Discuss » Current Issues

Quota system in Medical College Reinstated in Sindh...

(88 posts)
  1. http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/sep2009-daily/14-09-2009/updates/9-14-2009_5384_1.gif

Hello MQM and ALTAF Hussian! Where is your promise to debolish the Quota System????? One of your Unfulfilled promises!

When will this Quota system stop? WHy do we want to bring students into medical colleges who attain C and D Grades and then become a Doctor! Will you go to a Doctor who has achieved C and D grades in his Pre-Med years and most of them 99% continue their grades and get promoted to next year by the use of their "Muscle Power"

It's Insanity to F**K up in already F****D up health care with the use of Quota system. Atleast If the Present Govt of PPP and MQM who are making fool of Pakistani Nation, should make sure that any student who gets admission via Quota system then go back to his area to serve that area and not to use their MPA and MNA to get them a Job in Karachi and forcely send the Karachite's in interior sindh! It's not FAIR!!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Sep 2009 19:13 #
  2. misalligned

any mqm lover want to save his masters **********. lekin khan yea bhi ghalat hai na kay PPP koi kam karti hai to app loog mqm kay peechay par jatay hain lolz

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Sep 2009 21:47 #
  3. Fahim23

I think there is a point in Quota system. It is one of the way we can reduce the ever increasing discrepency between haves and have nots of our society. Either we equally raise the standard of every part of Pakistan and make sure that they are given "equal opportunities" - a purely merit based system in itself is injustice and unfair IMO. We (i mean The state) has kept some areas backwards and preferred others. In that case we cannot expect a student from Makran, Tharparkar, Dera ghazi khan, and Rajanpur to compete with the students of Lahore, Karachi, Quetta and Peshawar.

Beside it is only one possiblility that a student with C grade is preferred on a student with A grade just because of Quota system. But in practice IMO the best students with A1 and A grades from each districts are able to secure positions for themselves in the best institutes/colleges of our country. And in this way gradually the standard of each district is increased. If there is no quota system it is more likely that the students from deprived areas of Pakistan will never get a chance to get standard education and they will always remain what they are in fact get worse!

Since last decade what was happening in the medical colleges of Sindh was any student from Gujranwala, Abotabad, quetta or Fata was able to get admission in SMC or other medical colleges of Karachi, sindh. but the other parts of Sindh except karachi were barred to get admission in the capital of their own province! (One of the unique things that is only possible in our country).

Anyhow, this is one of the promises of PPP to its vote bank which has been fulfilled. And this move of PPP govt is welcomed by the students of Sindh.

Eventually (and ASAP) we should eradicate Quota system when all areas of Pakisan are raised with equal standards till then justice and fairness demands that we Favour or Prefer those who are deprived.

About MQM who used to be against the Quota system are now the benefictory of this very system as they have managed to set the quota of 40/60% They claim 40% employment quota, ministries quota, etc. So I don't think they are intrested anymore to eradicate Quota system.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 0:16 #
  4. zia m

I'm in favour of affirmative action,it can provide opportunities for residents of under developed areas.Quota is sort of affirmative action.
    The problem in Pakistan is abuse of the system.The privileged ones can obtain a domicile from anywhere in the country.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 0:57 #
  5. misalligned & KHAN_Sahib

For your kind information , in 1998 , the sixteen amendment to the constituion was passed by NS which has extended the quota system for 20 years. And MQM with 25 seats in national assembly (about 8 % ) can't force the passage or revocation of constitutional amendment.

@Fahim23

If quota system is such a great thing than why its not in punjab or NWFP ? Why only sindh ?

If karachi has better institutues, the cost of living is more as well and it pays taxes as well not like interiors where the agricultural income is exempt from tax.

And for your kind memory , 40/60 quota has been there since its introduction in 1974 , its not a new ratio. Please correct me if wrong.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 1:04 #
  6. Fahim23

@AsifK

You are exaggerating my statement probably out of misunderstanding me that Quota system is "such a great thing". I think it is an affirmative measure as hinted by @Zia required out of necessity applicable to the peculiar situation of our country where only selected areas are being developed while other are being completely ignored (and this is not exaggeration).

My point is that suppose if we allow pure merit based system then for obvious reasons the candidates from under developed area will find it very difficult to compete with developed insitutes of our country (common sense suggests it). Eventually they will further be pushed towards backwardness.

To resolve this issue affirmative actions (Quota system is an example of affirmative actions) are required whereby State favours/prefers under developed or ignored inhabitants and attempts to lift their plight for better. So that until those areas are raised to equal standards they are given opportunities in to already established facilities.

Therefore I am of the opinion that unless all parts of our country are developed and given equal opportunities we should favour those who are neglected in the past.

Karachi is the economic hub of Pakistan because it has two sea ports. From all over the Pakistan business community comes and invest in that city. The governments of Pakistan throughout our 62 years of History has invested alot in the Karachi plus the residents of the karachi have made good use of it. This is the reason it is much developed than other parts of the country. Being a capital of Sindh it is the right of every sindhi to make use of its facilities. But unfortunately in 90s the students having domicile of other parts of Sindh were barred from getting admission in public sector universities/colleges of Karachi while the students from Punjab, NWFP, Balochistan and Kashmir were allowed!

Beside I think you have to judge the quota system on its merits and concept. It is not the enough reason to discard Quota system on the fact that it does not exist in other provinces. If we follow this logic then some one can say that if Railway network is such a great thing then why it is not in Afghanistan?

No the 40/60% ratio is the product of MQM. and MQM itself is only about 20 years old. This system which is hugely favouring the already developed cities and unfortunately only one community of Sindh is coined by MQM.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 3:42 #
  7. many things has badly misused and has created worst effects ...
    and Quota system is one of them.
    no province feels satisfied ,what it gets as quota .
    and admission quotas are always for army ppl and other big shots.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 4:09 #
  8. quaidkamazaar

merit based system would be the way forward.

people who deserve it, get it.
    while other less skilled improve their skills.

quota system is something i hate vehemently with bad memories attached to it.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 4:24 #
  9. and some parties came up with the claim of taking stand against this quota system ...and it was the part of their manifesto.
    now they have totally forgot it .

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 4:33 #
  10. msohail83

Why not fix the root cause??

This quota system highlights the problem of insufficient number of institutes in the interior sindh.

What is being done to accomodate those students living in the remote areas? Does the govt have plans to build more colleges/universties?

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 4:37 #
  11. Fahim23

Quota system was introducted by PPP in 1974 for 10 years. and its now 35 years. My question is very simple that if quota system was/is such a good remedy than why not it was not introduced in punjab ?

NOw , NS extended it for 20 years in 1998 . Why not he introduced it in Punjab ?

Can u please give a breakup of tax collection in Sindh ? Whats the contribution of interior sindh ?

'
    But unfortunately in 90s the students having domicile of other parts of Sindh were barred from getting admission in public sector universities/colleges of Karachi while the students from Punjab, NWFP, Balochistan and Kashmir were allowed!
    '

I think students of other provinces are allowed on reserved seats where each province has 3/4 seats reserved for other pronvinces on reciprocal basis.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 4:42 #
  12. Fahim23

@msohail83

Very good questoin. I was hoping we move forward our discussion to this point. There is not much being done in this regard. The government has apparently no master plan to lift the under developed areas. They are working haphazardly.

Provincial government however has made some initiatives to reopen more than 7500 ghost schools only in Sindh. And so far they have been able to reopen around 1300 schools. still 5500 are closed! The 12 year ban from HST jobs was lifted and 1000s of ppl are employed in educatoin sector.

In Sindh beside karachi and Hyderabad new universities are established in Nawabshah (QUEST), Larkana (CMC), Khairpur (SALU), Sukkur (IBA), Tando Jam (TJAU) and Jamshoro (MUET, SU, and LUMHS). And almost all beside Sindh university during PPP government. So we should give them thr due credit.

@quaidkamazaar

Everybody deserves the Good opportunities. For 62 years of our history few areas like Lahore, Karachi, Islamabad, have been heavily favoured and prefered while many areas of Pakistan are neglected. Almost treated like step sons/brothers. So what if now we favor under developed areas through Quota system and continue developing areas so that eventually we eradicate this and implement pure merit based system.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 5:05 #
  13. msohail83

@Fahim

As far as development of interior sindh is concerned, PPP will have to own this issue and ensure they get the much needed colleges/universities. I say this cuz interior sindh is the power base of PPP and no other party could understand their problems better than them.

There are a lot of similarties b/w interior sindh and southern Punjab as they are both impoverished and neglected big time. Development in Punjab is almost entirely focused on northern punjab where as Sindh doesn't look beyond Karachi and Hyderabad.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 5:24 #
  14. Fahim23

@AsifK

Yes Quota system Should be a Temporary measure it cannot and should not be a permanent policy. Any sincere government needs 10 years to raise the standard of under developed areas. Until they are not developed we cannot expect them to compete with top institutes of the country. Residents of Karachi enjoy the best available health, educational, transport and employment facilities of not only in Sindh but of Pakistan. While in other parts standards are very low because the government has not invested thr much! The other major contributing factor from Sindh in Pakistan's economy is Livestock. Tharparkar tops in the production of milk and meat for the pakistan.

The Tax is collected in the capital of every province that is Karachi in the case of Sindh. And as I mentioned earlier in my above post Karachi is the economic hub of Pakistan because it has two sea ports and businessmen from all over Pakistan come and invest in karachi. The agricultural products. live stock or natural resources which are generated in rest of Sindh are brought to karachi as raw material for exports, production, refinement or other consumption.

Sindh has not become the energy province of Pakistan. Sindh is the richest province in terms of natural resources of gas, petrol, and coal. It meets the 60% Gas needs of our country and 70% Oil needs. Thar coal is not utlized yet but it is going to become the backbone of Pakistans energy needs. Pakistan's economy is based on Agriculture and currently Sindh meets 30% of Pakistan's agricultural requirements, with cotton, rice, wheat, sugar cane, bananas, and mangoes as the most important crops. Heavy industries are located on the coastal areas of sindhi while agriculture base is located along the indus river. Except karachi which has mamoth share of manufacturing Hyderabad, Ghotki, and Nooriabad are the two other centers which cater the needs of Cement, Bewerages, Fertilizer etc!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 5:27 #
  15. Fahim23

@msohail

"There are a lot of similarties b/w interior sindh and southern Punjab as they are both impoverished and neglected big time. Development in Punjab is almost entirely focused on northern punjab where as Sindh doesn't look beyond Karachi and Hyderabad."

Cannot agree more! Therefore I think it is fair if those neglected areas are now Favored as the hyd/khi and central Punjab is favoured for last 62 years.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 5:28 #
  16. Adonis

I think the more significant impact of quota system is in government sector jobs. Unfortunately, our government sector suffers from over employment and each successive government further increases this by giving government jobs to its cronies.

There must be a realization that the role of government is too promote job creation in private sector and not becoming the biggest employer itself.

There is also a need to spread out the spending on education. New universities (even in private sector) should be allowed to open only in remote areas. The present trend of al new universities opening up in big cities is simply increasing population pressure in these cities. In US, many of the top universities are located in small towns where the mainstay of the local economy is these universities. Similar is teh case of GIK which is constructed in a remote area in Swabi district.

The best way to remove developmental disparities between different areas is to spread out ther resources and universities can be a good starting point.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 5:32 #
  17. Adonis

@ msohail

Development in punjab is not focused on northern punjab, rather it is focused on central punjab. The northern punjab, the pothohari belt, is quite underdeveloped. One should go to villages of attock, chakwal and even rawalpindi to see how these areas have not seen any development at all.

It is a general trend all over Pakistan that development has mostly occurred in cities.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 5:39 #
  18. Fahim23

I guess it is important to mention here that the introduction of Quota System however severely damaged the process of integration between new sindhis and old sindhis...MQM and the nationalist parties of Sindh (both playing in the hands of agencies) did its best to exploit this issue and expanded the ethnic gap.

It is very unfortunate that many urdu speaking proudly call themselves Pakistanis but not many are equally proud of calling themselves Sindhis. They still prefer to call themselves "Muhajir" when it comes to identify themseves in the province while they are born and raised in Sindh. The process of integration is relatively fast in Sukkur, Tando adam, tando allahyar, and other parts of Hyderabad but it is very slow in Karachi. In Punjab the migrants (muhajir) don't call themselves muhajir they are now Punjabi Pakistanis. Recently MQM has changed its policy and many of them have realized that they are as much sindhis now as anybody else. Which is a positive move and in the best intrest of Sindh!

I hope any rifts left end asap as now this is our home! and everyone naturally likes where s/he is grown!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 5:41 #
  19. msohail83

@Adonis

You're correct. I meant to say central Punjab. I come from Jhelum, so I do have a little clue of what you're talking about.
    ---
    I do agree with you suggestion. That'll certainly be a great step.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 5:45 #
  20. msohail83

Here I would also like to mention the establishment of 'virtual university', brainchild of Dr. Atta-ur-Rehman, during Musharraf's tenure. This my friends is the best option to take higher education to masses in the remote areas at almost no cost!

They have their private channels that broadcast lectures through satellite. Only if the provincial govts show little interest and dedication, they could allocate some funds to build long distance education centers.

It boggles my mind why this option is NOT being utilized?

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 6:01 #
  21. Adonis

"In Punjab the migrants (muhajir) don't call themselves muhajir they are now Punjabi Pakistanis."
    I have yet to come across a single urdu-speaking muhajir settled in punjab who calls himself punjabi Pakistani. They call themselves only Pakistani and apparently punjabis do not have any problem with that either. These people migrated to Pakistan, they did not migrate to punjab or sindh, so why should they call themselves anything but Pakistani?

The fact is that this provincialism is least apparent in punjab of all the provinces probably because there are so many different linguistic groups residing in punjab. But perhaps more because most punjabis consider themselves Pakistani first, that is why most talk to their children only in Urdu.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 6:07 #
  22. Fahim23

@Adonis

I am not sure they call themself just Pakistanis or identify themselves as Punjabis first but they certainly don't call themselves Muhajir now!

I think migrants who settled in Punjab didn't experience any culture clash, they were already Punjabi speaking and didn't have any cultural clash. While in Shidh most migrants came from UP and non-punjabi speaking areas.

"These people migrated to Pakistan, they did not migrate to punjab or sindh,"

You sound as if Sindh and Punjab didn't make up of Pakistan and these names are something anti-Pakistan! I am not sure what makes you to negate the presence of Sindh and Punjab or Balochistan, NWFP etc.

Pakistan is made up of Provinces. Sindh decided to be part of Pakistan without relinquishing its original identity. And Sindh welcomed the new migrants. They are born and raised in Sindh, Pakistan. On thr official documents like domicile etc they are identified as residents of Sindh, Pakistan. So I think as they call themselves Pakistani, by the same token they are at least morally obliged to consider and identify themselves as Sindhis.

And there is no Harm if I call my self Sindhi, Pakistani or Punjabi Pakistani. In fact IMO this mind set of calling oneself only Pakistani while completely neglecting and suppressing the local language and culture has severely damaged the fabric of Pakistan and this is the reason we haven't been able to make ourself a nation! Establishment has tried alot to impose this mind set but has failed miserably in fact lost half of the country!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 6:32 #
  23. Adonis

"I think migrants who settled in Punjab didn't experience any culture clash, they were already Punjabi speaking and didn't have any cultural clash."

If you read my post again, I was talking about urdu speaking migrants, from UP and bihar, coming to punjab. A large number of urdu speaking migrants came to punjab and now they are well integrated as Pakistanis. Perhaps, one of the reason is also that in punjab, they are well spread all over the place while in sindh they were concentrated in karachi and hyderabad.

As for Pakistani provinces, their present form is a relic from the British. Pakistan is not a confederation of these provinces, these are just administrative units which can be restructured any time. There is nothing wrong with calling one punjabi or sindhi, as long as being Pakistani comes first.

These provinces are not sacrosanct. If tomorrow there is a lahore province and a faisalabad province, still people living there will be Pakistanis who speak punjabi language. Similarly, if instead of sindh, there are sukkur , larkana, sanghar etc provinces, people living there will still be Pakistanis speaking sindhi language.

Our lack of cohesion has been exactly because we have stressed more on our provincial identities than our national identity. Pakistan will be a strong federation when a person can move from one province to another and proudly identify himself as a Pakistani belonging to his new province.

Just like as in US, a person may be born and bred in illinois, but then if he then settles in florida, he becomes a floridian without anyone discriminating against him for being born outside florida or speaking with a different accent.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 6:54 #
  24. Fahim23
    Quota system is there for 35 years and was originally introducted for 10 years. So , how much more time is required ?

Mohajirs started calling themself mohajirs after Bhutto/ppp pushed them to wall by introducing this bi-lingual system in 1974. If u remember the linguistic rights of 1973/74. Who made them a separate entity in sindh ?

As far as taxes are concerned, if u look at punjab , sialkot , gujranwala , faisalabad are big revenue contributiors ? Whats contribution of sukkhar , larkana or or mirpurkhas ?

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 6:55 #
  25. Fahim23

@AsifK

The point of Quota system is that "Until the under developed areas are raised to equal standards those deprived should be preferred". Unfortunately Bhutto was overthrown by dictator and many of his plans were left incompleted. But again I will say that Quota system cannot be a permanent policy it is merely time limited affirmative matter.

Yes I remember those unfortunate riots. However if you see that Urdu is the national language of Pakistan since the times of Quaid-e-Azam and on his will. And PPP government while making the 73 constitution again made Urdu national language of Pakistan!

Sindhi language and culture for sindhi speaking at least is very dear, beautiful and rich. Being a province it is our right to promote our mother tongue. No one should have any problem if the province of Sindh passes the legislation that Sindhi should be the official language of its province. And it is not the only official language, Urdu and English being the national languages can also be used for official correspondence! So whoever wants can communicate either in Sindhi, Urdu or English.

Linguistic riots also took place in 50s when Bengalis demanded that instead of Urdu Bengali should be the official language of Pakistan. But Jinnah despite hailing from Sindh opted to make Urdu as national language and I think it was very wise of him! Urdu could have and has actually worked as the communication language in the indo-pak.

In sindh Karachi catters the needs of Pakistan's manufacturing and industrial sector while rest of Sindh contributes in the Natural resources, Agriculture and Livestock.

Anyhow our focus should now be to narrow down the ethnic divide in the province and speed up the process of integration. The process of integration is natural. There is no threat to urdu language in Pakistan as it is our national language and almost every sindhi and Pakistanis knows how to read and write urdu. But our regional languages are endangered and we should not loose them!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 7:08 #
  26. Fahim23

@Adonis

Well nothing is sacrosanct, not even Pakistan. Before 1947 it was india, and before that it was something else. Its all about respecting the local cultures and languages. Once bangladesh was East Pakistan but not anymore! But when someone conspire or act against Pakistan we are alarmed similarly when local cultures and languages are negated people will be alarmed! I am of the opinion that we should follow upward model in which my responsibility first comes towards my family, my neighbourhood, my city, my province, my country, my continent and my world. Instead of following your proposed downward model!

I was also going to quote you American model and British model. While in Britain the englishmen in past have oppressed and stressed on the fact that they all are britain first and then welsh, irish or scotish and they have practically destroyed the native languages except English. And as a result still there are several unresolved issues in the United Kingdom and one can see that they are not very cardial to each other. They are almost separate countries and have their own teams, currencies, kings etc. Americans have shown great plularism where they have allowed every community to proudly associate themselves as Afro-American, Mexican American, Pakistani-American and Indian American! They have recognized that is is artificial of we ask the people to forget and negate thr roots, language and culture and artificially adopt foreign language and culture.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 7:22 #
  27. Asli Moulana

Have a question

Does Sindh have any Medical Colleges or Universities in areas other than Karachi ?

If it does then why the focus only on Karachi.

Shouldnt the Son of Soils first improve their own backyards before asking for Handouts

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 7:41 #
  28. Fahim23

@Asli Moulana

Yes thr are two medical colleges LUMHS in Jamshoro and CMC in Larkana and they are trying to improve those institutes and actuallty focusing on them. But the issue was that in Sindh Medical College, a sindhi was banned from getting admission!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 7:50 #
  29. Asli Moulana

why wants he to be admitted over there when he has 2 colleges closer to his home.

Why does he want a seat reserved for him when he can get the same education elsewhere in his home town.

Doesnt make sense though

If the Sindhi was refused then one should look into the grounds why Sindhi was refused and focus on the main problem instead of giving him a handout.

THis applies to anyone living in Sindh.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 7:53 #
  30. Asli Moulana

But the issue was that in Sindh Medical College, a sindhi was banned from getting admission!

Fahim from your post it seems that it was just to prove a point and shove the law aside and prove that someone has power and nothing to do with the actual problem that Sindh's other 2 colleges which u mentioned have been largely overlooked by its own sons of the soil.

I think SIndhis should have made or improved colleges and made them better than the medical college in question rather to make policy change which is obtuse in every sense.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 7:56 #
  31. Fahim23

@Asli Moulana

1. The standard of Education in the capital of Province due to the facilities provided by the Sindh and Federal governement are higher.

2. There are about 6 public sector and around dozens of private medical colleges for one city which only makes 25% of sindh's population while for rest of 75% population thr are just 2 medical colleges near to thr homes.

Near to home town is very vague term for rest of Sindh as it is considerablly large province and not every one has easy access to the two medical colleges in Sindh

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 8:02 #
  32. Its certianly ridiculous that first sindhis call for quota because of lack of resources and when education is offered closer to home ,they want quota in karachi,away from home. Ridiculous---

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 8:03 #
  33. Fahim23

@AsifK

Be assured tht if resources are offered to them closer to thr homes they won't need to come to karachi or anywhere else!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 8:06 #
  34. Asli Moulana

Fahim Sahib I beg to differ.

Any Medical College's core strength is in its Teachers who are doctors and researchers. It doesnt have to do with funds provided my friend.

The syllabi for the medical sciences is the same throughout the world ( almost ) with a couple of exceptions.

The courses are taught on the basis of teachers not on funds.

Its really surprising that there should have been so many Sindhi doctors ready to make their other colleges extremely better rather than to rely on one city.

The idea seems pretty deflating the morals of Sindhis.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 8:12 #
  35. justapakistani
    proxyman

@ Fahim, Just correct ur Info

There r 3 more medical college in Interior Sindh

PMC
    http://www.sindhhealth.gov.pk/pmc.htm

SGMC
    http://www.sindhhealth.gov.pk/sgmc.htm

LUMHS
    http://www.sindhhealth.gov.pk/lumhs.htm

So Interior Sindh 3 medical colleges where as Karachi got 2
    SMC http://www.sindhhealth.gov.pk/smc.htm
    DMC http://www.sindhhealth.gov.pk/dmc.htm

So saying there is no or less opporunities of medical available to interior sindh students is baseless

BTW LUMHS is a full fledged university located in JAMSHORO

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 8:14 #
  36. Asli Moulana

Also if i were a Sindhi i would kicked the representatives of the rest of the 75% population to do more regarding Sindh instead of looking for other places.

To be honest i think my brethren in Sindh need to wise up and see the fallacy in this option. Instead of making Sindh better you are telling Sindhis that look we made u a place elsewhere.

Kinda ironic.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 8:16 #
  37. Fahim23

@Asli Moulana Sb

At Universities/Medical colleges level it is all about Research and development instead of mere teaching and research without funding can not be imagined.

I take your point and have already mentioned in my posts above that Quota system cannot and should not be a permanent policy. It is an affirmative measure sometimes necessary to take to uplift the under developed communities unless there own cities are raised to equal standards.

@justpakistani

Thanks for correcting the info but SGMC has Started functioning from year 2003-2004 and it hasn't even completeted its first batch! While the ban on the students from other parts of Sindh was imposed during the 90

1. Sindh Medical College
    2. Dow International Medical College
    3. Dow University of Health Sciences
    4. Karachi Medical & Dental College, http://www.kmdc.edu.pk
    5. Dr.Ishratul Ebad Institute of Oral Health Sciences Karachi.
    6. Jinnah post graduate medical center http://www.jpmc.com.pk/

and many other private medica colleges Baqai, zia etc are located in karachi for 25% of Population while 4 are for 75% of population.

I don't think it is baseless if I say that people of Hyderabad and karachi have enjoyed the best available health, educational, and employment facilities not only of the province but of the country.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 8:36 #
  38. Asli Moulana

At Universities/Medical colleges level it is all about Research and development instead of mere teaching and research without funding can not be imagined.

=======================

Again my friend you are missing my point. are u trying to say that the 75% of the Sindhi Population has no representative in the Sind Government ?

Arent all the Sindhi doctors ready to go back and improve their other colleges.

Why focus on one City make alternatives be self sufficient.

Teachers are there to help flourish the students. Basic medical sciences are same my friend Post Grad studies is not being discussed here.

The Interior Sindh has 2 medical colleges both one made before creation of Pakistan i find it very hard to beleive that the graduates didnt do anything to help their Alumni and the Provincial Governments chose by Sindhis didnt do much about rather relied on one City to do every thing.

not a wise police or move.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 8:44 #
  39. justapakistani
    proxyman

@ Fahim addition of SGMC means the opportunities for students increased , also the upgradation of LMC as university give more options.
    Jinnah post graduate medical center(JPMC) is for physiotherapy, where there is quota for all students of different cities in Sindh.
    In private colleges there is no issue of quota system, they based on merit with high fees which is almost unaffordable for majority of population.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 8:50 #
  40. Fahim23

@Asli Moulana

I also subscribe to this argument that it is now hight time we should focus on developing the under developed and neglected areas of Pakistan. However, I think till those areas are developed the cream of those areas should be given opportunities with favours and preference in the big cities of our country like Hyd/khi/lah/isb/peshawr etc.

Just to correct your info.

LUMHS were created in 1881 in Hyderabad
    PMC was created in 1974
    CMC was created in 1973
    SGMC was created in 2003-04

The best policy is merit based and that should be our ultimate goal. But I think it wud be unfair if its implemented in current Pakistan where certain areas are far developed and advanced thn others. We can't expect the stdnts of under developed areas to compete on equal basis. I hope you got my point.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 8:53 #
  41. justapakistani
    proxyman

Well what change/improvement this quota system in education made in previous decades? Btw it was introduced in 1974

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 9:02 #
  42. Fahim23

IF i know correctly ,

2. Dow International Medical College
    3. Dow University of Health Science

These 2 are not two institutes rather just one.

Jinnah Post Graduate Medical is a federal govt. institute and is meant only for post-graudation.

KDMC is an intiative by Karchi local govt.

Private medical colleges like hamdadrd or baqai are open to every body.

Here we are disucssing only medical colleges being run by provincial govt and they are only two as per my understanding.
    PLease correct me if wrong.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 9:12 #
  43. justapakistani
    proxyman

Just to add LUMHS is located in Jamshoro

"Liaquat University of Medical & Health Sciences, Jamshoro being the First Public Sector Medical University of Pakistan, is fully aware of its leadership role in medical education, patient care and medical research. It also is aware of its responsibilities towards the society with particular reference to the production of various cadres of health professionals, both at undergraduate and postgraduate levels, who are competent, efficient, caring and are capable of pursuing scholastic and research activities."

Ref:
    http://www.lumhs.edu.pk/

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 9:19 #
  44. DirectHit

Opposition members senate comity recently issued a press release to finish quota system in all the colleges and universities of the Pakistan.
    This is will be good for students on merit to move anywhere in Pakistani University for Admission.
    Quota system always brings distress to the less populated areas/Provinces of Pakistan.
    They will be able to get more admissions if having good education career.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 9:45 #
  45. expakistani

I dont see any thing good in Affirmative action / Quota system .....it just creating division between urban and Ruler areas, poor people from interior sindh are not getting any thing out of such in human system excpt few Jahli Doctors and Civil Eng to fill in Govement jobs...again base on quota system...

Why cant we have open merit admissions base on some quality exams/test.

Encourage pvt sectors to open colleges in other parts of sindh as well... I am sure if education is good then students from all over the Pakistan wouldnt mind going to
    interior sindh for quality education... Look at GIK inst of technology as example.......

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 15:04 #
  46. zia m

Affirmative action is not a permanent solution.The ideal situation is to provide uniform education system to all the citizens.This might take a long time to implement even if a concerted effort is made.
    In the meantime some sort of affirmative action if structured correctly can offer some relief to under developed areas.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 15:28 #
  47. quaidkamazaar

quota system is just racism to me.
    because you are mahajir, you dont get position no matter how talented you are. it used to be far worse before in 70s and 80s.

jaao, interior sindh domicile laaao. BS!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 19:30 #
  48. Fahim23

@justpakistani

LUMHS was first established in hyderabad when dinsh was part of Dubai and then later moved to Jamshoro. Sindh university too first was established in Karachi and thn to hyderabad and thn moved to Jamshoroarachi.

@expakistani

I agree with you that the introduction of Quota system actually instigated the ethnic divide and at the same time no serous was taken to uplift the condition of neglected areas of Pakistan. But I don't think it was because there is any flaw in the "Affirmative action" - its failure was more because of our intolerant society and inefficient governments. We also experienced linguistic riots in 74 when Sindh assembly passed the resolution of Sindhi as official language of the Sindh province!

@quaidkamazaar

Why do you call yourself muhajir when it was your parents who migrated and settled in Sindh while you have been born and raised in Sindh, Pakistan?

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 22:05 #
  49. Fahim23

@AsifK

The point is certain parts of our country are hugely favoured over and sometimes on the expenses of other. There are post graduate, federal and private colleges only in certain pockets. The prime example is FATA and Balochistan then there comes Sindh except khi/hyd and Punjab except lahore/faisalabad/sailkot/gujranwala etc. They aint equally distributed? Don't you see a flaw in this?

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 22:09 #
  50. Fahim !
    When was a Sindhi banned from admission in SMC? Can u give me some details as I find this statement completely wrong and misleading!
    For all others.... If quota system is so justified then why do u object when a student from the most backward area of Pakistan (FATA) gets admission in any sindh or punjab medical college????
    For general infirmation: there is a Quota ststemnin Pukhtoonkhwa too, though nit sure about Punjab!

In the end if u guys justify this unjustice system of Quota system then why don't these candidates serve their own people after their graduation and why do they seek employement in cities, away from their home/ Families????

I think that there should be an open merit system and for medical college admission, there should have a written test and an interview to qualify for an admission. People getting admissions should submitt an undertaking that they will not seek employement in other areas and they should be bound to serve their locality for atleast 10 years. Also all female candidates should too submit a bond that they will work for atleast 10 years before quitting medicine. I personally have noticed that 60 to 70% of females quit medicine all together hence spoiling the chance if some deserving xandidae!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Sep 2009 23:58 #