Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

Sher-o-Naghma

(2536 posts)
  1. Dear Musician and respectable members,

My wife Zjshami, an inactive member at the Forum has been hospitalized last night.
    She has been rushed to local hospital and right now has been kept under intensive care.
    I would like the well wishers at the Forum to pray for her health and recovery.
    Thanks.

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Feb 2010 14:22 #
  2. Salam

sad to hear that, may Allah give her quick recovery & health -ameen

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Feb 2010 14:24 #
  3. theimrannasir

someone wise said, "every thing is bebeficial if it is taken in moderation.". So if under this context we see music there seems no harm in music but if you indulge in like last Mughalemperor then it is objectionable enough because music regales you into wasting your time. Imran Nasir Lahore.

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Feb 2010 14:39 #
  4. Posted 1 year ago on 28 Feb 2010 6:23 #
  5. Musician

For Zjshami

Welcome back and this is for you.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2010 22:56 #
  6. aftab

ALLAN FAKIR & SHAIKI ALLAH ALLAH KAR BHAIYA

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2010 19:43 #
  7. Musician

@gujjartalwar

Thank you for the National Song. I am sure this was never meant to have been penned for this situation.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Mar 2010 19:14 #
  8. Musician

@aftab

Thank you for sharing the famous Shaki song. Have not heard about him for a while. Any news? Is he still in business?

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Mar 2010 20:51 #
  9. aftab

@ Musician

He is retired now but as Sheikh Rashid was saying they other day Musician, Physician and Politician never really retire. Lol

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Mar 2010 21:01 #
  10. Musician

@aftab

And if they do not retire gracefully, they are retired hurt!

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Mar 2010 21:17 #
  11. zjshami

@ Mucician,
    Thanks for posting a song of my college days.

Dear members,
    After listening the song posedt by Mr. Aftab, it reminded me, where my husband Javed sings this song when one of our family friends visit us.

Huma Huma kar piyare, Huma se hi dar piyare.
    (His wife's name is Huma)

Here is the video version.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Mar 2010 21:40 #
  12. Musician

In remembrance of missing friends

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 12:12 #
  13. pappu

Here is to life from one of my favourite poets omar khayyam, hope you like it.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 12:38 #
  14. Musician

@pappu

Having Omar Khayyam as one of your favorite poets is not a bad thing. Good standard.

Kushbash dami ke zindagani een ast

I enjoyed it and it reminded me of a similar poetry (not of the same standard) and here it is and i hope you will enjoy it.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 14:54 #
  15. pappu

@Musician
    Thank you for the nice song. I enjoyed it greatly. Here is a few for you and MR Javed Shiekh. This is a really nice thread.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 15:29 #
  16. Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 19:52 #
  17. Dear Khan Sahib,
    The message in the posted video is very touching and impressive.
    How many beautiful and innocent souls are being wasted just due to hatred and ego?

Khan Sahib, your presence is also needed at the Hyde Park Corner.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 20:15 #
  18. lol @ JS's Suggestion...

Chorain yaar JS Sahib... Kayoun mayra BP barwatey hain aap... Hyde Park may patta nahee kaya kaya hoe raha hoe ga wasey bhee yeah corner ka kaam hamara nahee hay... lol

I will come ;-) let me find it first, how to enter....

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 20:47 #
  19. Musician

Khan_Sahib

It is almost unbeleivable but on "Hyde Park" after 33 posts not a harsh word posted. If this is to go by, it is indicative that no Moderators are needed on any thread. People tend to control themselves when there is no fear of the Moderators.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 20:56 #
  20. Dear Musician..
    Where is the link?

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 21:05 #
  21. Musician

KHAN_SAHIB

I think you have to ask admin to allow you access as I beleive that since you opted out of it to start with, only those who said YES have an automatic access. Send an email to Admin to say YES.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 21:14 #
  22. ufffffff
    yeah bhee karna parey ga lol

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 21:21 #
  23. Musician

KHAN_Sahib

Ab kiya karein

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 21:49 #
  24. For your eyes only Musician sahib

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 22:47 #
  25. Khan Sahib,
    I guess the song is sung by you? Very good.
    You have a very rhythmic voice and didn't miss any note.

Once I tried to sing the same song in 1980 but could not keep up the ANTRAS properly.
    Now, we expect more from you.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 23:20 #
  26. Musician

Javedsheikh Sahib

I take it that you can read English? Khan_Sahib's post was for my eyes only! I will send you a fee note for the Royalty.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 23:40 #
  27. Shan-e-Mauseeqi Musician,

I used my ears only with closed eyes.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 23:59 #
  28. well said JS sahib! LOL

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2010 15:18 #
  29. zia m

Amazing little master!

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2010 0:11 #
  30. Musician

zia m

I am very lucky that I am up this late and have seen your posting. He is amazing the little master. Very rare. I hope they will look after him. At this young age, his vocal chords need to be looked after and should not in my opinion, use too many high notes. Will make a name for himself and for the country one day. There is no doubt in my mind.

I think this is probably the most valuable addtition to this Forum. Any more of him or a source that I can tap.

Thank you zia m.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2010 0:22 #
  31. zia m

Musician,
    Yes,he has a stunning voice, needs some tender loving care.
    I seen him on Choraha, he appears during last 5 minutes of last saturday's program.
    His name is Farrukh Ali Moon, you may be able to contact him on face book.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2010 9:29 #
  32. Musician

For zia m (a Ghalib fan)

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2010 21:14 #
  33. Musician

Jaan-e-Mauseeqi javedsheikh
    Have not had a visit from you for the last three days. Would like to have your opinion about the young lad that zia m found.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 0:18 #
  34. Shan-e-Mauseeqi Musician,
    I listened the voice of young prodigy child, Mr. Moon.

He reminded me about Master Madan, who, unfortunately, was victim of professional jealousy at a very young age of 14.

I wish Mr. Moon to grow and glow as a great vocalist.
    Listen to his pitch, tone and voice control.
    It is amazing.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 0:39 #
  35. Musician

Jaan-e-Mauseeqi Javedsheikh

I am a bit concerned that he is being encouraged to sing at a very high pitch which is not a good thing at his age. However, it is very pleasing to have such a young talent and I hope he will be handled carefully.

Have been thinking about Aimen which took me back to Mughl-e-Azam and Naushad. I find the notes at the end of the song very touching. one can feel the Yaas. I hope you will enjoy it.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 0:59 #
  36. Shan-e-Mauseeqi Musician,

The young prodigy child would be very fortunate if he gets grooming from some good music directors like Khayyam,
    Madan Mohan, Master Inayat, Khurshid Anwar and Nuashad.
    I dont' know much about the caliber of Music Directors in Pakistan, right now.
    I agree, at this age, he should not cross the third Suptak, what might damage his voice quality.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 1:17 #
  37. Supreme ISHQ

Dear Javed Sheikh,

I became familiar with historical figure, Anarkali, through a movie titled Mughal-e-Azam. That left an impression in mind that the whole epic occurred in Delhi. But recently, I learned that there are very little historical evidences of this story. The current form of the story is actually the brainchild of Syed Imtiaz Ali Taj (thru his drama Anarkali) in early 1900. He reconstructed this story with his acquaintance of life in Shahi Muhalla (current red light area of Lahore) and the local folklore associated with the mausoleum of Anarkali (currently, Lahore provincial secretariat). The incident occurred in Lahore and not in Delhi as king Akbar spent more than ten years in Lahore to manage local uprisings such as Dullah Bhatti. All movies made in India as well as in Pakistan, were based on the work of Imtiaz Ali Taj. Can you shed some light on this? You can start a new thread if you like.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 2:37 #
  38. aristotle

Eik he Masda subha latee hay
    Sehan me dhoop phel jati hay
    Kon is ghar ki dekh bhal karey
    Roz eik cheez toot jati hay

Jon Ailea

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 7:29 #
  39. singh isking

another masterpiece by rafi saab

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 8:32 #
  40. Musician

Sitar-e-Forum Singh isking

Long time no see, where have you been for such a long time?
    But you are back with a bang with such a wonderful item.

Yahan tak ke uss se juda hoe gian hoon......... How true!

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 9:21 #
  41. Musician

@sing isking

tum ney pukara ham chalay aaye
    jaan hatheli peh lay aaye

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2010 22:05 #
  42. singh isking

baceeda-e itfal hai dunya mere aage
    hota hai shab-e roz tamasha mere aage

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2010 22:30 #
  43. singh isking

@ musician
    although i have't learned urdu as a language in school as it is not taught in my province but i have imense love for language .i find it very strong language to express human emotions and feelings.i wish and this is my dream i could understand mirza ghalib work in my life time. i find his expreesins and explanation of human condition to be very true technique has no match till date

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2010 22:36 #
  44. singh isking

hue mudaat k ghalib maar gaya per yaad aata hai
    woh her ik baat pe kehna yun hota to kya hota

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2010 22:40 #
  45. singh isking

hua jub gham yun behis to gham kya sir k katne ka
    na hota ger juda tan se to zannon per dharra hota

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2010 22:46 #
  46. Musician

@sing isking

I think the credit goes to the writers who choose the corrrect words to express their feelings. Some poets use difficult vocabulary whilst others have the gift of using simple workds to express very deep thoughts.

But from the sher of Ghalib that you have quoted, Bazeech-e-Itfal, I have a feeling that you have a very good grasp of the language. What is more important that you have a heart which feels the emotions.

Gahay gahay isay parah kijeeye
    dil se behtar koi kitab naheen

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2010 23:05 #
  47. singh isking

@ musician
    problem with me is i dont even understand urdu script.although there are are various site available if one needs meaning.all work of various urdu poets in india we read in hindi or punjabi (gurmukhi) script.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2010 23:17 #
  48. singh isking

@ musician
    do you mind if occassinaly i can ask u some meanings of urdu poetry if i dont understand

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2010 23:21 #
  49. Musician

@singh isking

No at all. I sincrely hope that I will have the answer.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2010 23:24 #
  50. Musician

@singh is king

I don't think it matters whether you can read the urdu script or not. Any language is best learnt is by speaking. If you have a chance in daily life to converse with some people in Urdu, use it and as far shers are concerned, you will always remember the good ones. Sometimes it is just one word which you may not have come accross but that word may be the most important one in a sher. When that happens, you must not be afraid to ask and it is only once that you will ask but you will rememeber that word for the rest of your life.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2010 23:31 #