PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

pkpolitics book club

(198 posts)
  1. If you have read a good book lately and would like to recommend it to others for reading please list the name of the book and author. Also post a little description about the topic of the book if you can. Thanks!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 11:38 #
  2. Red-Scorpion

Nowadays I'm reading Ahmed Rashid's 'Descent into Chaos', excellent book for those who want to understand what game Army/ISI has played/still playing in Afghanistan !

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 11:41 #
  3. rs
    How do you get books in Karachi? Do you buy them or get them from a library?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:00 #
  4. Red-Scorpion

@lota6177

I wish we had libraries :))
    I usually buy books or sometimes borrow from friends !

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:02 #
  5. amin1924

I started one today "Ibn Taymiyya Against the Greek Logicians"

It is available for free on net.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:04 #
  6. rs
    My local library in NY has four books from Ahmed Rashid and I just reserved them online. The library gets paid by the property tax and if they don’t have a book I want they usually get it for me in 1 week. I have ordered countless custom books and I get to read anything I want on any topic I choose. I can take out a book for 3 weeks with 2 renewals and no limit on number of books I can take out. It would be nice to have this in Karachi. The library in Baghdad had more than one million books when the Mongols burned it. In 2009 we have no access to books in Karachi. A little ironic don’t you think?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:08 #
  7. jjkhan
    Please post a link if you can.
    good site for muslim books.
    http://www.muslimphilosophy.com/
    I am actually going to read Al-Farabi myself The Philosophy of Plato and Aristotle by Al Farabi.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:10 #
  8. linkwheel

i used to buy Books from Urdu Bazar or Ferozsons but not anymore :(

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:13 #
  9. linkwheel
    why not?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:14 #
  10. Red-Scorpion

@lota6177

I remember during 1980s we used to have very small libraries in even shops, which offered books from Ishtiaq Ahmed, Ibn-e-Safi, and digests like Suspense and Jasoosi !
    Unfortunately all are gone, now we have CD shops and Cable networks, which even though are not intrinsically bad but do have negative impacts on kids especially those of middle and lower classes as their parents usually don't try to develop reading habit in them !

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:15 #
  11. rs
    I remember reading Inspector Jamsheed, inspector Kamran and Imran series novels on rental. Good old days!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:16 #
  12. @lota ,
    thats unfortunate but true .
    karachities has very fewer libraries .

Defense library is just for Defense residents .

Ferrere Hall library has been closed for public long ago as it use to has Marriot and US consulate in front of it.

Liaqat library adjacent to PTV karachi office is good for newspaper record and research but there are less books.

others are very few and small libraries .
    we have a reading room in PECHS club but it only provides newspapers and periodicals .no books there .

so we are really short of libraries .

our so called leaders of the city DO NOT believe in libraries .

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:17 #
  13. amin1924

Good thread and good idea lota!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:17 #
  14. Red-Scorpion

@lota6177

Yes those were the books which actually used to develop reading habits !

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:21 #
  15. Red-Scorpion

@Beena

Do you have any idea if alumni can get membership of KU's Central Library (Mehmood Hussain Library ) ?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:23 #
  16. Beenai
    If defense has a library for its resident than maybe other localities can also start a library by pooling money together. Start small and then get big. If the government does not do anything than people can do something about it on the grass root level? Who can be against a library? It should not be so hard to raise money for a library.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:25 #
  17. @Redscorpion,
    NO ..i have asked my professor ...she told me that old students can visit and have some time at reading room (Periodical section )in basement .but can not be a member for getting books issued .

@Lota ,
    first of all ...i forgot to congrats you that u have really initiated a good thread .
    no2.. defense comes under DHA which is army based administration ...they provide every thing and in a very disciplned manner .

for other localities .
    nobody is ready to participate or contribute in the shape of money or books donation.
    they hardly trust each other .

i have told you that i live in PECHS .
    and here ,we have a PECHS club which has a swimming pool ,gym and a reading room with different newspapers .but no books .
    its again only for PECHS residents ...my father got a PECHS member card so we can go there .

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:35 #
  18. is anybody knows where Ghalib library in karachi is ?
    and how much books are available there ?
    have heard about it .

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:37 #
  19. If someone wants to learn from history, try this “Punjab aur Beruni Hamlah Awar [Urdu]”

-See if there are parallels in Ranjeet Singh’s mighty army [and its fate] and PakFauj
    -See what inclusion brings to art, poetry and harmony vs. religious hate and disparity
    -Find out if majority of Pakistani emigrated from Arabia, Persia, and Turkic land or were converts. Refutes the claims of Arains and Awans.
    -Did Punjab fight against the invaders or just negotiated self-survival with them?
    -Did Punjab really help Brits in making their foot hold strong in India?
    -Will history repeat by people of north by looting their fellow Muslims in south(if Taliban took power)

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:55 #
  20. Red-Scorpion

@Beena

It's in Nazimabad near Govt. College for Men, Nazimabad.
    If you travel on Signal Free Corridor-1, it's located near Nazimabad underpass.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:58 #
  21. @Admin,
    good suggestion i will definitely look for it .
    but who is the author ?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 12:59 #
  22. admin discuss
    This sounds like a very interesting book. Do you know who the author is by any chance? I just did a search on the title and did not find anything on the book. This might be a book I have to buy.

پنجاب اور بیرونی حملہ آور - پروفیسر عزیز الدین احمد

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2006/12/061207_punjab_invaders_ra.shtml

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 13:00 #
  23. @Redscorpion,
    thanks ...i will go there and check out the library .

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 13:01 #
  24. sasherwani

Im reading the mystery fiction The Lost Symbol nowadays. Its the third book by Dan Brown after Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons (Robert Langdon series). I would recommend it to all Dan Brown fans!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 13:03 #
  25. nowadays i m reading NOTHING ...but craving for a good book .
    just read Labbak by Mumtaz Mufti for the third time .
    i am repeating my old collection as i have no new book added to my collection.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 13:05 #
  26. gv

Empires of the Indus by Alice Albinia,

very insightful travelogue of a young 26 year old cambridge grad's journey from Karachi to Tibet tracking the source of the indus.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Empires-Indus-Story-Alice-Albinia/dp/0719560055/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1254917071&sr=8-1

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 13:06 #
  27. linkwheel

http://www.empiresoftheindus.co.uk/alice_albinia.html

Libraries In Karachi,Islamabad and Lahore:

http://home.arcor.de/farooq/cities.htm

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 13:34 #
  28. gv linkwheel
    That looks like a remarkable book. I just checked the 90 something pictures on the website link by link wheel and they are just amazing. I find it incredible that how a Cambridge educated white woman got up and took this trip just like that.
    Turns out mumtaz mufti was influenced by Qudrat ullah shahab. Shahab Nama is a must read book by Qudrat ullah Shahab. Try to read it if you havent already.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mumtaz_Mufti
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qudrat_Ullah_Shahab
    sasherwani
    Another good recommendation The Lost Symbol. I have just seen the first movie and I am going to cheat and see the second book as a movie also.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 14:19 #
  29. gv

@lota

it was the best book i read all year..(so far) made me feel really pathetic that a white english woman has seen a lot more of my country than i have and i don't neccessarily mean that from a literal geographic wandering sense..

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 14:55 #
  30. linkwheel

Live as if your were to die tomorrow,Learn as if you were to live forever. :)

P.S. the last novel tht i read was DAJJAL :( and guess wht happend when i finished reading it???

They Made a ENGLISH movie :( "The Omen"

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 17:10 #
  31. Anonymous

Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 17:20 #
  32. These days I am reading " The Hindu"An alternative history by Wendy Doniger.Covering almost entire history of the sub continent starting from IVC.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 19:34 #
  33. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I'm going through technical books, preparing for career certifications.

I started reading Tafseer by Maulana Maududi on weekends, but stopped on book 1 after some time.

My reading list contains;

1) career technical books, manuals, journals, blogs (un-ending list of books)

a) I'm focusing on Microsoft, Linux, Cisco related books etc etc. Needless to say, each has un-ending list of topics, un-ending list of books with/inside them.

b) research on new inventions relating to my career/field of interest, also in other fields.

2) Islamic books e.g., Tafseer, Hadees (un-ending list of books)

a) I believe, going through Tafseer, Hadees books alone will take me at least 10 years. Too many Muslim scholars have written too many good books.

b) I watch Zaid Hamid videos, try to keep updated on them. They have useful information in shape of videos, which allows me to read less, at the same time know MORE.

I like the idea of watching videos i.e., spend less time in the effort, get MORE knowledge.

I never waste time in novels. ALWAYS found them to be worthless, discouraging, disheartening, propaganda, etc etc

c) Also, since I'll be getting married in the coming months, I'm finding books with stories like those my grandmother used to read me as bed time stories when we were little.

d) I'm also concerned about finding books that have Islam's inspirational information in shape of stories, organized in shape of levels. Each level coming later improving on the past level, so I can read them to my future children, build their 'base' or character as it were.

These days I'm wasting too much time on politics. My experience tells me, its a fruitless excersize.

Also, these days, I make it a point to keep UPDATED on local, national as well as international news. I try to keep track of what is happening within and outside Pakistan. My father says its a waste of my time at this point in my life.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 20:04 #
  34. Anonymous

Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance
    Volume 2 - Tafheem-ul-Quran

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 20:24 #
  35. @peterpan773
    IVC has got nothing to do with hindu or hinduism. A hindu has yet to prove by himself and no body else 'who is a hindu'? Till than happy reading.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 20:56 #
  36. sasherwani

Can anyone suggest some really good travelogues? I have always been into mystery and Finance related books. But now I want to read some really nice travel books.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 6:15 #
  37. @semirza sahab

Wendy Doniger is a distinguished Professor of religion, holds two PHD and also has been awarded six more doctorates.
    She has been critisized by many Indian Scholors. Doniger describes the controversy as "being fueled by a fanatical nationalism and Hindutva".
    IVC indeed has no relation with the vedic civilization who came after them.
    IVC who built brick houses had a history but no Words.They left symbols.No one knows their religion.
    Vedic civilisation who came after them made houses of straw,probably composed vedas,left no history.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 6:38 #
  38. Revivalist

Since the demise of Islam at a state level, the Shari'ah has ceased to be the basis of legislation in the Muslim world. What remains of the Shari'ah in the Muslim world is only a few scattered laws that are applied haphazardly. This has erroneously given the impression of the unsuitability of Shar'iah in the 21st century to deal with new issues and to solve modern, day-to-day problems.

This booklet will explore and contrast some of the problems of the 21st century and compare the manner in which secularism and Islam attempt to solve them. This booklet will look at how the Shari'ah texts are capable of dealing with any issue, be they social, economic or international. The book will scrutinise the applicability of the shari'ah in the 21st century through looking at a variety of 21st century issues. A comparison will be made between the Shari'ah approach to tackling issues and the secular methodology and its effects........

http://www.khilafah.com/index.php/multimedia/books/7750-book-islam-in-the-21st-century

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 6:52 #
  39. @peterpan773
    Yes very well said. There are many questions to be answered regarding IVC.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 8:12 #
  40. peterpan773
    That sounds like a wonderful book. It is going on my future reading list also.
    One more book that would be fun to read on history of punjab.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2006/07/060727_adnan_adil_review_ra.shtml

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 12:01 #
  41. Anonymous

Khutbat-e-Bhawalpur by Dr. Hameedullah
    Published by Islamic Book Foundation - New Delhi

Interesting book. Narrates a series of lectures by Dr. Hameedulah of Paris at Bhawalpur University of Punjab.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 14:33 #
  42. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Anyone interested in reading books of Ibn-e-Khuldoon ?

Especially those which tell the reasons for RISE and FALL of nations.

I wonder if someone has a list of books of midevil era Muslim scientists, people ?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 15:23 #
  43. hariskhan
    walikum salam warahmat ullah all
    http://www.muslimphilosophy.com/
    http://www.muslimphilosophy.com/#people
    works of ibn khaldhun are on the list.
    Also if interested in expanding your understanding on the subject read
    Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies is a 1997 book by Jared Diamond

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guns,_Germs,_and_Steel
    http://www.pbs.org/gunsgermssteel/index.html
    http://www.pbs.org/gunsgermssteel/show/index.html
    and why societies collapse by jared dimaond.
    http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/jared_diamond_on_why_societies_collapse.html

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 15:42 #
  44. 'walium salam' should be written as Wa Elaikum Salam but anyway I posted a small collection. I do not see any of them.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Oct 2009 16:07 #
  45. The very original - mbokhari's library

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/mbokharis-library

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Oct 2009 5:35 #
  46. http://pkpolitics.com/documents/

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Oct 2009 6:43 #
  47. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Book Title: Jerusalem In The Qur'an
    Author: Imran N. Hosein

Pages: 143
    Format: Adobe PDF
    Size: 933 KB

URL: Source: Rapidshare: http://rs428.rapidshare.com/files/144003654/Jerusalem_In_The_Qur-an.rar

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Nov 2009 10:00 #
  48. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Does anyone have the book, or its online version;

Merchants of Venace by Shakespeare ?

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Nov 2009 12:10 #
  49. gv

@haris

here you go....

its a play and its called Merchant of Venice

http://shakespeare.mit.edu/merchant/full.html

i presume this request is due to your deep rooted passion for 16th century english literature????

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Nov 2009 14:21 #