PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

Shaping young minds program (SYMP)

(111 posts)
  1. Lessons of life by Azim Premji
    being a prominent indian Muslim and philosopher he addressed Shaping Young MInds Program and what he said was quite thought provoking ;

1. it is only our strengths which can give us the energy to correct our weaknesses .

2.nothing gives as much satisfaction as earning our own rewards ;we only know the value of what we have ,if we have struggled to earn it .

3.when u lose ,do not lose lesson .

4.we must learn to savor the memory of the good thing,while they lasted .

5.Excellence is not an act but a habit .your only competition is yourself .

6.if we preserve long enough ,we can put any problem into its perspective .

7.must open the windows of your mind ,but you must not be swept off your feet by the breeze .

8.do not not let a rude behavior of some one to dictate your politeness .

9.Prayer is not the spare wheel ,that u pull out when u r in a trouble ,its a steering wheel that keeps you on the right path throughout your life .

lets do u a quick test .
    go through it ,think about it and then compare your own attitude towards life ,in the mirror of these rules and test how many of these u already practice or believe in???

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 9:07 #
  2. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I'm not sure about point #1.

However, the rest is great. Young people would be wise to note this. It will allow them to save themselves from a lot of

'crash and burn, and only then learn'

type strategy in their lives.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 9:17 #
  3. Excellent aphorisms, good not only for young minds. Older people could benefit from them as well, if they were still willing to lend themselves to the process of transformation and change.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 9:19 #
  4. thanks Haris and Mirza Ghalib,
    thats what i felt while reading it .
    its not only worth reading but thought provoking .
    i compared my attitude with these pointers that how much of the pointers i already practicing ...and failed badly .
    i only fit in to point 2 and 9 .
    i strongly believe that what u earn is what has more worth .
    other wise inherited money come easy ,go easy ...
    no9 i very firmly believe in Duaa .
    it is my steering wheel for sure .

rest of the points are yet to be thought about and practiced by me ....:)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 9:26 #
  5. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I fail in 2 of these points at most, MASHALLAH.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 9:32 #
  6. toamin

a refreshing thread indeed, it was getting so boring to see MQM and PTI and JI threads having same thing over and over again-

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 9:34 #
  7. @Salam,
    u got it right.
    my intention was exactly that ....
    i was sick and tired of MQM and PTI and Jamaat bashing .
    i want to refresh the thought patterns ....

lets do the quick test ,and share the answer with us ...as i did ...thanks

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 9:36 #
  8. toamin

i've sold to wipro, but didn't know that it was owned by azim premji

these are words of wisdom only to be understood by experienced and wise people so that they could help shape up young minds

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 10:01 #
  9. Musician

I think Number 8 should be made visible (displayed) everytime a member is writing his/her comment in response to a comment by another member.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 10:15 #
  10. @Musician ,
    agreed ;i love no8 .
    but unfortunately ,lacks practising it .
    i get rude with rude ppl .
    will try to practice from now on ;

8.do not not let a rude behavior of some one to dictate your politeness ."

we all should while responding to each other every where every time ...

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 10:26 #
  11. # 8 is the most effective principle.

'.do not not let a rude behavior of some one to dictate your politeness.'
    This is what I tried to follow from day one, I joined this Forum

Madam Beena posted a good blog from an Indian Scholar, what has been appreciated even by all those who object upon the articles from foreigners.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 10:28 #
  12. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I have learned to treat people exactly as they treat others.

To me, it allows for others to realize, what the other person is feeling when they get treated badly.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 10:38 #
  13. Musician

“Do not let a rude behaviour of someone to dictate your politeness”

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 10:46 #
  14. mein sub pe amal ......
    ki koshish karon ga .inshallah .

aur mein har waqat polite rehta hon subkay sath .
    poch lo sub se ...:):):)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 10:46 #
  15. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

For in today's world, politeness often gives the idea of;

(a) double standards
    (b) insincerity
    (c) hidden agenda

especially to Pakistanis' or Muslims.

I will not allow myself to be attributed or labeled with the above.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 10:47 #
  16. Musician

@choosy

Aap bilkul baja farmatay hein. Buhat se log aap se seekh saktay hein. Haan, seekhnay ki khawhish honi chahiye.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 10:49 #
  17. @Haris ,
    politeness is the behavior makes one acceptable to a wider range of ppl .
    politeness is not weakness or double standard.
    its the way we have been taught by our Dear Rasool Allah(PBUH) .
    he was never RUDE with any one in his whole life .

@Sheikh sahib,
    thanks a lot .
    i dont mind foreign writers .
    as it has been said by Rasool Allah (PBUH);
    Alim Momin ki gumshuda meraas hay ;jahan se milay lay lo.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 10:53 #
  18. linkwheel

9th Point is for me! :(

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 10:54 #
  19. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Beenai: You need to have more interactions, a wider variety of interactions with people of Pakistan, to understand their thinking patterns.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 11:21 #
  20. achtung

beenai bibi. very good post

ham aksar bidak jatey hei. hamei ye sunehray nuktay likh kar deewar par laga deeney chahiye aur rozana subha ko in ko parh lena chahiye. mei nay aisa he kia hai.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 11:49 #
  21. achtung,
    good ,thats what we all should do ..
    at least think about these and compare our behavior with these pointers .

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 11:51 #
  22. mjkk86

although i would disagree with hariskhan on most of the things because of his far right ideology but i goota admit he is rite in saying that politeness is double standard and insincerity.
    politeness is a tool to make people fool, politeness does'nt change your behaviour, personality, attitude neither it helps you to accept others in their original form. lets put this way use of politeness is another form of munafqat.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 11:55 #
  23. Musician

I just checked Thesaurus for "Politeness" and the following alternatives came up:

Civility
    Good Manners
    Courtesy
    Respect

I wonder if either or all put together can be described as "Munafqat"!

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 12:05 #
  24. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Politeness itself is not 'munafqat'. Having said that politeness is popularly perceived as 'munafqat' today.

That is why, I choose not to be polite, with those who support falsehood, wrong-doings, lies, crimes, treason, who sugar-coat lies, crimes, wrong-doings, etc etc to make them look good.

The present era is one, where one thing is shown as reality, but that thing's opposite is actually the reality.

This is a very dangerous era.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 12:10 #
  25. achtung

politeness

it can pay you a lot but it cost you nothing.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 12:10 #
  26. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@achtung: In this present era, politeness costs you your;

(a) credibility
    (b) reputation

That is a lot!.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 12:12 #
  27. mjkk86

@musician
    you would not understand this as it is not something you are good at certainly, its not music.
    book a trip to us or uk see their smiley face, manners, good attitude, politeness and ask them did you meant to be polite or trying to hide hatered in blanket of politeness? surely, then you will realise that politeness is nothing more than a remedy to decieve.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 12:15 #
  28. achtung

haris

kia rude honey ki reputation achi baat hy?

kia allah rudeness ko pasand karta hy?

kia present era mei hamarey sunehri assol badal chukey hei?

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 12:17 #
  29. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@achtung: In this present era, many standards have reversed their positions.

For example in the past;

(1) a 'Sheikh' or a 'MULLAH' was that person who's knowledge, who's intellect surpassed everyone

Today the label 'sheikh' or 'mullah' is given to those who are the most ignorant, the most stupid among us.

(2) Armies of nations used to defend their own citizens. Soldiers in Armies didn't fear death, didn't have lust for materialistic life

Today a nation's own Army is bent on killing their own citizens

(3) Governments / Kings served their people, looked after their well-being, their basic necessities, their needs

Today, governments are all about total, brutal control. Today the citizen has to fend for himself. And even after that he has to submit to the whims of the ruler in the name of 'writ of state'.

(4) fornication was accepted as a crime that would destroy society

Today, it is widely accepted as something trivial, harmless to society

(5) interest based business was a curse, whoever engaged in interest based business was considered a criminal

Now-a-days interest based business has become usual

(6) bribery was considered offensive

Today bribery is considered usual way of life

(7) honesty meant something

Today, deception means everything. Those who choose to become honest, they are berated, ridiculed, even molested.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 12:19 #
  30. Musician

I am not good at even Music (alas). But I have just rememebered Kishwar Naheed (a famous literary figure of Pakistan). She once said (with reference to her poetry) "I do not want live my life by other people's definitions".

Same is true for me. I will not be rude just because "politeness" is perceived by some to be Munafqat. My definition of politeness is "good manners" and I will hang to those even in the face of grave provocation.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 12:23 #
  31. mjkk86

@musician
    thats a good answer.
    you are learning now. btw what made you use musician as your id if you are not good at music or is it do with principle laid down by kishwar naheed.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 12:32 #
  32. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@achtung: (8) Today liars, criminals, looters, plunderers, traitors are accepted within their own nations. They enjoy good credibility within their own nations

It wasn't so in the past, was it ?

(9) Today liars, criminals, murderers, mass! murderers, looters, plunderers, traitors rule over nations

It wasn't so in the past, was it ?

(10) etc etc

So, my friend, times have changed. Today, what looks like heaven. In reality, that is hell.

Today, that which looks like hell. In reality that is heaven.

This is what is true for this present era.

I'll give you an example of this. Right now, western countries look rosy to everyone living in Pakistan. In about 5 years or more, they will become the worst places on the globe to live in.

Did you know;

(a) Tax riots are expected in USA by 2014 ?

(b) much of Europe (Spain, Italy, Greece, UK, and one more country) is stuck under billions of $$$ of internal and external debt ?

(c) Australia is not far behind in the debt hole

Why do we see western economies collapsing today ?

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 12:39 #
  33. Musician

Using ID Musician does not imply that one is good at Music.
    Same goes for "Teacher" "Doctor" "Professor" and so on and soforth...

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 12:40 #
  34. achtung

haris aap ne bohat lamba essay likh mara magar is baat ka jawab nahee dia ke kia allah rudeness ko pasand karta hai.

kal ko jab allah aap ka hisab kitab karey ga to usko aap ye jawab do gay ke zamana badal gaya tha?

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 12:44 #
  35. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@achtung: O bhaee, I'm answering the same question, by presenting facts.

ALLAH to bohat kuchch chahta hai. Today, are we/Muslims a representation of what ALLAH wants or that which ALLAH instructs us to be ?

How much are you a representation of that which ALLAH wants or that which ALLAH instructs us to be ?

I believe in treating people better, than than sugar-coating reality from them, just so everyone says, he's polite with others.

In standards of human treatment today, words should carry the least of weightage. Treatment of people carry more weight.

Because today, politeness is used by criminals, by looters/plunderers, by murderers, by mass murderers, by traitors, etc etc to lie to people. To make people believe the lie is a truth.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 12:46 #
  36. mjkk86

@musician
    ok so even if you are crap at your field you should'nt be ashamed to use your id, rite?

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 12:48 #
  37. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@achtung: Answer to your question: Do my words matter more or how I deal with you, does that matter more ?

If my words matter more, then your saying;

(a) I can lie to you
    (b) I can commit any crimes against you, or in society
    (c) I could destroy your life
    (d) I could even kill you
    (e) I could demean your financial life
    (f) I could demean your judicial life
    (g) I could demean your political life
    (i) I could demean your social life
    (j) in-fact I could propagate any kind of crime
    (k) in-fact I could propagate any kind of injustice

but since I'll be using polite words when talking to you, you'll accept it ?

- Is this your idea, your standard of politeness ?

- Is this our idea, our standard of politeness ?

THIS! is exactly what is happening today. Those who commit the most heinous of crimes, they use politeness to show the world, that they are best in treatment of people. Where-as these same people would be ordering wars, torture, injustice, causing financial melt downs in countries, giving threats, bribing others, etc etc.

Why is one of the biggest criminals of our era ruling over our state, if we want to be polite ?

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 12:52 #
  38. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Just what is our idea, our standard of politeness ?

Can anyone PLEASE! enlighten me ?

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 13:01 #
  39. achtung

Haris you say
    Because today, politeness is used by criminals, by looters/plunderers, by murderers, by mass murderers, by traitors, etc etc to lie to people. To make people believe the lie is a truth.

Now tell if criminals looters plunderers murderers pray namaz five times a day, you will stop praying namaz because looters plunderers murderers pray namaz?

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 13:07 #
  40. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@achtung: O bhaee, I'm trying to tell you that;

(a) Words carry little significance
    (b) Actions! carry more! significance, more! weight

What I say to you doesn't matter that much, as much as how I treat you in practice.

Aaj Musalman kia kar rahe hain ? Aaj poori dunya main Musalman loago'n se achhi tarhan baat karte hain. Par loago'n ko treat kaise karte hain ?

In contrast, look at non-Muslims. Aaj poori dunya main non-Muslims loago'n se achhi tarhan baat karaain ya na karain, par loago'n ko treat achhi tarhan karte hain.

If you look at the big picture, isn't that one reason of why they have prospered, why they are called 'tolerant' ?

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 13:08 #
  41. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@achtung: The answer to your question is: Words carry little significance in real life. In real life, how we treat people is what carries MORE! significance.

The present era is not perfect. In-fact it is the worst of eras' mankind has ever seen.

To make this era move towards the ideal way of life, I decide to use this way of communicating with people.

Yes, I agree my way is not good. Its not the best way of dealing with people. Yet, this is what sets me apart from others.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 13:15 #
  42. achtung

haris. i stop here. because you use insulting word to me. it is one step forward to rudeness. bye

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 13:23 #
  43. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I take one sentence back.

@achtung: Is any of that which I said, wrong ?

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 13:34 #
  44. achtung

haris. one sentence wapis leney ka shukria. no ill feel from my side now. i am off now for some time. bye

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 13:39 #
  45. toamin

wipro ka chairman bhi kehta hoga kay beenai ney meri wisdom kidher post kar dein :)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 13:41 #
  46. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Well, talking about politeness in a society which individually as well as collectively backs crimes, which backs criminals, should be deemed as hypocrisy.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 13:44 #
  47. Musician

@salam

One verse from JS's Ground Reality fits in very well here:

"parwaaz se pehlay hi jala dala paron ko
    aghaaz nay anjaam ki jarh maar ke rakh di"

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 13:52 #
  48. toamin

musician

yea... it fits here nicely

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 14:01 #
  49. shriq

Why every thread starts nicely and soon after a few good comments....

It becomes a war front between:
    1 - Atheist / Believers
    2 - MQM / PTI
    3 - MQM / JI
    4 - Pro / Anti Musharraf
    etc.

Beenai,
    thanks for nice post! Learning can not (and should not) stop. Prophet said "Wo tabah hua jis ka aaj guzre kal se behter naheen"

And I strongly believe that this hadith is about learning. (Now molvis on this forum would kill me - probably). So we should learn daily. The golden words of wisdom, new ideas, new concepts, new people, new trends, may be new language, new skills!!

What stops one from advancing his/her level of "ilm" is plethora of useless activities in which one can immerse (or rather drown) oneself!

I loved (and would try to absorb and adopt) two points:
    One - 3
    Second - 8.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 17:29 #
  50. @Beenai
    Thanks for sharing with us a truly great work by a Muslim from India.
    @achtung
    Being polite is a nice quality that greatly enhances your character positively. On the other hand 'Chaploos, Khoshamidi and daghabaz' use the same quality for their own benifits and gains!

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Mar 2010 17:47 #