Posted 2 years ago on 20 Nov 2009 18:42 # -
Khan Sahib Peterpan
Ustad Javed SheikhThank you for Puriya. The song took me back in the memory lane. Does anyone of you have the song by Naseem Begum
Nainon mayn jall bhar aaye
Moorakh mun tarpaaye...Posted 2 years ago on 20 Nov 2009 18:56 # -
Also
Any light composition in Ahir Bharav please/
Posted 2 years ago on 20 Nov 2009 18:58 # -
@Musician Sahab
1. JS Sahab should be able to help you with Naseem Begum song.
2. Ahir Bhairov is one of my fav Raag.
First song comes to my mind is this one
Posted 2 years ago on 20 Nov 2009 19:02 # -
Khan Sahab Peterpan &
Ustad Javed SheikhAap dono ke nazar.
Good lyrics and good composition add I am fascinated by the expressions on each actor's face. There is a story of course.Posted 2 years ago on 20 Nov 2009 19:23 #