Discuss » Suggestions & Help

Migel9 banned for a week for starting a racist topic - warning to others

(24 posts)
  1. Apparently none of moderators was active or vigilant during the life of this thread. I will not go into the detail of already deleted thread.

Rule number 2 of this site: No attacks on other members.
    Rule number 1: You can criticize or appreciate any public figure, a political party or an institution meant for common good but absolutely no racist and ethnic hate comments.

We applaud all those members who took a strong position against the malicious point of views in the thread.

- Admin

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2010 2:15 #
  2. Raavi

That thread was a big irritation.

Thanks for taking action!

We love all Pakistanis, be they from any ethnicity or religion.

No body is more Pakistani than others. All ARE equal.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2010 2:23 #
  3. Pakistan is passing through a phase where nation needs a strong spirit of Unity and Cordiality, even more than what was exercised in 1946-47.
    Wisdom lies in winning over the difference of opinion through tolerance, action and love.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2010 2:51 #
  4. @admin
    Two respected members of this site netenger and lalbichoo are also banned or unable to log on this site. Can you please check if this is a discipline problem or a technical problem? Thanking you in anticipation

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2010 3:06 #
  5. Dear Admin.
    I am not in a position to object upon your decision to punish a member by putting a ban.

As an old member at the Forum, I exercise this privilege to make my suggestion.

The following steps could be more effective to improve a situation and improve the credibility of the Forum.
    1. Advice
    2. Reminder
    3. First Warning
    4. Second Warning
    5. Final action could be taken to delete the posting of a habitual trouble maker.

No one should be banned.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2010 3:25 #
  6. @Admin
    Rules 1 and 2 are excellent, more than enough to curb this trend.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2010 3:54 #
  7. Salam

admin

your actions are simple, logical and straightforward

unfortunately when mods do the same then some members start running campaign against them through covert and overt channels-

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2010 4:29 #
  8. @Admin ,
    may be at that point ,there was night time in Pakistan .
    otherwise ,i would have been logged in .

anyways ;i think ,u took a very right step .
    we should make sure that rules are being followed .

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2010 4:32 #
  9. @Admin
    Some old members are active in stoking fires with their sugar coated comments. Their indirect remarks including hounding of other members as group formations should also be discouraged. They are doing this actively against mods.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2010 4:42 #
  10. bhai Admin ,
    aap ne buhat acha kiya ;har racist ki kuch saza honi chahhiye .

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2010 4:46 #
  11. zia m

Lately some membbers are missing from "Discuss" Forum.We need a list of banned members indicating when to expect them back.
    Pakistan is notorious for missing persons.Pkpolitics should not follow her footsteps.
    Thanks.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 14:04 #
  12. Dear Admin.
    Sir,

No doubt, the moderators at the Forum are performing a good job according to the best of their ability.

Could I ask a question to modify my impression?

1. Did the ban, rustication and expulsion of some regular members, helped to make the standard of discussion improved, refined and constructive?

2. Did the exercise of this authority helped to change the mind set of the members?

Might be little bit wrong, but I feel that some punishments were based upon personal liking and disliking, what is not an ideal art of moderation.

(I wish my post is not Off Topic.)

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 14:41 #
  13. choosy bhai
    aap ne buhat acha kiya ;har racist ki kuch saza honi chahhiye .
    Aap nai bilkul sahi kha sahb

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 14:50 #
  14. Qalma'go

I fully trust admin and his moderators who are doing a wonderful job.
    js
    how many times you have to repeat same old rants of yours against administration and moderators.

Have some air man. Lay back and relax.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 14:54 #
  15. The honorable member failed to understand the spirit of my post.
    A Question should not be translated and twisted towards a negative pre-supposed notion.

Never, Never, Never I said anything against the Administration or Moderators but exercised my input for the improvement of the Forum according to my capacity.

I hope this objective should not be discouraged.

Better I would quit the Forum, the day I feel uncomfortable with the Administration.

Have a nice day.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 15:08 #
  16. Qalma'go

We know pkpolitics is the most liberal forum. Facts remain facts.
    Have a nice day.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 15:12 #
  17. tamaazkhan

Moderators,

Is questioning a members faith acceptable means of discourse on this forum?

I amogst other have been repeatedly asked to affirm my faith in Islam and I find that most disrespectful and patronizing.

Shouldn't there be a warning for those who malign memeber's faith as a form of argument or reasoning?

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 15:26 #
  18. Asking a member's faith through a decent polite question would bring no harm if one is ready to disclose his/her faith as this is strictly a personal matter.

Asking a member's faith directly or asking to affirm one's faith is rude and lacks manners. Not favoured.

However members do attempt to figure out one's faith though his comments and may come up with a question.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 15:35 #
  19. tamaazkhan

I do not have an issue with politely asking someones faith or trying to ascertain during the course of a discussion.

But I do have an issue with particiapants unilateraly declaring others NON-muslim because of their views, or repeatedly asking a reaffirmation of faith as a ploy during an argument.

What are the forums rules on such activities?

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 15:45 #
  20. Let it be on record: Unilaterally declaring others a NON-Muslim based on their views is wrong and I am against it, even if one being declared a NON-Muslim is actually a non Muslim.
    This type of behavior goes against moral principles, against forum ethics.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 15:50 #
  21. tamaazkhan

Well...my only issue is people bent on labeling those who profess to be Muslims as non-Muslims just becuase they do not agree with their views.

But, Thanks!

I hope this will lead to civil discourse amongst the participants in the forum (and inshallah Pakistani society).

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 15:55 #
  22. InshaAllah and Aameen.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 15:58 #
  23. SufiSoul

The only golden rule is,,

JUST EXPLAIN YOUR POINT OF VIEW BASED ON SOUND KNOWLEDGE..
    WHEN WE WILL GET ABLE TO UNDERSTAND THE DAMAGE OF STRONG
    LOGICAL ANSWERS.IT WILL PUSH US ON THE WAY OF GETTING MORE AND MORE KNOWLEDGE BEFORE DISCUSSION....

Thanx

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 17:06 #
  24. LiberalKarachi

good step...thanks u

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 18:56 #