Discuss » Video Links

PPP takes the lead Alhamdulilah

(29 posts)
  1. Fahim23

Dear All, AOA

I would like to congratulate all pakistanis (winners and those who lost) for this election which despite of heavy rigging attempts from sitting government, have been turned by Pakistani nation\'s power of vote.

I am a PPP supporter but I hope PPP involves PML N to form the coalition government, and this election becomes the turning point of our History.

May ALLAH Bless us all.

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Feb 2008 9:12 #
  2. hasheesh

I would like to see the judges restored right away.. and the next govt. to complete its term and end in a fair election

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Feb 2008 9:45 #
  3. larki

the same old choors are back
    one choors goes and another one turns up.
    just hope the new rulers will be honest ppl. thats all i ask.
    be honest to your subjects. share the power with the ppl.
    be humble to the ppl and be just.
    get rid of all the old thugs.
    even the old justice minister is not a clean guy. nor his policeman son.
    they should not be in power. we need new blood new faces and new ideas.

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Feb 2008 10:06 #
  4. Fahim23

@larki

I think this time pakistani nation has a weapon that is \"media\", I am very hopeful with its role.

I am sure it will give very tough time to the coming government, if they tried to do any stupidity. Through media, our nation has to keep a check on their elected members. The good thing about Democratic people is that, they are naturally accountable to their constituency.

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Feb 2008 10:11 #
  5. Adonis

As long as we have free media and more importantly, free judiciary, democracy will be safe and every government will be answerable to people.

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Feb 2008 10:15 #
  6. @Fahim
    You are very right. Media really played the vital role for the revival of this nation. Although i do not support PPP but i am happy that they won from all the provinces because it is the only party representing federation.
    Now every one is focusing Zardari, although i have really very little hopes that he would do something for judiciary because of his cases but still i hope he would be able to keep his party united.

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Feb 2008 10:23 #
  7. Adonis

Actually, Q league also got seats from all provinces, so technically PPP is not the only party representing federation.

But winning seats everywhere is a moot point. In 1997 PPP did not get a single seat outside sindh, still this did not dent its credentials as a party of the federation.

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Feb 2008 10:46 #
  8. Fahim23

With democratic sprit, I think we should not be hesitatnt to give due respect to all parties according to their support. Even the PML Q candidates if they are won genuinely must be respected.

It should be matter of content for us that there are many or at least one political party that can be termed as Federal Party.

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Feb 2008 11:56 #
  9. larki

fahim23
    i will support any party in pakistan as long as there is no religion involved.
    but i think i will give a chance to ppl because i am from karachi and i live near bilawal house so i can see what is going on there from my balcony.

sometimes i have waved to the ppp ppl on the road.
    they all carying machine guns and sit in pajeros and have ajraks hanging on thier ears. lol

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Feb 2008 12:18 #
  10. Fahim23

@larki

I think, we should support any political party which stands for rule of law. Be it religious or non-religious.

On lighter note, I guess you probably wanted to say ajrak on their \'shoulders!\' It is ear rings which you might used to wear which hang on ears.

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Feb 2008 12:46 #
  11. shughalii

I am very much hopeful.Thanks God ppp won.And for people who are light hearted please be careful with the win and get your medicines for ppp win.Because I know some people cant stand.
    Good luck with all of those

Posted 3 years ago on 19 Feb 2008 14:14 #
  12. Fahim23

I think we should own our political parties, though we support them or not. Because, even if we donot like or support them, they still effect our lives one way or another. If they do some good, it is advantageous for all of us as nation, on the other hand if commit any disaster we all have to suffer equally.

I believe for Pakistan, two-party system like USA will be most suitable. All small left and right wing parties should merge in the mainstream parties. I am glad we have one party PPP whose roots in all provinces are evident. I also hope PML (All alphabets) also make its roads in other provinces which at this moment is not very encouraging.

Party NA PP PS PB PF
    PPPP 87 78 65 7 17
    PML(N) 66 101 0 0 5
    PML(Q) 38 66 9 17 6

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Feb 2008 2:45 #
  13. @Faheem,
    victory of PPP...thanks to BB...who selected a right time at a right place of Pakistan ,to be killed ......

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Feb 2008 4:47 #
  14. expakistani

PPPP 87 and PML 66 + 38 (-1 Punjab ka akhri jhali CM) ......... base on history i can tell you PML will be united under Nawaz sharif.......... just in year or 2......

PML walay har sal apna leader change kertey hain
    MQM se dosti achi na doshmani

we are back in 90s....let play te musical chair
    LOL.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Feb 2008 5:40 #
  15. Fahim23

@Ms. Beena

I was expecting something like this (victory of PPP...thanks to BB...who selected a right time at a right place of Pakistan ,to be killed ...... ) from you!

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Feb 2008 6:46 #
  16. Adonis

I would agree that a two party system is the best at least for these initial stages ofPakistani democracy. Before musharraf showed his ugly face on our screens, Pakistan was well on its way to a two party democracy.

Even now I would say that we are a two party country, one is a united PPP and the other is a divided PML both having votebank in all parts of Pakistan.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Feb 2008 7:04 #
  17. Fahim23

@Dear Adonis, AOA

Historically, PML unfortunately has not been able to properly project itself as a national party. Since the inception of Pakistan it has relied on the drawing room politics and feudals. It was only since the Nawaz sharif\'s second term, PML (N) followed the PPP style politics with their own idealogy. Besdie there are many PML members which consider it wise to easily switch their loyalities to be part of government.

Along with PML N even PML Q does not exist in Sindh (if you have a misconception that there is PML Q vote in Sindh). PML Functional gets the vote from Hur\'s they have no idea what the PML idealogy is. In NWFP they are popular only in Potohar region, probably cause potohari consider themselves part of Punjab then NWFP.

While in Zia\'s cabinet NS has often played Punjabi factor, and he established his foundation by enciting ethnic vote. Though, with time he has matured and quit his policy of regional politics. But, still PML has to work alot to gain support in Sindh, NWFP and Balochistan.

I am not criticising PML with ill intentions, I hope you understand.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Feb 2008 7:30 #
  18. Adonis

@ Fahim, Aoa

Forgive me, but your mention of Pothohar as as part of NWFP really made me laugh out loud. It is unfortunate that we Pakistanis are taught so little in schools about various regions of Pakistan. So let me explain a bit more. Pothohar is a region of Punjab province that extends from River Indus at attock to river jhehlum and on the other side borders azad kashmir. Its population is about 10 million and it includes districts of Rawalpindi, Jehlum, Chakwal, Attock and Islamabad. The most spoken language here is pothohari (not punjabi) and administratively it is a part of punjab (excluding islamabad district). There are 16 NA seats here and PML(N) won 13 of these this time.

The part of NWFP you are talking about is Hazara region where a variant of hindko language is spoken which is slightly different from the hindko spoken in cities of Peshawar and Kohat. This region extends from Galiat area (next to murree) to the notrthern areas of Pakistan. It includes districts of Haripur, Abbotabad, Mansehra and Kohitsan. The hill stations of kaghan and naran and saiful mulook lake is also here. This region has always been a Muslim League area, even when punjab and neighbouring Pothohar area were dominated by PPP. So it is not true that hazara region votes with punjab, actually it always votes for muslim league.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Feb 2008 7:46 #
  19. Adonis

I am not talking about PML functional (though on the same rationale it can be argued that seats won by PPP in baluchistan are personal seats not party seats), but just alluding to the fact that even if a party does not get any seats, it may still have a significant vote bank.

In 1997, PPP was wiped out from punjab and could not win a single seat. That did not mean it had no vote bank there. In 1993 and 1997, PML(N) got a good number of votes in sindh and baluchistan. Even in 20022, it had won a seat in Baluchistan which alluded PPP.

The bottom line is that PML has almost always been divided among various factions which are divided not due top any ideological differences but because of clash of personalities. In essence, there is no fundamental ideological difference between them.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

P.S: Nawaz Sharif was never a member of Zia\'s cabinet. I have heard him speak dozens of times and while one can accuse him of many things, he has never ever incited ethnic feelings rather he has always talked about Pakistan never about punjab. If he had ever presented himself as an ethnic punjabi politician, he could have never get any support in Pothohar and Hazara and in Seraiki region which are all non-punjabi areas.

His party has however, in the past, successfully exploited PPP\'s image as a sindhi ethnic party and some speeches of BB in 1988 campaign cemented this perception among some people.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Feb 2008 8:02 #
  20. Fahim23

Unfortunately, there are many fractions of PML. I consider PML N as only a part of larger PML being the most popular, therefore, I was talking about PML in general. In 1970, 1977, 1988, 2002 and 2008. PML has largely been confined to Punjab despite of its pre-poll coalition. I haven\'t included 1985 because those elections were not party based.

Cabinet was wrong word, I meant government. He was CM of Punjab in 1985. It is established fact that his political mentor was CM. In those time, the nationalist movement was very strong in Sindh. Sindhis were being blamed as Traitors by Pakistani Establishment. And in those time NS was the man of establishment. His statements are also on record which reveals his total contradictory personality from today.

There is a room for PML N to grow in every province. But in pakistan we have only MQM and on national scale PPP whose party structure and organization is very effective and organized. They have committed workers which are known as jiyalas. Unfortunately, because of traditional PML style of drawing room politics, they don\'t relate with common people. But now, at least PML N is interacting with masses in Punjab and if it does same in other provinces too then it can also produce good vote bank which is currently non-existing. You must have noted that, NS never even entered in Sindh, Balochistan or Pushtoon areas of NWFP.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Feb 2008 8:30 #
  21. @Mr.Faheem,
    why r u so upset bhai ?????
    u have won ...shud be happy about the whole thing ....
    what i have written is a reality ...if u look into it ...by putting aside ur love for BB...(for just a Nano second ....)
    reality no 1....
    she had striked a deal with Mush sahib...only u and shiekh sahib are the last two persons left on the face of earth ,who are still denying the deal ....although ,she herself had admitted it ...
    reality no2...
    all international surveys including IRI waz showing a remarkable decrease in her popularity since she has join hands with mush and spoken against Lal masjid ,AQ Khan etc.....
    for reference u can go to pkpolitics archieve to look into the IRI polls results in last year nov ...in those polls NS has been turned out the most popular leader in all over Pakistan.
    reality no3.....
    by her unfortunate and sudden death ....and its one sided emotional filmi coverage ...her deal thing went in the background ....and in this elections ,her party is turn out the most popular party .....
    so death makes the difference ....u know ...
    our ppl are emotional ....
    she was corrupt to the core ...she has admitted that surry palace belongs to her ....
    BBC has shown a documentry Princess and Play boy ...it waz about surray palace and BB and her hubby and his horses......
    that was not done by Kashif Abbasi or Talat Hussain ....u can blame to...
    she has striked a deal with msuh ...by ditching all opposition parties ...
    she was a cunning woman ...
    but now she has died ...so she is the Madar e Millat ....
    thats the mindset of our ppl ...unfortunately ....or in PPP case fortunately ....
    coz PPP is the only party who is being always playing politics on the basis of someone dead ...
    she earned money and twice power by using her fathers death ...
    now her hubby is all set to use her dead body to reach to the power ....
    great show ....
    innocent ppl of Pakistan....

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Feb 2008 8:40 #
  22. Fahim23

@Ms Beena

I am not upset :)...I was very much after 27 Dec 2007 but soon it was changed into strength!
    I hope that things in our country change for better.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Feb 2008 9:01 #
  23. Adonis

Nawaz Sharif was in Tehrik-i-Istaqlal in 1970s at a time when Bhutto sahib had nationalized their Ittefaq foundry. He became a minister in Gen. Gilani\\\'s cabinet in punjab and became a CM thanks to the blessings of Gen Zia. His rise in politics was remarkably similar to
    Mr. Bhutto who came into politics as the cabinet minister of Gen. Ayub.

It was only in the elections of 1988 that no muslim league or its allies could get any seats in sindh. Similarly, in 1997, PPP could not get a single seat in punjab and all its 18 seats were from sindh.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Feb 2008 11:14 #
  24. Anonymous

I would like to present you these videos related to Altaf Hussain….
    This is little old ( 1997 ) but very important…
    I hope you people will get some valuable time to watch this all 13 video……Thanking you all in advance..

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Feb 2008 16:24 #
  25. Fahim23

@Adonis

Its good bro, if you believe PML N has strong roots in all provinces. Living in Sindh, I was just sincerely trying to give you the picture of my observations.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Feb 2008 18:06 #
  26. @ My dear Beena,
    I am sorry to understand why the DEAL made you and still making you so upset?
    It was a DEAL not a Murder.
    It was a DEAL with the DEVIL sitting for the last eight years as De-Facto Head of the State.
    The mere slogan of Go-Musharaf Go was not enough to uproot him.
    I was expecting the people like you must have revised their emotionally charged negative approach.
    They should have felt ashamed of their previous postings, assessments and predictions, after the death of one of the Dealers, and the outcome of the recent Elections.
    There are very few, bold enough to understand, acknowledge and accept the reality.

Posted 3 years ago on 20 Feb 2008 18:24 #
  27. @Dear Shiekh sahib,
    i 100 % agree with u ...when u say .....quote >>>>
    There are very few, bold enough to understand, acknowledge and accept the reality.

yes ,really there are very few ppl .....
    i have seen many ppl who believe that someone is an angel ...and they continue to beleive so at any cost ...they dont want to face realities ....
    BBC Tv is showing surray paalce ...not Geo or AAJ tv ...
    but they dont beieve....
    there are list of property of Ms Bhutto ....
    they dont believe .....
    BB was a champion of democracy but suddenly she striked a deal with a dictator ...
    they are still hiding thier face in the sand like an ostroch ......
    she got NRO aam maufi for herself and her corrupt hubby ...
    she got PM protocol ....
    she got US thapkiiiii...
    she announced she wud allow US to come inside our territory ...
    she announced she wud allow IAEA to investigate AQ Khan...
    she announced she is ready to go ahead with US agenda in Pakistan better then mush ....
    and as u know ,US is the friend of nobody ...
    they made a plan and got her killed by mush stablishment by catching her in power trap .....

thats all from reality desk.....
    but since ur a PPP lover for the past 50 years or so ...
    thats why u r not willing to admitting the facts ...simply !!!!!
    God Bless you !

Posted 3 years ago on 21 Feb 2008 9:10 #
  28. @Shiekh sahib,
    she was the first and only leader of Pakistan ,who appreciated Lal Masjid operation ,with loud and clear manner .............
    she said musdh has done a great job ...
    that was the point ppl of pak come to know ,that something is fishy ....
    deal was under consideration at that point ....

Posted 3 years ago on 21 Feb 2008 9:12 #
  29. adeel ayub

I guess this is one last chance 4 PPP to prove its worth in sindh.
    & I can bet they cant if they coalesce with any of Mush allies.
    Remember they aint need any partner in sindh.

Posted 3 years ago on 21 Feb 2008 9:59 #