PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

pkpolitics book club

(198 posts)
  1. @azeemahmed

i had to log in again just to say that incase you haven't noticed that this is a "books" related thread where you can pass links/recommendations etc on good books that anyone think others can read then why are u asking again again "Those of you who are interested in reading good English books and can bear reading on-screen, please raise your hands".. :s

Nazar nae ata? just simply share those links here what's stopping you Mr? :s...why making it a suspense? argh ajeeb log hain ider pkpolitics pey! :s

Posted 11 months ago on 04 Jun 2011 21:28 #
  2. azeemahmed

@RhyMe:

Jeez, thanks man, for taking the huge trouble of logging in to reply to a post that would have been completely inconsequential otherwise.

Dear sir, my question was an inquiry into people's tastes. A book that I consider 'good' can very possibly be 'atrocious' to others. I didn't want to impose my 'likes' on the honorable members of this esteemed forum. That might appear abnormal to you but I am not so full of myself.

But for once I will go against my rules, and suggest a book for you. Hope you won't take it personally.

Etiquette for Dummies.

http://www.mediafire.com/?c4va8crk11r4kmc

Posted 11 months ago on 04 Jun 2011 22:32 #
  3. Hello azeemahmed, Hope you haven't given up on the idea of the thread you wished to start. I wrote to you on the subject on Private Messages (PM). Have you had a look? In any case, there's been no reply from you so far. More's the pity.

Posted 11 months ago on 05 Jun 2011 9:23 #
  4. azeemahmed

Two downloads in 4 days. At least two people on the forum who are not afraid of being presumed as dummies... and self-aware enough to have an interest in their improvement. There is still hope.

Now let's see how many people think that they need a book like this:

English Grammar for Dummies - 2nd Edition

http://www.mediafire.com/?l5z0slb4fz1gop6

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 22:11 #
  5. bsobaid

azeem sahab, dont be hesitant. If I can suggest the "Loose girl" book, then anyone can suggest any book

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 22:17 #
  6. azeemahmed

Obaid sahab, I am not being hesitant. I am just observing the trend at the moment. My original plan is to flood this thread with useful and not-so-useful books. Just wait and see.

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 22:51 #
  7. bsobaid

yaa ilaahi khair.

aap kay iraday khatarnaak lag rahay hein

Posted 11 months ago on 10 Jun 2011 2:21 #
  8. azeemahmed

H.G. Wells - Complete Works in one PDF file

Independently created for educational purposes

Pages: 4914

Size : 11.2 MB

H.G. Wells, widely acknowledged as 'the Father of Modern Science Fiction", along with Jules Verne, hardly needs an introduction. In his own right, he is as famous, and as widely read, as Shakespeare. This is a compendium of his works, created for educational purposes. But being 'educational' does not detract an iota from its enjoyment quotient. Enjoyment and education in one package: could it be any better?

http://www.mediafire.com/?ka3osvdi3vahal4

Posted 11 months ago on 10 Jun 2011 3:31 #
  9. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

This thread should have been for books written with respect to politics.

No romance, or other non-serious nonsense.

I wish this thread was not in "Social and Cultural Issues" category.

Posted 11 months ago on 10 Jun 2011 6:42 #
  10. bsobaid

Haris, I dont think so this is the case. Books of all kinds can be exchanged and discussed.

Posted 11 months ago on 10 Jun 2011 14:44 #
  11. jabalultariq

Mighty & Almighty by Madeline Allbright , a superb piece of writing about her perspective on Islam and US Foreign Policy , I wish they can do what they preach or write. Her ideas are very clear and equitable towards Islam and the world in general

Posted 11 months ago on 10 Jun 2011 17:48 #
  12. shriq

azeemahmad,
    Thanks for H G Wells work!

Posted 11 months ago on 10 Jun 2011 18:09 #
  13. shriq

azeemahmad how to search files in http://www.mediafire.com?

Posted 11 months ago on 10 Jun 2011 18:20 #
  14. azeemahmed

Thanks for the positive feedback, folks. My ego won't be fully satisfied but at least it won't starve.

@Haris Khan

Why do you want to puncture my bubble, dear sir?

@Raavi,

These file hosting sites don't provide search options for freeloaders like us. I don't know about the paying customers. If you want more ebooks, you'll have to go to the sites that share links.

Now, for those of you who prefer to read some 'serious non-sense', here is something to your liking (I hope):

Four books by world-renowned investigative journalist Bob Woodward that cover the 9/11 and its aftermath:

Plan of Attack

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?f2ceei16c6z3p4n

State of Denial

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?p4y0h6120r08dab

Bush at War

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?dxnwe1jq19i05pb

Obama's Wars

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?zwmzkcrhtk5re1w

First three books are in pdf format. The last one is in epub format. Relevant software can be downloaded from here:

http://www.mediafire.com/?oq1eyzromz7bo5a

Posted 11 months ago on 10 Jun 2011 21:40 #
  15. azeemahmed

New link for 'Bush at War':

http://www.mediafire.com/?jcqeqm99v8tk86h

Posted 11 months ago on 11 Jun 2011 0:26 #
  16. azeemahmed

Well, Well, the response has been good so far. I think I will keep on doing what I am doing. Ideas and suggestions are welcome.

People need education. And people need entertainment. So far I have leaned towards the educational but now time for some entertaining (be warned, your idea of entertainment can be quite different from mine):

Elmore Leonard - "the Dickens of Detroit"

Elmore Leonard is amongst the finest crime writers America has produced. Mystery Writers of America declared him a grandmaster of the genre in 1992. Following is a selection of his novels and short stories many of which have been turned into successful movies.

If a link doesn't work, do inform me. I shall be glad to re-upload the file.

All the files are in PDF format

52 Pickup

http://www.mediafire.com/?hsymjvtge49re21

A Coyote's in the House

http://www.mediafire.com/?wzuvb2d4o0cdt0o

Bandits

http://www.mediafire.com/?aewc43o756mu3uf

Blood Money and Other Stories

http://www.mediafire.com/?eukamb9uobb75am

Cat Chaser

http://www.mediafire.com/?y3c4u45lyh740fy

Chili Palmer 1 - Get Shorty

http://www.mediafire.com/?xibmkeyzu2bxrb2

Chili Palmer 2 - Be Cool

http://www.mediafire.com/?00540pr4aywq4e4

City Primeval - High Noon in Detroit

http://www.mediafire.com/?111ru5gai1hm7j2

Cuba Libre

http://www.mediafire.com/?j0060ybnfada4d1

Escape from Five Shadows

http://www.mediafire.com/?t5mjsveok4ijubr

Freaky Deaky

http://www.mediafire.com/?75w4hws7oehatqg

Glitz

http://www.mediafire.com/?hq7rptvyldma2bl

Gold Coast

http://www.mediafire.com/?4ga3rp88ol4qb2z

Gunsights

http://www.mediafire.com/?v5j9rbsuadsvoug

Hombre

http://www.mediafire.com/?pb4fefmpgkp677b

Karen Makes Out

http://www.mediafire.com/?6bepnqi2h2u307n

Killshot

http://www.mediafire.com/?msdklio8814nd24

La Brava

http://www.mediafire.com/?prtcfys83ile93w

Last Stand at Saber River

http://www.mediafire.com/?m52539nydlcddz0

Louly and Pretty Boy

http://www.mediafire.com/?za6koyo5ff011i5

Maximum Bob

http://www.mediafire.com/?pt4kcz1d9aa2ljd

Moment of Vengeance and Other Stories

http://www.mediafire.com/?mdvntukzt9qsesj

Mr. Majestyk

http://www.mediafire.com/?cfntxc724gh87k3

Mr. Paradise

http://www.mediafire.com/?r83qxjesmbidhb9

Out of Sight

http://www.mediafire.com/?xk2qvs3zsqt2hfh

Pagan Babies

http://www.mediafire.com/?wtto0g59tmkgmwz

Pronto

http://www.mediafire.com/?zda71ih98tczhp5

Riding the Rap

http://www.mediafire.com/?t9ovlv2767klcbj

Road Dogs

http://www.mediafire.com/?mlm8m1jjvbni2os

Rum Punch

http://www.mediafire.com/?dkhpwikwwx8kmes

Split Images

http://www.mediafire.com/?aio9p41c7hjifp7

Stick

http://www.mediafire.com/?cddxt1wcl1md2lv

The Big Bounce

http://www.mediafire.com/?mi1jgx4engozx3w

The Bounty Hunter

http://www.mediafire.com/?3b42g09lgwvwswg

The Complete Western Stories of Elmore Leonard

http://www.mediafire.com/?sjexx51dcp39scx

The Hot Kid

http://www.mediafire.com/?flaom60dgklecef

The Hunted

http://www.mediafire.com/?66v3nve310a0llv

The Switch

http://www.mediafire.com/?pxnd5k2dmfb9k6z

Three-Ten to Yuma and Other Stories

http://www.mediafire.com/?7v3d6ccy2jital7

Tishomingo Blues

http://www.mediafire.com/?qgdx9aa4kwiw6w4

Touch

http://www.mediafire.com/?1wlkxr5bqistdt2

Unknown Man #89

http://www.mediafire.com/?q06iepivzif7gv9

Up in Honey's Room

http://www.mediafire.com/?u1cemsr10ueze3t

When the Women Come Out to Dance

http://www.mediafire.com/?liy8h31y4vyee1m

Posted 11 months ago on 12 Jun 2011 7:30 #
  17. azeemahmed

Agatha Christie - Miss Marple Mysteries

Here comes the Queen of Suspense. Standup and Behold in Awe and Admiration.

All of the files are in .pdf and .lit format. Software for .lit files can be downloaded from here:

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?thvs2hlhpue4mpc

4.50 From Paddington

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?2q67tw38s9csn7u

A Caribbean Mystery

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?0557d39q3hbnbk0

A Murder is Announced

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?c1gqb4cid1s440m

A Pocket Full of Rye

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?kj83ibyp8h1rzcc

At Bertram's Hotel

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?8t9nhw0d6h4iupv

Nemesis

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?zogkeaom5aii1ip

Sleeping Murder

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?jh7zgld0g8jnfsz

The Body In The Library

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?gjc3lgbc9oyfg9y

The Mirror Crack'd from Side to Side

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?bi2c24y6z4v1s4c

The Moving Finger

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?0c2b55ste7cw4g3

The Murder At The Vicarage

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?l5vr5xq6qcb2fbq

They Do It With Mirrors

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?zrv5t3z6xbqzx4b

Posted 11 months ago on 12 Jun 2011 7:32 #
  18. azeemahmed

Agatha Christie - Hercule Poirot Mysteries

All of the files are in .pdf and .lit format. Software for .lit files can be downloaded from here:

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?thvs2hlhpue4mpc

After the Funeral

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?cx3s83hq6rc98xz

Appointment With Death

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?57ct02f8vks0hyj

Cards on the Table

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?58yiqhk56u5ycgj

Cat among the Pigeons

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?7ubc48eek32t88u

Curtain

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?cavui277th4g6ed

Dead Man's Folly

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?h1jbikgsbmta13k

Death in the Clouds (AKA Death in the Air)

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?qh6f04q282lx0yr

Death On The Nile

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?kncvtbl2jmnwfl8

Elephants Can Remember

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?dqnam397f6xhc1u

Evil Under The Sun

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?er5cu2ziblauc8q

Hallowe'en Party

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?f14iu4mtcat7a40

Hercule Poirot's Christmas (AKA Murder for Christmas and A Holiday for Murder)

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?q66nvddv4bpdc6n

Hickory Dickory Death

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?dmz2gftmmqzzpmg

Lord Edgware Dies (AKA Thirteen At Dinner)

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?dipsyya5o662yfm

Mrs McGinty's Dead (AKA Blood Will Tell)

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?50hj9jo0w9mb40p

Murder In Mesopotamia

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?au6u4dwte7gy3ua

Murder In Retrospect (AKA Five Little Pigs)

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?au6u4dwte7gy3ua

Murder on the Links

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?4cbke18558nrqpe

Murder on the Orient Express (AKA Murder in the Calais Coach)

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?d5r6xcb624gt1cn

One Two Buckle My Shoe (AKA An Overdoes of Death)

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?uojww373umglnkk

Peril at End House

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?nm8kdiy0s2y3k82

Poirot Loses A Client (AKA Dumb Witness)

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?3zhs58k9ev4zc8g

Sad Cypress

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?d63fch20722ldu3

Taken at the Flood (AKA There Is A Tide)

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?9r9ei90bld4ioaz

The ABC Murders (AKA The Alphabet Murders)

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?x6sdsupo436llno

The Big Four

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?2iy3rj2ljuax6bg

The Clocks

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?1xv4tgejnl5paf7

The Hollow (AKA Murder After Hours)

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?q0qfbz8kjyzrt1s

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?sadkt6z6mi9ctet

The Mysterious Affair At Styles

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?8y664x953xmou6d

The Mystery of the Blue Train

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?j4ksr7rreovbzzv

Third Girl

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?89ay0aky8xtor81

Three Act Tragedy (AKA Murder In Three Acts)

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mfbfg3fa36axlvc

Posted 11 months ago on 12 Jun 2011 7:33 #
  19. shriq

Bhai mere,
    Ye 4shared is a paid site. Dollar kahan se layain ge.
    And what about this A very short introduction?

Posted 11 months ago on 12 Jun 2011 19:45 #
  20. shriq

azeembhai thanks for your reply!
    Got your point up there!

Posted 11 months ago on 12 Jun 2011 19:46 #
  21. shriq

The first link that I clicked is dead azeembhai,
    Today I had only this much time for surfing, shall try tomorrow.
    Cheers!

Posted 11 months ago on 12 Jun 2011 19:48 #
  22. khan_gee007

23. azeemahmed

4shared is playing games with us. I am transferring my files to mediafire.

I request the admin to delete the post of short introductions. It is misleading. I will make a new post shortly.

Posted 11 months ago on 13 Jun 2011 8:22 #
  24. azeemahmed sahab,
    Is this what you have asked to be removed (short introductions):
    http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/pkpolitics-book-club/page/4#post-245604
    Kindly confirm pls.

Posted 11 months ago on 13 Jun 2011 14:01 #
  25. bsobaid

Thank you Azeem bhai, aap chaa gaey hein. I may not read them now but I know where to get them when I want to.

Posted 11 months ago on 13 Jun 2011 15:21 #
  26. azeemahmed

Yes, Mirza Sahib. That is what I request to remove. That file sharing site is causing problems and embarrassing me without any reason. I will upload these files to mediafire and provide the links for all friends here. I repeat once again. Ideas and suggestions are very welcome (and very much needed).

Obaid Sahib, you have seen nothing yet.

Posted 11 months ago on 13 Jun 2011 18:41 #
  27. You mind if I address you or write as
    "Azeem Ahmed Sahib".,
    'Short Introductions' has be removed.
    Thanks.

Posted 11 months ago on 13 Jun 2011 18:48 #
  28. bsobaid

Azeem sahab, can you recommend a fiction with no more than 200 pages?

Posted 11 months ago on 13 Jun 2011 19:00 #
  29. azeemahmed

Thanks Mirza ji. I don't mind being called by my name at all.

Obaid bhai, I don't know what kind of fiction you like to read but I am uploading my favorite series. All of the books are about 200 pages (in print), and are genuine full-blooded mysteries. What I particularly like about this writer is that he did not insult his readers' intelligence.

21 books in all. The series came to an end after the author's death.

John D. Macdonald's Travis Mcgee Series

Most of the files are in PDF format. Some of the files are in Lit format which can be opened with MS Reader. It is a small and easy-to-use software which can be downloaded from:

http://www.mediafire.com/?thvs2hlhpue4mpc

The Deep Blue Good-by (1964)

http://www.mediafire.com/?d74b3wwv4wf2qg9

Nightmare in Pink (1964)

http://www.mediafire.com/?361e0ivek328amu

A Purple Place for Dying (1964)

http://www.mediafire.com/?guohjivcc4mef78

The Quick Red Fox (1964)

http://www.mediafire.com/?3i0fbbgtg9id416

A Deadly Shade of Gold (1965)

http://www.mediafire.com/?uisubha4sbk6l7x

Bright Orange for the Shroud (1965)

http://www.mediafire.com/?e879duoqz4l9khk

Darker than Amber (1966)

http://www.mediafire.com/?361e0ivek328amu

One Fearful Yellow Eye (1966)

http://www.mediafire.com/?yu9pamxygje68at

Pale Gray for Guilt (1968)

http://www.mediafire.com/?ycinebylfoodk96

The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper (1968)

http://www.mediafire.com/?04six7j4533c6ix

Dress Her in Indigo (1969)

http://www.mediafire.com/?afflqa6hdz5b7ao

The Long Lavender Look (1970)

http://www.mediafire.com/?pekd176ar3loren

A Tan and Sandy Silence (1971)

http://www.mediafire.com/?r0fmt10zc4yx3ex

The Scarlet Ruse (1972)

http://www.mediafire.com/?3vhqyeh7xad2u3g

The Turquoise Lament (1973)

http://www.mediafire.com/?1m7dd39iablcc3i

The Dreadful Lemon Sky (1974)

http://www.mediafire.com/?eeuv3gei622tu5w

The Empty Copper Sea (1978)

http://www.mediafire.com/?z57612fw781x6sc

The Green Ripper (1979)

http://www.mediafire.com/?ap9cc7jydl1u7f4

Free Fall in Crimson (1981)

http://www.mediafire.com/?mgc7ep7sbga727e

Cinnamon Skin (1982)

http://www.mediafire.com/?9cuelt3szra74bc

The Lonely Silver Rain (1984)

http://www.mediafire.com/?mzy6oz3p4ng1m3m

Posted 11 months ago on 13 Jun 2011 19:37 #
  30. bsobaid

O no..I dont like mystery or action or gore at all...

but..I will give one a try soon. Thanks for the list.
    Your collection is HUGE

Posted 11 months ago on 13 Jun 2011 19:41 #
  31. bsobaid

I read a few pages of that book...cant remember the name...about that Chinese/canadian journalist/reporter who got abducted in Afghanistan. The book sounded silly as the author was judging all things in Afghanistan via her conversation with a criminal who kidnapped her.

At one place she says something like "In Afghanistan and in other places in middle east people (awam) find it hard to understand how people in west are able to choose their leaders". Now this was a total BS! she was trying to say first Afghanistan is in middle east and secondly middle eastern people live in caves and they are unfamiliar with the concept of democracy. woh kiaa kehtay hein, bandarr kay haath mein ghulail..iss aurat kee book read karr kay aisay hee lagg raha thaa, I dont think I am going to read any further.

Posted 11 months ago on 13 Jun 2011 19:47 #
  32. bsobaid

Under an Afghan Sky. by Mellissa Fung is the name of the book.

Posted 11 months ago on 13 Jun 2011 20:03 #
  33. azeemahmed

Obaid Sahib, you should have said what kind of books you do like. Maybe I had something in my treasury for you.

You shouldn't worry about the Travis Mcgee series. There are not standard, by-the-number, full-of-dhamaka mysteries. They are intelligent, introspective, socially aware and thoughtful. That is why they are my favorite.

Anyway, each to his own taste. Why should I impose my likes and dislikes on you?

Posted 11 months ago on 13 Jun 2011 20:15 #
  34. bsobaid

but I'd like to try one of yours and you are right I should have mentioned my taste.

Posted 11 months ago on 13 Jun 2011 20:19 #
  35. azeemahmed

Oxford - A Very Short Introduction Series - 178 Books

Oxford's Very Short Introductions series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects-from Islam to Sociology, Politics to Classics, Literary Theory to History, and Archaeology to the Bible. Not simply a textbook of definitions, each volume in this series provides trenchant and provocative – yet always balanced and complete – discussions of the central issues in a given discipline or field. Every Very Short Introduction gives a readable evolution of the subject in question, demonstrating how the subject has developed and how it has influenced society. Eventually, the series will encompass every major academic discipline, offering all students an accessible and abundant reference library. Whatever the area of study that one deems important or appealing, whatever the topic that fascinates the general reader, the Very Short Introductions series has a handy and affordable guide that will likely prove indispensable.

Information about series: http://www.veryshortintroductions.co.uk

A Very Short Introduction to Everything

Advertising - A Very Short Introduction

African History - A Very Short Introduction

American Political Parties and Elections - A Very Short Introduction

Anarchism - A Very Short Introduction

Ancient Egypt - A Very Short Introduction

Ancient Philosophy - A Very Short Introduction

Ancient Warfare - A Very Short Introduction

Anglicanism - A Very Short Introduction

Antisemitism - A Very Short Introduction

Archaeology - A Very Short Introduction

Aristotle - A Very Short Introduction

Atheism - A Very Short Introduction

Autism - A Very Short Introduction

Barthes - A Very Short Indroduction

Bestsellers - A Very Short Introduction

Biblical Archaeology - A Very Short Introduction

British Politics - A Very Short Introduction

Buddhism - A Very Short Introduction

Buddhist Ethics - A Very Short Introduction

Capitalism - A Very Short Introduction

Chaos - A Very Short Introduction

Christian Art - A Very Short Introduction

Christianity - A Very Short Introduction

Citizenship - A Very Short Introduction

Classical Mythology - A Very Short Introduction

Classics - A Very Short Introduction

Clausewitz - A Very Short Introduction

Cold War - A Very Short Introduction

Communism - A Very Short Introduction

Consciousness - A Very Short Introduction

Contemporary Art - A Very Short Introduction

Continental Philosophy - A Very Short Introduction

Cryptography - A Very Short Introduction

Dada and Surrealism - A Very Short Introduction

Democracy - A Very Short Introduction

Descartes - A Very Short Introduction

Design - A Very Short Introduction

Dinosaurs - A Very Short Introduction

Documentary Film - A Very Short Introduction

Dreaming - A Very Short Introduction

Economics - A Very Short Introduction

Egyptian Myth - A Very Short Introduction

Eighteenth-century Britain - A Very Short Introduction

Engels - A Very Short Introduction

Existentialism - A Very Short Introduction

Fascism - A Very Short Introduction

Feminism - A Very Short Introduction

Film Music - A Very Short Introduction

Forensic Psychology - A Very Short Introduction

Fossils - A Very Short Introduction

Foucault - A Very Short Introduction

Free Will - A Very Short Introduction

French Literature - A Very Short Introduction

Fundamentalism - A Very Short Introduction

Game Theory - A Very Short Introduction

Gandhi - A Very Short Introduction

Geography - A Very Short Introduction

Geopolitics - A Very Short Introduction

German Literature - A Very Short Introduction

German Philosophy - A Very Short Introduction

Global Catastrophes - A Very Short Introduction

Global Warming - A Very Short Introduction

Globalization - A Very Short Introduction

Habermas - A Very Short Introduction

Heidegger - A Very Short Introduction

Hieroglyphs - A Very Short Introduction

Hinduism - A Very Short Introduction

History - A Very Short Introduction

HIV AIDS - A Very Short Introduction

Human Evolution - A Very Short Introduction

Human Rights - A Very Short Introduction

Ideology - A Very Short Introduction

Indian Philosophy - A Very Short Introduction

International Migration - A Very Short Introduction

International Relations - A Very Short Introduction

Islamic History - A Very Short Introduction

Journalism - A Very Short Introduction

Judaism - A Very Short Introduction

Kabbalah - A Very Short Introduction

Kafka - A Very Short Introduction

Law - A Very Short Introduction

Lincoln - A Very Short Introduction

Literary Theory - A Very Short Introduction

Logic - A Very Short Introduction

Machiavelli - A Very Short Introduction

Mark Twain - A Very Short Introduction

Marx - A Very Short Introduction

Mathematics - A Very Short Introduction

Medical Ethics - A Very Short Introduction

Medieval Britain - A Very Short Introduction

Memory - A Very Short Introduction

Modern Art - A Very Short Introduction

Modern China - A Very Short Introduction

Modern Ireland - A Very Short Introduction

Modernism - A Very Short Introduction

Mormonism - A Very Short Introduction

Music - A Very Short Introduction

Myth - A Very Short Introduction

Nationalism - A Very Short Introduction

Nelson Mandela - A Very Short Introduction

Newton - A Very Short Introduction

Nietzsche - A Very Short Introduction

Nineteenth-Century Britain - A Very Short Introduction

Northern Ireland - A Very Short Introduction

Nothing - A Very Short Introduction

Nuclear Weapons - A Very Short Introduction

Particle Physics - A Very Short Introduction

Philosophy - A Very Short Introduction

Philosophy of Law - A Very Short Introduction

Philosophy of Science - A Very Short Introduction

Photography - A Very Short Introduction

Plato - A Very Short Introduction

Political Philosophy - A Very Short Introduction

Politics - A Very Short Introduction

Postcolonial Theory - A Critical Introduction

Postmodernism - A Very Short Introduction

Presocratic Philosophy - A Very Short Introduction

Privacy - A Very Short Introduction

Progressivism - A Very Short Introduction

Psychiatry - A Very Short Introduction

Puritanism - A Very Short Introduction

Quantum Theory - A Very Short Introduction

Racism - A Very Short Introduction

Relativity - A Very Short Introduction

Renaissance Art - A Very Short Introduction

Rousseau - A Very Short Introduction

Russell - A Very Short Introduction

Russian Literature - A Very Short Introduction

Schopenhauer - A Very Short Introduction

Science and Religion - A Very Short Introduction

Scotland - A Very Short Introduction_019923079X

Sexuality - A Very Short Introduction

Sikhism - A Very Short Introduction

Social and Cultural Anthropology - A Very Short Introduction

Socialism - A Very Short Introduction

Sociology - A Very Short Introduction

Statistics - A Very Short Introduction

Stuart Britain - A Very Short Introduction

Superconductivity - A Very Short Introduction

Terrorism - A Very Short Introduction

The Apocryphal Gospels - A Very Short Introduction

The Blues - A Very Short Introduction

The Brain - A Very Short Introduction

The Crusades - A Very Short Introduction

The Dead Sea Scrolls - A very short introduction

The Elements - A Very Short Introduction

The European Union - A Very Short Introduction

The First World War - A Very Short Introduction

The French Revolution - A Very Short Introduction

The Great Depression and the New Deal - A Very Short Introduction

The History of Life - A Very Short Introduction

The History of Time - A Very Short Introduction

The Marquis de Sade - A Very Short Introduction

The Meaning of Life - A Very Short Introduction

The New Testament as Literature - A Very Short Introduction

The Norman Conquest - A Very Short Introduction

The Old Testament - A Very Short Introduction

The Quakers - A Very Short Introduction

The Reagan Revolution - A Very Short Introduction

The Reformation - A Very Short Introduction

The Renaissance - A Very Short Introduction

The Roman Empire - A Very Short Introduction

The Russian Revolution - A Very Short Introduction

The Soviet Union - A Very Short Introduction

The Spanish Civil War - A Very Short Introduction

The Tudors - A Very Short Introduction

The United Nations - A Very Short Introduction

The US Congress - A Very Short Introduction

The Vikings - A Very Short Introduction

The World Trade Organization - A Very Short Introduction

Thomas Aquinas - A Very Short Introduction

Tocqueville - A Very Short Introduction

Tragedy - A Very Short Introduction

Twentieth-Century Britain - A Very Short Introduction

What Does It All Mean - A Very Short Introduction to Philosophy

Wittgenstein - A Very Short Introduction

Writing and Script - A Very Short Introduction

Link to folder:

http://www.mediafire.com/?r69007iaav6u8

Posted 11 months ago on 14 Jun 2011 1:40 #
  36. azeemahmed

3 days since I have uploaded the Short Introductions Series, and not even one download. In all of the 178 titles presented here, not even one was deemed worthy of attention by the members of this esteemed forum. No look-in, no curiosity, no thumbing-through....

On the other hand "English Grammar for Dummies" has been downloaded over a hundred times.

What does it tell you about the hunger for knowledge and desire for education in our Youth?

Posted 11 months ago on 17 Jun 2011 19:48 #
  37. Actually most of the ppl are still into habbit of reading books after borrowing it from library,friends and family so they dont rely much reading online stuff...

Anyway thanks for sharing all those links...by the way have you yourself read all the above short introduction series?

Also how can you expect that all the "youth" of Pakistan or even most of them come here on daily basis?...is it fair to be so judgmental?

I'll have a look and search in the links you shared when have time...thanks again...

Posted 11 months ago on 17 Jun 2011 20:23 #
  38. bsobaid

Azeem, youth reads books when it finds time from chatting and porn.

I agree with Rhyme, I am also used to of books rather than online books but so far I have'nt been able to dnlod the book you recommended to read.

Posted 11 months ago on 17 Jun 2011 20:26 #
  39. azeemahmed

@RhyMe:

That was not a judgment, that was a legitimate question. I was making a comparison between the book that was downloaded over a hundred times, and the 178 books that were not touched. I think you missed the point in your haste to criticize.

As for your question, have I read all these books? You encounter me with a double-edged sword because judging by your cynical tone, my answer either way would provide you more fodder for criticism. If I say yes, then I am nerd, and if I say no, then I am hypocrite.

By the way, this is not the only Pakistani forum where I have uploaded these books, and believe me, the response was every bit the same. That made me wonder about the youth of Pakistan, because most of the Internet users are less than 30 years of age. There are some dinosaurs like myself, but they are few and far between.

Yes, I agree that people are still not used to reading books on-screen, but do you know the stats of the books bought and sold in the general market? Do you know how many people go to the libraries regularly excepting students and teachers? Do you know about the dire situation of the publishing industry in Pakistan? Do you know what type of books serve as bread and butter for the publisher of Pakistan? If I made a judgment (which I didn't) then it was based on long and keen observation and personal experience.

@bsobaid:

I don't make recommendations, yaar, I am not your language-arts teacher. I gave you the type of books you asked for without telling me what you usually like to read. I do welcome ideas and suggestions. Thanks for the support.

Posted 11 months ago on 18 Jun 2011 7:33 #
  40. azeemahmed

Well, enough of the rambling, now let me offer you another gift.

Books published by Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc., for children, young adults and adults. 86 Books. Here is the list:

Britannica Illustrated Science Library

BISL 01 - Universe.pdf
    BISL 02 - Rocks and Minerals.pdf
    BISL 03 - Volcanoes and Earthquakes.pdf
    BISL 04 - Weather and Climate.pdf
    BISL 05 - Evolution and Genetics.pdf
    BISL 06 - Plants, Algae and Fungi.pdf
    BISL 07 - Invertebrates.pdf
    BISL 08 - Fish and Amphibians.pdf
    BISL 09 - Reptiles and Dinosaurs.pdf
    BISL 10 - Birds.pdf
    BISL 11 - Mammals.pdf
    BISL 12 - Human Body 01.pdf
    BISL 13 - Human Body 02.pdf
    BISL 14 - Energy and Movement.pdf
    BISL 15 - Technology.pdf
    BISL 16 - Space Exploration.pdf

My First Britannica

MFB-01.pdf
    MFB-02.pdf
    MFB-03.pdf
    MFB-04.pdf
    MFB-05.pdf
    MFB-06.pdf
    MFB-07.pdf
    MFB-08.pdf
    MFB-09.pdf
    MFB-10.pdf
    MFB-11.pdf
    MFB-12.pdf
    MFB-13.pdf

Britannica Learning Library

BLL 01 - Exploring Space.pdf
    BLL 02 - Planet Earth.pdf
    BLL 03 - Science and Nature.pdf
    BLL 04 - Technology and Inventions.pdf
    BLL 05 - The Arts.pdf
    BLL 06 - Wildlife Wonders.pdf
    BLL 07 - Legends, Myths and Folktales.pdf
    BLL 08 - Religions Around the World.pdf
    BLL 09 - Remarkable People in History.pdf
    BLL 10 - Views of Europe.pdf
    BLL 11 - Views of Asia, Australia and New Zealand.pdf
    BLL 12 - Views of Africa.pdf
    BLL 13 - Views of the Americas.pdf
    BLL 14 - Food Plants.pdf
    BLL 15 - Creatures of the Waters.pdf
    BLL 16 - Artists Around the World.pdf
    BLL 17 - Familiar Animals.pdf

Britannica Discovery Library

BDL-01-Me (1593394268).pdf
    BDL-02-Me and You (1593394268).pdf
    BDL-03-People and Places (1593394268).pdf
    BDL-04-The World Around Us (1593394268).pdf
    BDL-05-Animals (1593394268).pdf
    BDL-06-Colors (1593394268).pdf
    BDL-07-Shapes (1593394268).pdf
    BDL-08-Sounds (1593394268).pdf
    BDL-09-Words (1593394268).pdf
    BDL-10-Numbers (1593394268).pdf
    BDL-11-Time (1593394268).pdf
    BDL-12-Just for Fun (1593394268).pdf

Britannica Almanac 2008.pdf
    Britannica Almanac 2009.pdf

Islamic History.pdf
    Learn and Explore - Earth's Changing Environment.pdf
    Mathematics in Context - Algebra Rules.pdf
    Mathematics in Context - Geometry and Measurement.pdf
    Mathematics in Context - Patterns and Figures.pdf
    New Views of the Solar System.pdf
    Political and Social Movements that Changed the Modern World.pdf
    Ready, Set, Research! with Compton’s by Britannica.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to 100 Most Influential Americans.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to 100 Most Influential Philosophers of All Time.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to 100 Most Influential Women That Changed the World.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to 100 Most Influential World Leaders of All Time.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to 100 Most Influential Writers of All Time.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to Climate Change.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to Explorers and Explorations That Changed the World.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to Genetics.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to Inventions That Changed the Modern World.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to Modern China.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to Numbers and Measurements.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to Political and Social Movements that Changed the Modern World.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to the 100 Most Influential Inventors of All Time.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to the 100 Most Influential Scientists of All Time.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to the Brain.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to the Ideas that Made the Modern World.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to the Islamic World.pdf
    The Britannica Guide to Theories and Ideas that Changed the Modern World.pdf
    The Universe - A Historical Survey Of Beliefs, Theories, And Laws.pdf

And here is the link to the folder:

http://www.mediafire.com/?pc02ll88do9ke

Posted 11 months ago on 18 Jun 2011 7:42 #
  41. And if anyone was ever looking for real, meaningful British fiction, may I suggest Michael Frayn's highly evocative "Spies", published by Faber and Faber?

Posted 11 months ago on 18 Jun 2011 9:19 #
  42. @Azeem Ahmed,
    Brother,I highly appreciate your efforts. Education is all that counts. An ever lasting wealth; never to be lost.
    Mirza Ghalib, brother
    You just posted my favourite 'Spies'...sometimes all one ever does in his whole life span!

Posted 11 months ago on 18 Jun 2011 9:47 #
  43. @azeemahmed

Dont take the comments i gave up there too much on your heart as i was just trying to tell you one of the reasons why ppl haven't touched ur links at all to explore them further...and i know very well the condition of publihing industry in Pakistan which is one of the areas where we really need to take some sweeping steps to help increase the readership and develop an ample contact between the books and people...

And thanks for informing us that "Dinosaurs" still exit in our world! :)

Posted 11 months ago on 19 Jun 2011 10:24 #
  44. Mirza Sahib, bravo. If you liked Spies, then you are a person after my own heart. Somehow, I'd always suspected we might have much in common.

Equally bravo to our RhyMe's good heart and sense. We once had a "showdown" you and I, RhyMe, remember that? Whereupon we ended up by being good friends. Expect that is what will happen between you and Azeemahmad as well.

Posted 11 months ago on 19 Jun 2011 11:49 #
  45. azeemahmed

Seems like I will have to stop sharing books so directly. HarperCollins are pissed at me and my files are being removed from my account. Posting links in open forums was bound to bring me to this.

Doesn't matter much to me either way, but it does pain me to think about those who do want to read but don't have the means or resources to access the books such as the ones I posted. I remember how I used to yearn for the good (or intriguing) books I read or heard about. Pakistan is not a good place for the people bitten by the reading-bug.

@RhyMe: On the contrary, I will request you not to take my comments to your heart. I do tend to over-react sometimes but I mean well.

Dinosaurs are a matter of perception. You might find one right in your mirror one day.

Posted 11 months ago on 19 Jun 2011 20:30 #
  46. newobserver

This is most exiting thread for me on this forum and indeed its a treasure thread. I would try to contribute as much I could and here is my contribution for now: http://urdu4u.com/pub/index.u4u. If you love urdu literature, you will find it equally exciting. Some classical books are free to read but mostly the new books can cost you some money as website charges for authors' royalty. Enjoy!

Posted 11 months ago on 30 Jun 2011 21:52 #
  47. bsobaid

Both english and urdu version of moulana's tafseer available. At the very least his translation is worth reading.

http://www.tafheemulquran.org/

Posted 9 months ago on 07 Aug 2011 4:57 #
  48. bsobaid

Now that megaupload is no more, is there a website to download urdu books in pdf...religouos or non.religious.

Urdu4u.com does not have religouos books.

Posted 4 months ago on 20 Jan 2012 0:21 #