Discuss » Current Issues

Quota system in Medical College Reinstated in Sindh...

(88 posts)
  1. Fahim23

Post graduate Federal instiutes are supposed to be in big cities anyways. And no one bars admission in post graduate colleges.

Private colleges will go where they find it viable ? Its more finanical/business model.

Here we were disucssing medical colleges being run by provincial govt and now u r taking into private colleges and federal colleges .

In punjab , there were 8 medical colleges in 90's and admission was done on merit on whole punjab bases. King Edward Lahore and allam iqbal lahore were the institues preffered by most students and had highest merit and Islamia college bahwalpur had the least. Admission was/is done on merit without any quota. Is there no difference between quality of education between Lahroe and DG Khan ? If punjab can survive without quota why not Sindh ?

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 1:51 #
  2. expakistani

@Fahim23,

I used to think that Quata system is against Mohajirs / urud speaking people but once i met a guy from Sukher and he was complaining same thing bcz his domicile was from urban sindh...so my point is... this system is not bringing Karachi and khotri closer.... there is need to uplift conditions in interior Sindh or fata or souther punjab rather then just taking money away from urban areas...

Regarding urdu sindh division... well somehow muslim people from Sub cont revolt against any attempt to make URDU as second language .. URdu HIndi issue or URDU Bangalis issue....
    I dont see any problem if sindhi language can have equivalent status as URDU.... many nations have multiple National / offical language why not in Pakistan. but you cant force people to leave urdu behind and start doing day 2 day work in sindhi...

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 2:42 #
  3. quaidkamazaar

well, Fahim bhai, regarding your point,
    I personally like to call myself urduspeaking. I can technically be classified as Sindhi being raised up in Sindh but I am really not... nothing in me makes me Sindhi.

I dont speak Sindhi,
    I have seperate ways/culture from Sindhis,
    but yess, i respect Sindhis but I cant be called Sindhi.
    We are the fifth nationality. I have more in common from a man from Dehli or Lucknow than a man from interior Sindh so calling myself Sindhi feels like im lying to myself. i donno, maybe it does not feel good saying this but its just the way it is.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 4:58 #
  4. Asli Moulana

Fahim !
    When was a Sindhi banned from admission in SMC? Can u give me some details as I find this statement completely wrong and misleading!
    For all others.... If quota system is so justified then why do u object when a student from the most backward area of Pakistan (FATA) gets admission in any sindh or punjab medical college????
    For general infirmation: there is a Quota ststemnin Pukhtoonkhwa too, though nit sure about Punjab!

In the end if u guys justify this unjustice system of Quota system then why don't these candidates serve their own people after their graduation and why do they seek employement in cities, away from their home/ Families????

I think that there should be an open merit system and for medical college admission, there should have a written test and an interview to qualify for an admission. People getting admissions should submitt an undertaking that they will not seek employement in other areas and they should be bound to serve their locality for atleast 10 years. Also all female candidates should too submit a bond that they will work for atleast 10 years before quitting medicine. I personally have noticed that 60 to 70% of females quit medicine all together hence spoiling the chance if some deserving xandidae!

Well said Khan Sahib

Moulana.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 5:27 #
  5. tamza2k

Dear Khan sahib as you by yourself belongs to a neglected province (NWFP, i can better explain if cuold have idea about your origin) so must be familiar with that there are qouta systems almost in every fields in case if we consider NWFP. I myself feel that Quota system is not bad as pointed out earlier by Sohail & another fellow that if such system is banned then its obvious that very few can have access to Urban insitutions & orginization. I think u must be aware of NWFP board system, Pesh Board, Swat Board, Hazara Board, Bannu Board & if i am not wrong Chitral & Dir also have an independant board system. I am mentioning these boards for the purpose that every board has its own criteria of marking ( unfortunately), & every board declears its results on different dates & time. I can say that all students can get marks/qualifiaction in exams according to what is most commoly popular about their respective boards. Its premature to share my personal experice there as most of the students taking high grades are not competent in comparision to those who secuers low grades. Now lets turn to the conclusion yes quota system is not good but lets 1st improve/equate our systems & policies at national level then we can say open merit. I even do know that qouta system is being misued by our honorable men in the country. I can give my example but after moving further on the topic.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 6:01 #
  6. quaidkamazaar

how about 1st dismiss quota system and bring in merit system, and then improve our systems and policies at national level as time moves on?

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 6:03 #
  7. tamza2k

okay then what will be the criteria for merit?

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 6:06 #
  8. Fahim23

@expakistani

I am sure you know that MQM leadership demand and get 40% share in the employment, ministeries and other things due to this Quota System. So you see the way it is run in Pakistan is even against the larger population of Sindh. Unfortunately in our country no matter how good system you bring, corruption, favoritism, nepotism and inefficiency will ruin it!

But my point is when we see that in one country only certain groups are favored and considered at the expense of others "Affirmative Actions" are needed to take as "Temporary Solution" to alleviate the discrepency. Simultaneously more efforts are needed to raise the standard of under developed countries so that they don't need any quotas or favours anymore! In principle do you think it is wrong? IMO it is not as it helps to resolve the issue of equal opportunities.

@KHAN_Sahib

IMO the ppl who migrated during the time of Partition and settled in Sindh and since then they are born here, study here, work here, and thr deads are burried in this land they are as much Sindhis now as anybody else! So it won't be right to say Sindhis were banned from getting admission in public sector universities of Karachi.

But since 90s any student having domicile from hyderabad, dadu, nawabshah, sanghar were not allowed to get admission in any public sector medical college of Karachi. While the students from Pakhtunkhuwah/FATA, Punjab and Balochistan had quota. This is the reason current PPP government has lifted this ban and now 40 seats are allocated for the students from all over Sindh.

Beside I believe some times we need to take Affirmative actions and the students of FATA and Balochistan deserve most then Sindh and Punjab. In fact there is quota for the students of Punjab, NWFP, Kashmir, and Balochistan in every public sector university of Sindh. I myself have studied with Balochis and Gilgitis.

@quaidkamazaar

You knw most Pakistanis used to need just 3 years to get immigration of Canada, USA, UK, Australia etc and just in 3 years they start bragging about thr new nationality. That reflects our inferioriy complex! But it has been over half a century now you living in Sindh, Pakistan but still you don't like to call yourself Sindhi :).

@AsifK

Why Post graduate Federal instiutes are supposed to be in big cities? Why they can't invest in making universities in Gawadar, Tharparkar etc? They are very quick in sucking out the coal reserviors or coastal resources by putting billions of dollars then why can't they invest in Health and Education?

Anyways don't you think in Sindh except Karachi and Hyderabad the other parts are completely neglected when it comes to development? While in Punjab only areas surrounding Lahore have seen the benefits of development? Don't you think ppl of Balochistan and FATA are actually living in Stone ages?

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 6:10 #
  9. Asli Moulana

Fahim Sahib

what happened to all those Sindhi Doctors who came under the quota system ?

Why didnt they go back to help their own neighborhoods and fix things over there that Sindhis have intense desire to get a quota even when they arent eligible for something they desire.

Sorry i think Khan's idea on binding the people on quota under contracts for 10yrs should be the way to go. But spoonfeeding is the way to some people.

Moulana.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 6:22 #
  10. Fahim23

@Asli Moulana

Saeen who do you think are treating the patients there? Yes there is short of Doctors and Nurses in those areas as there is short of Hospitals and clinics itself...but Doctors and nurses do exist and work there in good number.

Health and Education is the responsibility of State and unfortunately she has not served its reponsibilities when it comes to Pakistan except major cities. Even in major cities its performance is poor but when compared with the neglected areas we see the huge difference.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 6:41 #
  11. Asli Moulana

I agree with you Chief but dont you think that you are seriously debilitating the resolve of the Sindhis to imporve their own conditions and force their MPAs and MNAs to provide a better solution other than providing a way out ?

Like you can tell me that State doesnt have Sindhi Representation at all and State completely ignores the Sindhis. Cmon are you telling me the Sindhis are trying to be the New Balouchis ?

And if those doctors were doing such a great job then why not upgrade the education level of the existing medical colleges ?

Dont get this logic of the Sindhis Power Players.

Moulana.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 6:47 #
  12. Fahim23

@Asli Maoulana

I think the population frm Sindh has forced thr MNAs/MPAs that's why Sindh Alhamdulilah is the province with most medical colleges in the country. But still for its population the number is too small. We need lot more universities, more colleges, more schools and more hospitals. Until they are established - one way is that we make sure from every part of the province bright students get the opportunity to study. For example if there are 100 seats in any medical university of Karachi, then we allocate 80 seats for karachites while we give 20 seats to the rest of the province and of course Temporarily as I am also in favor of pure merid based sys and eventually we have to devise a universal system for All Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 6:55 #
  13. Asli Moulana

Nah u see u are going for system which u think is a lesser evil just to snub one group of people

Thats pretty evident.

The solution which is given by your MNAs and MPAs is sort of an embrassment to the intelligence of the Sindhis.

Seriously step aside from the issue of ethnicity and think calmly as a true Sindhi. you have forced your MPAs and MNAs to build more Medical Colleges all the while ignoring merit system and taking handouts.

Fahim Sahib Force your MPAs and MNAs to make the interior sindh medical colleges so much advanced that Karachites starting vying for a Quota in those Colleges.

That would have a true Sindhi promoting move not what you have been handed from your pirs and saeens.

Moulana.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 7:09 #
  14. Fahim
    'Why Post graduate Federal instiutes are supposed to be in big cities'

Its very natural. U can't build a post graduate institute attached to a Basic Health unit or district head quarter hospital.

I think there are 2 or 3 post grad institutes in pak , one in karachi , one in lahore and one in islamabad.

But discussion we were having was around medical colleges run by provincial govt and u included federal post grad institutes and private medical colleges into that. I think better restrict to the point we were discussing.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 7:32 #
  15. @FAHIM,

You said: Quote: "But since 90s any student having domicile from hyderabad, dadu, nawabshah, sanghar were not allowed to get admission in any public sector medical college of Karachi. While the students from Pakhtunkhuwah/FATA, Punjab and Balochistan had quota. This is the reason current PPP government has lifted this ban and now 40 seats are allocated for the students from all over Sindh"

This is incorrect!!!
    Through out 70 to 90's there were Sindhi from interior sindh who got admission in SMC and DMC in karachi on Quota system. There were not 1 or 2 but over 40/50 candidates in every year. Just to give you an example is Dr Muhammad Ali Brohi (Recent Ex MQM Senator, Past PPP member and President of People Doctor's forum of Pakistan people's party, a wanted person in a murder case etc....) who got his admission along with atleast 30/40 others during late 80's and early 90's. This is one example or else I can give you hundreds of names like Dr Zulfiqar Touneuo, Dr Tanveer Chandeou, Dr Sabir Memon (ex President of People's Doctors forum ... a Doctors wing of PPP) etc... They all are still based in karachi and being employed in karachi hospitals.
    So your statement is totally incorrect.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 20:36 #
  16. Also the CM Quota and Governor Qouta and Health Minister Quota should be all abolished. Its a Joke with this nation!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 20:38 #
  17. quaidkamazaar

they will snub one people down,

but will not build new infrastructure or universities in Interior Sindh.... I dont believe Quota System is made for impropvement of the have nots, it has always rather been directed against one ethnicity.

and @ Fahim, I can never be Sindhi in another 50 years, because I would be lying to myself. but only geographically, i might be counted as one but cant urduspeakers not call themselves Sindhi and maintain their identity?

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 20:53 #
  18. This is all BS that a person living in karachi has to consider themselves "Sindhi" WHY? Why can't everyone be pakistani only and if one want to identify oneself as Sindhi or Punjabi then why Not Baluch, Pashtun or Muhajir... Muhajir is now a Identity so there is no point of denying this fact.. Not sure, why every one is so worked up about the ID, Muhajir!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 20:57 #
  19. Fahim23

@KHAN_Sahib

Please read this news item which you posted yourself and I hope you get the idea who were banned and what is now restored/reinstated!

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/sep2009-daily/14-09-2009/updates/9-14-2009_5384_1.gif

"Muhajir" is not an identity it is a situation and everyone can be a Muhajir as recently Swatians have become. Those britishers and other europeans who invaded or simply migrated to America, Canada, Australia and even South africa are now respectively Americans, Canadians, Australians and South africans.

Eventually societies taking its natural course integrate and sooner they integrate more it becomes likely for that society to prosper and flourish. Everyone is allowed to speak his/her mother tongue, restore and promote his/her culture but if you are born, raised and die in any land and of course if you have any honor you will associate yourself with that land!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 22:10 #
  20. Fahim23

@quaidkamazaar

Historically, Punjabis, Baluchs, Pathans, Afghanis, and other nations have come to Sindh and they have maintained their languages and culture but now they are as Sindhi as me or anyone else. They no more identify themselves with the lands of thr parents.

The migrands who came and settled in Sindh after partition of India were welcomed by the Sindh and they have kept their language, culture and will keep it. No one has any right to force anybody to speak or quit certain langauge or culture. But since you are permanently settled in any land your morals would bound you to identify yourself with that land! There are Siraki speaking sindhis, birahvi speakign sindhis, pubjabi speaking sindhis and Urdu speaking Sindhis!

So... to reply "but cant urduspeakers not call themselves Sindhi and maintain their identity?" Yes this is exactly what I was trying to say!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 22:15 #
  21. Asli Moulana

Well thats pretty dumb if you are asking a lot of people to change their identity and identify themselves something other than what they have originally moved for anyway?

Mohajirs moved from their place of birth and history of many years to be called Pakistanis and yet have a unique identity.

Every other province gets to keep their own history while the major movers and shakers of Pakistan Movement are being to let go of their history and culture.

Thats Stupidity.

Mohajirs Chose the Identity of PAKISTAN NOT SINDH. IF THE SINDHIS WANT THEM TO CHANGE IT AGAIN TO SINDHIS THEN IT SEEMS THAT SINDHIS ARE THE ONE WHO ARE UNPATRIOTIC.

Major issues that arose in Sindh were due to the fact that migration was one way not 2 way as in Punjab. People who came in took up places of those who had left.

So its highly unpatriotic of a group of people to expect someone to change their culture just it doesnt go with what they are surrounded.

I think Sindhis need to drop the attitudes of Sindhi Mahaaan ( its a hindu concept and Sindhis need to work on hindu concept to make them more Islamic and Paksitani)

It should be and always will be Mera Pakistan Mahaan.

Mohajir, Sindhi, Punjabi, Baluchi, Pushtuns are all secondary things rather they are more of cultural things rather than anything else.

Sindhis need to leave their separatists ideologies and need to wake up cos they are being conned by the very people they worship as their leaders.

Moulana.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Sep 2009 23:02 #
  22. Fahim23

@Asli Moulana Sb

Please read my posts again and you'll see that no one is asking anybody to quit thr language or Culture!

Let me get the excerpt from them for you

"The migrants who came and settled in Sindh after partition of India were welcomed by the Sindh and they have kept their language, culture and will keep it. No one has any right to force anybody to speak or quit certain langauge or culture."

Beside the people who have migrated have already voluntarily decided to change their identity. Migration was not the part of plan some of them decided to come to Pakistan and others were forced into exile.

There are four provinces in Pakistan and every honorable man will respect the land where he lives. One way of respecting is by associating yourself with that land. My point is people who have migrated are no more "Muhajirs" and they should actually drop this attitude and mind set that they are the ones who made Pakistan! What can I say when you write "the major movers and shakers of Pakistan Movement" beside WHAT?

And you don't need to tell what Sindh should do to be "patriotic" and "Islamic"!

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Sep 2009 0:04 #
  23. quaidkamazaar

Fahim,
    I can argue that people who migrated into Sindh did not decide to change their identity. they migrated and wanted to still keep their identity from across the border.

there was only one identity back then, muslims of the subcontinent= PAKISTAN, and thats what they came for.

Why should I claim that I am a urduspeaking Sindhi?

I dont need to call myself Sindhi because I know I am not.
    I dont know a word of Sindhi.
    I dont look Sindhi even 1%. Im proud of Sindh and respect it for making me who i am but I just cant be Sindhi period.

I was born in Sindh but you have to seen in what kind of environment or culture I was brought up in which was very different from Sindhi culture. We have to be accepted the way we are and we dont need any other stamp on us.

You are right, people who migrated are not "muhajirs" anymore, but they still represent the 5th urduspeaking unique nationality that exists in Pakistan.

If I say I am "urduspeaking" and not Sindhi, it should not be a problem, because atleast im not lying. infact, there should be mutual respect considering the roles of Sindhis and Muhajirs during creation of Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Sep 2009 21:58 #
  24. asif86

i dont think it will be implemented perhaps under pressure from and blackmail from MQM it wont be the case

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Sep 2010 17:58 #
  25. scindian

Thums UP faheem23 keep it up.
    You are 100 % right.

Ohh my God what poison is present among pakistanies,

Shareef Talibans have rightly said yesterday "khooni Inqlaab Aane wala hai"
    Ohh Allah Raham kare !!!

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Sep 2010 11:26 #
  26. scindian

quaidkamazaar
    my dear Musalmaan brother
    Fahim,
    I can argue ................from across the border.

people who came from Rajistan, and Indian Panjab and Gujrat ligualy similar to sindhies, have learned and loved sindhi and sindhi culture, you may belong to Bagladesh or Bhihar UP or CP.

there was .....................what they came for.

God forbid if pakistan is divided, then what you what tobe called Muhajir is not an Identity.biebng Muslman is no passport identity/

Why should.........................Sindhi?
    if you have vote to MQM you are Urdu speaking new sindhi, like Sindhi pathans, sindhi baloch, sindhi memon, sindhi Brohi, Sindhi seraiki, etc

I dont ...........I know I am not.

Accept or not you are now part of Indus valley.

I dont ......................Sindhi.

if you live near Qiad ka Mazar then How you did you passed Sindhi subject in school?

I dont look .............I just cant be Sindhi period.

very contrary statement ?

I was born in Sindh ..................any other stamp on us.

Musharf born in Dehli he cliams to be sindhi,Altaf bhai claim to be new sindhi, ,in panjab urdu speakers have been assimilated soon you will.

You are right, .................in Pakistan.
    After few decade more Pakistani urdu will completlu bedifferent from Indian Urdu.

If I say I...........................of Pakistan.

I am sindhi speaker but I can speake pashto, seraiki, Panjabi, little bit balochi, because I love my Indus valley laguages and people,

please do research Urdu was present in sindh two centuries back "Sindhi peot and soofi Hazrat Sachal sarmast" have composed his poetry in seven languages, which includes Sindhi, seriaki, Urdu, Panjabi, farci, Arabic, and Berahvi.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Sep 2010 11:50 #
  27. Well the biggest thing which Urdu speaking thought from Sindh is Shah Latif's poetry and some Politics and the biggest thing that Sindhis have ADOPTED from Urdu speaking would be Urban Lifestyle as before Partition Whats called Urban Sindh was Half populated with Hindu Sindhis but they migrated India just Urdu Speakers came to Pakistan....Today the only place I find ideal Urdu speaker and Sindhi closeness is TV dramas of Karachi based Production where I saw people like Shafi Muhammad Shah, Talat Hussain(not confirm he is Actually Sindhi but his ACCENT does looks Sindhi), Mahnoor Baluch(Sindhi Baluch Family) and their are so many whos even names I dont remember at this moment and what I found among them was ADOPTING the change...Everyone in Pakistan Urban population understand that Culture and Heritage have less role in the Urban situation cause people are living together in such Environment where they share MUTUAL BENEFITS by working together and I think that Sindhi Nationalist Mantra cant work on city like Karachi even if get rid of any other Community in Karachi cause Mutual benefits ask for GOOD COMMUNICATION with each other so that is the thing which many educated Sindhi Families have understood and ADOPTED very well and now they looks part of the society of Karachi....So its not about Language its not about Culture but its about MUTUAL BENEFITS through which Urban population works upon...here the things like Sindhi Muhajir dont matters what matters is what that person can provide to the Society....

Talking about Quota system then their were TWO distribution of Quota system of Sindh Urban and Interior it might look AWKWARD but it was like that and this was the biggest reason of Urban Interior Divide in Sindh other then Political Choices of Urban and Interior Sindh....In Federal Urban Sindh Quota or simply Karachi and Hyderabad Quota is about 7-8% based on population which is a biggest discrimination against the population which has most Numbers of Fresh Graduate each year and most Number of White Collar Workforce which can effectively be part of Bureaucracy...Other then Federal we also have Provincial based Quota which is also divided among Urban and Interior and that accounted at 40% Urban and 60% Interior also based on population which I think dont seems to have much problem until Politics involve like Urban Jobs also given to those who are making Govt. but when we have unending Tussles of Urban Interior divide then its the matter of CONTROL came in this part as well another thing which is completely neglected in this system is CHANGING DEMOGRAPHICS like Urban Sindh is Growing very Fast and Interior Sindh is like SHRINKING so in future we wont see much of this divide cause Urban Sindh overtakes Interior Sindh....On the other hand another thing which is point of Concern is that Cities like Sukker and Larkana are still CONSIDERED as Interior Sindh while In terms of Population, Lifestyle and Job conditions they should be included in Urban Sindh but due to some Political gains they are still presented as Interior Sindh so this inefficiencies makes it difficult for Sindh in distributions of Jobs in Sindh....

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Sep 2010 15:38 #
  28. asif86

In sindh all districts and cities except karachi are included under the label of interior sindh.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Sep 2010 17:37 #
  29. quaidkamazaar

sc indian,

bro,
    when Musharraf and Altaf Bhai say that they are Sindhi, they mean geographically Sindhi... they know their roots dont belong here, they know their culture, language is different as well. but they say they are Sindhi just as a sign of respect because they are living in Sindh and you have to respect the original habitants of where you live.

why is it so hard hard for you to accept facts?
    there is nothing Sindhi about me technically. So stop making this a big deal partner. I am not going to disrespect your culture or look down upon it ever, and you should do the same for mine.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Sep 2010 18:32 #
  30. Why MQM is not raising the issue of Quota System abolishment?
    How long they need to be in govt to actually do something about it rather then issuing statements (which they often retract these days..)

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Sep 2010 2:19 #
  31. @KHAN_Sahib

The thread seems to look VERY OLD by looking at the very first post and this issue might be Dead Issue by now cause at the moment we have Much bigger things to take care of so for the same reason MQM Might have not raised their voice...

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Sep 2010 2:35 #
  32. Yeah, I know that its an old thread my friend... I didn't re-incarnate this thread if u follow..
    hmm.. u r rite,,,, we have bigger issues... target killing... inviting Army for Martial law, Bashing flood victims... Altaf zindabad (lets for get Quota system, bihari's return etc for another 10 yrs)

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Sep 2010 2:47 #
  33. @KHAN_Sahib

Ya all of them are the problems and another bigger of them all is Taliban and their sympathizers they should be deal with as well but anyways biggest Problem at this moment is Prioritizing them all....BTW Military and Martial law seems like SOLUTION instead of PROBLEM dont you think????

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Sep 2010 2:51 #
  34. scindian

Dear all please dont dont fight these petty issues,lets not desceriminate sindh(lingual sindhi) in urban sindh or urdu speaking sindhie in rural sindh, lets stop this qaota system from sindh,urban and rural so that urban and rural people of sindh can mix up with each other,Every educational institute of whole sindh must follow open merit.

Actual issue of sindh government (MQM and PPP) is that how to get due share of sindh from Islamabad, karachi bieng 70 % revenew genratore is not geting due share,from islamabad.
    70 % oil and Gas is from sindh in return whole sindh is paid 21% from total civilian badget
    Most current issue of this century for pakistan is rehabiltation and setlment of flood affecties.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Sep 2010 12:42 #
  35. @scindian

I think its more like OPPOSITE that mixed up Urban and Rural Sindh as if we see the Society of Sindh Urban and Rural then we find out that Urban Sindh feel Uncomfertable visiting Rural parts cause of not knowing much about the Area and also cause scared from Dacoos in those areas so its like Urban Sindh use to visit with someone who already belong to Rural areas of Sindh and on the other hand Rural Sindh people are more inclined towards their LANDS and their jobs in the Lands and its also very rarely they visit Urban Sindh cause they have always have worries about their lands when they left so the only way both population mixed is by Quota system I think cause in Quota system gives Rural Sindh people a Chance to visit Urban part as well and its same to some extent for Urban Sindh People for Rural...

These days even PPP is not very much interested in this system cause population of Urban Sindh is growing very fast at this very moment the population is 40-60% Urban Sindh and Rural Sindh respectively so PPP is thinking of some other way cause now things wont work out in future for them...About MQM then MQM is also playing its part in getting Hyderabad and Sukker to be Counted as Urban Sindh cause both f their population density, Job structure and Social structure has become Urbanized so their is a bigger issue going on in both sides...

That sad part of this all is what it has cost Sindh and as you mentioned 70 Revenue and also oil and gas revenue that also came from Interior Sindh as well and here I want to Add my knowledge about other resources of Interior Sindh as now Thar Coal is another BIG discovery that can make Sindh a Industrial Capital and if you know about another disputed area between Pakistan and India name "Sar Creek" its also Oil rich region which is also disputed a kind of Siachin like situation we have been facing there and last but not the least Qadirpur Gas Field is the REVENUE GIANT for all Oil and Gas companies in Pakistan extracted even more gas then Sui according to my Info...And last but not the least very much Cultural based economy of interior Sindh Agriculture which do need reforms but still its also very IMPORTANT here as Sindh is LOCATED at the COAST of Arabian Sea and also have Lake like Karli so Fisheries is another very LARGE industry here as Karachi has its own Fish Harbor and Most people of Coastal Thata and Badin and also some from Tharparkur also associated with that as well so this also gives its share of CONTRIBUTION from Sindh as well....

If we combine Both Urban and Interior then Sindh is the most GIANT contributor of Revenue to Pakistan much bigger then other provinces so What Sindh and Baluchistan alike is Required is PROVINCIAL AUTONOMY to CONTROL their resources cause Both are not satisfied with federation for the management of resources so that has became a very demand now for many people from Both Interior and Urban Sindh and I think that would be the one of the Point where Urban and Interior Both Sindh can UNITE upon....

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Sep 2010 21:14 #
  36. scindian

Qoata system was introduced by Butto 1970's inorder to promote rural people of sindh among provincial and federal Jobs, because rural people had no access to cities and info for Jobs, thanks to Mushraf who revoltionized in telecomunication sector in Pakistan now a days, I dont know about villages of Balochistan but in sindh my relatives can use internet using V fone at remote areas.

if urdu speaking sindhies are feeling uncomfortable with qoata system, it must be must be abolished.from all educational institutes and Jobs in private and government sector.

As for as if distribution of resources is concerned you are right cent percent,urdu speaking sndhies must raised voice for thar coal, this project will also create jobs for karachi people.

I remembered about a years ago federal govt wanted to shift Jamshoro Power plant to Panjab, it was Only MQM who took strong action against this shifting, i must apprecaite this action.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Sep 2010 21:49 #
  37. @scindian

People of Urban Sindh have started living with this system existence as this system has not effected Urban Sindh one bit cause when all the industries were nationalized by Bhutto it was quite concern back then but when Privatization started growing then Corporate Came to Karachi in search for BEST LOCATION for finding Educated White Collar Work force and now what has happened is urban Sindhis have found Alternative of what Quota system in Jobs as now Most of Urban Sindhis are involve in Corporate sector and are less likely to go for Public sector jobs....On the other hand Education Quota is something which is quite concern cause their is a education Quota of Urban Sindh also exist in Interior Education institute but mostly urban population prefer to stay in the city or go abroad but at this place Quota isnt ALL BAD thing but when it is MISUSED then whole System suffered....Like in Education institutes their are many students who came from Interior Sindh with less %% only because they are Close to some Influential person there things went wrong same situation for Jobs as well when we saw Govt. offices Filled with People Close to Influential people instead of education and Capabilities then whole system became Corrupted because of that so these days we have something called HRM(Human Resource Management) which is Urgent requirement of our Public Office cause whole Province is suffering from Wrong entries of people and corrupt and incompetent people in Bureaucracy...

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Sep 2010 0:04 #
  38. Gazi
    Quota isnt ALL BAD thing but when it is MISUSED then whole System suffered...

Are u telling me that u now favour Quota system? Perhaps this is wat MQM does... First forget Bihari , then quota system... What next? Rights of Muhajir's too?

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jan 2011 21:38 #