Discuss » Current Issues

Najam Sethi

(28 posts)
  1. Only one anchor person is defending Dogar's court and that is Najim Sethi. he always says
    'I'm not part of any conspircy and my analyses are base on facts and honesty'.
    but he support PPP and Dogar's court openly.
    ------
    an award winning Pakistani journalist, editor, and media personality, is the editor-in-chief of The Friday Times, a Lahore based political weekly, and previously the editor of Daily Times and Daily Aajkal newspapers. He has been awarded the 2009 Golden Pen of Freedom, the annual press freedom prize of the World Association of Newspapers.[1]

Sethi and his publications have been in conflict with Pakistani governments on several occasions. In May 1999 he was imprisoned for one month without trial and released after an international outcry. Sethi had hoped that Musharraf would reform state and society as pledged and became critical when he didn't

Sethi served in President Farooq Leghari's interim cabinet as Adviser on Political Affairs and Accountability after the fall of Benazir Bhutto's second government.

His wife jugno Mohsin is a first cousin of syeda abida Hussain and syed Fakhir Imam.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Najam_Sethi

I wonder why only Shah's , Bukhari's and Syed's are defending PPP and Dogarr's court?

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Feb 2010 15:43 #
  2. Salam

he is part of propaganda machine that came into existence after 9/11 to further foreign agenda in pakistan-

salman taseer & co propaganda house

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Feb 2010 15:45 #
  3. telengr

Najam Sethi, is against PML(n). I am not very sure, about his views towards Imran Khan though!. Najam Sethi was arrested by NS, and was treated well by Mush (Mush was asked by NS to arrest Najam Sethi), so it might be a reason he has a softcorner for Mush. His views are ultra-libral, which are not in accordance with the majority of pakistani awam! Since most of the anchors/columnists are not neutral so is he. Lately I have felt Haroon Rasheed has a strong tilt towards PTI. Atta-ul-haq qasimy is pro- Nawaz. I found Hassan Nisar to have lately developed a fancy for MQM.Dr Safdar Mehmood pro-nawaz too. One writer I feel is quite unbiased is Salim Safi. Its just my feeling, i might be wrong too :-)

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Feb 2010 16:17 #
  4. Anonymous

Even Hamid Mir is some what PMLN and sometimes towards MQM as well so every anchor has favoritism in his views and even Salim Safi also wrote an artical in favor of MQM in jang "welcome MQM welcome" (dont know exact name but I read that artical) now for me only good anchor is Talat Hussain...

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Feb 2010 18:50 #
  5. Anwer Kamal

So anchor means a man who make propaganda only . A real anchor could be a man who can say the truth and criticize every one who is at fault. We want to listen only what we like.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Feb 2010 21:09 #
  6. zingaro

I think that all channels shoult have politicians on their hit list and always work hard to expose the mistakes of these politicians. That will work best to find the good people and get rid of corrupts.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Feb 2010 21:12 #
  7. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Najam Sethi is AHO! person.

(1) Can you find sincerity in political talk shows ?

(2) Are these people talking about the concerns of the common man, the concerns of this nation, or are they just spending time, getting no constructive output out of it ?

NO!. Its BS!

(3) Since March, 2009, I'v been watching these talk shows. Some of them have been good. But most have been a waste. Nearly a complete year has passed. What have Pakistani people gained from these talk shows ?

(4) Doesn't EVERY Pakistani already know the people at the top are the most corrupt people in this nation ? So, what do these talk shows end up giving the people of this nation ?

They call in people, who avoid answering questions that need to be answered. Most of the times talk show hosts won't ask the questions, that need to be asked.

We have people in our nation, those who want to be secular, they! avoid answering critical questions, in the same way.

What's the use of talk shows when the questions that need to be answered are either not being asked or not being addressed by those who are invited, be them responsible or otherwise ?

I'v said it many times before, we need talk shows, where representatives of political parties are called in, a list of issues is discussed, each political party's representative is given a chance to provide a roadmap of how they would tackle the current situation within our nation.

We are 180 million people in this nation. If we are ALL dumb, deaf, and infested with greed, why should we blame others for it ?

We, the Pakistani people are not focusing on the right things, on the right people. WE! are making mistakes. WE! need to correct ourselves.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Feb 2010 21:57 #
  8. khanseena1

Najam Sethi is by far the best anchor I have seen - No drama, no shouting and clear thoughts.....

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Feb 2010 0:54 #
  9. @Khanseena ,
    agar tum lal bichoo ho tu tum yahi kaho gay .
    agar nahin ho tu phir batao.
    Najam sethi neaj tak kiya karnama anjam diya hay?

as long as my view on Najam Sethi is concerned.
    he is pro PPP and pro every Govt actually .
    Najam ,Salman,Talat Hussain are PPP fan club.
    Harron Rasheed and Shrieen Mazari is PTI.
    Kashif Abbasi and Javed Chudhri are PMLN fans ...
    Hamid Mir is anti Govt any Govt whatever is it.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Feb 2010 5:56 #
  10. Salam

right telengr, sethi is ultra-liberal whose views run contrary to the views of people of pakistan

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Feb 2010 6:37 #
  11. This definition looks pretty accurate.
    American/pro American idiots with incredibly liberal ideas who push for extreme left-wing reforms and policies. Usually intolerant of those who disagree with them.
    Ultra-liberals usually consist of hippies, punk-rockers, communists, and the Hollywood crowd. They usually follow leaders such as Michael Moore and "Hanoi Jane" Fonda.
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=ultra-liberal

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Feb 2010 15:33 #
  12. I dunno by Sethi's support of Dogar.
    Sethi and Moeed Pirzada are the only two international caliber media men who try to get to the bottom of issue.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Feb 2010 17:55 #
  13. Anwer Kamal

What I said before, Everyone likes o listen his own views. We don't like truth when it is against us.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Feb 2010 22:57 #
  14. telengr

@ members

someone can kindly start a topic on other columnists too. would be nice to thrash them a bit ;-) like they do all the time. Lets start with Dr. Safdar or Irfan Siddiqui etc :-)

Posted 1 year ago on 21 Feb 2010 5:51 #
  15. LiberalKarachi

if Najam Sethi says tomorrow that he supports imran khan, all those PTI-ers criticizing him will call him the most honest and competent journalist of Pak - like they do with haroon rashid now lol.

I personally like NS, not because I agree with his political tilt, but because i think he is rational emotion-less and blunt.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Mar 2010 23:21 #
  16. Salam

any person can correct himself and if he/she does then shouldn't one accept that? but i don't see such coming from the likes of sethi because of their persistence adherence to foreign defined liberal values-

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2010 2:51 #
  17. He belongs to loota shah family
    Najimn Sethi's wife Jugno Mohsan is first cousin of Syeda Abida Hussain and Syed Fakhir Imam. thats why he is supporting PPP.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2010 17:41 #
  18. Dear iamnotsowise

Where did you get this that Jugno Mohsen is first cousin of Abida H and Fakhir Imam.

Both Najam Sethi and Jugno Mohsen are christians and are not related to Abida H and FI.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2010 17:52 #
  19. wikipedia is a reliable source of information
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jugnu_Mohsin

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2010 17:58 #
  20. Dear iamsowise

May be my source of information is wrong. I apologise for my mistake

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2010 18:06 #
  21. aristotle

Najam Sethi ki beti Nargis Sethi PM sect me eik aham uhday par faiz hen aur un k letterhead par logo ko nuakari jari ki jarahai hay... ab agar Najam sethi ppp ki madah sari na karey tu kia karey? kisi aur jamaat ne un ko ye option dia hay kia?:)

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2010 3:38 #
  22. Najam Sethi bilkul achay hain .kionkay wohh hukumat ki tareef kartay hain,iss liye kaafi different se lagtay hain.
    bikaoo maal hay ,sub maal milay ga ...he he he

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2010 4:41 #
  23. @Choosy

Imran khan se b achay hain

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2010 4:42 #
  24. @sociopath,
    haan ;aap kehtay hain tu sahi kehtay hon gay baray bhai sahib ...:):):)

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2010 4:44 #
  25. @ aristotle
    'Najam Sethi ki beti Nargis Sethi PM sect me eik aham uhday par faiz hen aur un k letterhead par logo ko nuakari jari ki jarahai hay'

yea to bohat bara INKASHAAF hay,
    What is your source of information because people dont beleive on rumers.

@FJ

No prob, Kal ye na kah daina k Yousaf Raza Gilani Budhist hay.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2010 15:28 #
  26. aristotle

27. Najam Seti waiasy bhi Govt ki khushamad kay alwa kuch nahin kar saktay wohh aik naa-kaam sahafi jo hoyee .
    chahaiye unki beti ko koi position milay na milay .

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 5:16 #
  28. @ aristotle

You are rite, Now we know why sethi support PPP.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 16:45 #