Discuss » Current Issues

Go suicide bomb in other provinces: SS to Taliban!

(49 posts)
  1. skunk

Today Khadim e aala Punjab said while addressing a gathering of religious clerics that since Punjab government and their party do not agree with the policies of others/foreigners ie the federal government and US, Taliban should not commit acts of terrorism in Punjab.

I was flabbergasted by the statement, he did not ask taliban to stop terrorism just requested them to stop doing it in Punjab, he did not condemn them and said that we are not against you. What the hell was he thinking?

He is asking Taliban to blow themselves up in the other three provinces?
    What does he mean he and his party is not against them, he actually said that they are on the same side, what side is he talking about, when latest polls show that only 5 percent people in Punjab support Taliban?
    He should recant his statement and apologize to people of Pakistan, especially people of Punjab, or a case should be booked against him for supporting terrorists.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Mar 2010 19:26 #
  2. zia m

He is also on their hit list, too scared to denounce them.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Mar 2010 19:31 #
  3. SS said PML-N had refused to accept the external dictation and stood strong before Musharraf.

“If this is the stance of Taliban, then they should not carry out terrorism in Punjab,”

http://geo.tv/3-14-2010/61056.htm

What I understand from this is, SS said if taliban are doing these blasts because they think the government of Pakistan is a mere stooge of the west, then why are they doing blasts in Punjab, as PMLN refused to accept external dictation. So it means the motive behind these blasts is something else and not merely revenge.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Mar 2010 19:36 #
  4. skunk

@umer, i wish it were so but he was actually apolegetic towards Taliban, he was requesting them rather than scolding them. I wish he had half the power or condemnation in his voice that he has in his voice while talking against Zardari but there was no condemnation, none whatsoever

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Mar 2010 20:25 #
  5. I already have said that he is "Punjabi" Leader of Punjab and not a national leader!
    He didn't request when there were bombs going off in Pukhtoonkhwa, Sindh but obviously he cares about his kind!

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Mar 2010 20:28 #
  6. @ skunk

what I mentioned before is, what I've understood from the article, and as I haven't actually watched his speech, so can't really tell if he was being apologetic towards taliban or not.

"The chief minister said that Punjab was being punished for its anti-Musharraf policies. He said that the history would not forgive religious leaders if they did not find a way to counter terrorism."

But this doesn't show that he was apologetic towards taliban, anyway, if you've perceived his comments correctly, then I'm sure the media will create a hype over it and he might even have to apologize, but I think it is just a misunderstanding of words.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Mar 2010 20:42 #
  7. Well! at least this misunderstanding has provided an excuse for some people to vent their racist anger. And I hope they feel good now.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Mar 2010 20:44 #
  8. aftab

Whether people get killed in Punjab or any other province its the same they are all Pakistanis.

Is it also not an admission that the government in Punjab has failed to save the lives of the common man from terrorist acts.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Mar 2010 20:55 #
  9. UMER,
    TUmharey gangay shareef nay tu aj tuk peshawar,Swat ya FATA may Pashtuns kay marney pur aik baar bhee Taaliban say koyee request nahee kee.. Kayoun?
    Why has he failed to visit Pukhtoonkhwa or even Karachi after killing of Hundreds of innocent Pakistani. If you think that, my calling of a punjabi mindset leader as a punjabi leader and not a NATIONAL leader then, Yes.. I am RACIST!
    Nawaz Ganga is a Punjabi leader who will very soon be only a Raiwand leader, just like Choudhry;s are limited to Gujrat!

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Mar 2010 21:05 #
  10. Yes Aftab...
    You are absolutely rite that "Whether people get killed in Punjab or any other province its the same they are all Pakistanis" BUT why a Pakistani killed in Karachi or Peshawar or FATA is treated like S H I T ?
    Why they are regarded as " Collateral damage"?

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Mar 2010 21:08 #
  11. aftab

@ Khan_Sahib

Its because the ruling elite in Punjab have a colonial mindset and they think that people from other provinces are second rate.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Mar 2010 21:32 #
  12. aftab

Media has also failed the people in smaller provinces and has not projected the true suffering of the people in these areas as in Pukhtoonkhwa they is virtually a bomb attack everyday if not several attacks per day but its not highlighted or made a big deal of like it is in Punjab, sad but true.

FATA is an even a bigger tragedy because the Military has sealed it of completely so no independent reports of what's going on but from what i have read it is a grim situation.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Mar 2010 21:59 #
  13. expakistani

Taliban should focus on ruling elite of pakistan not poor awam...
    not many of us will care if they kill someone like BB SS NS AZ FR type poepl...

but unfortunately target is gharb awam

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 4:38 #
  14. zalaan

@expakistani

Thats the new propaganda Pro Taliban Trying to spread ,They want Talibans a accepted group .

What Shahbas Shareef is Trying to say is the actual policy of Army and establishment ,They always tried to keep Punjab peacful but some how it is going against them "Makafaat -e- Amal " .Jo dosray kay liyeh gerha khodta hay khud ussi main girta hay "

Shahbaz Shareef was actully saying :

Talibanon tum punjab na aoo ,Ham mansura , GHQ ,ISI ,Mureeed kay main baith ker tum ko control kerain gay ,per tum punjab na aoo

We punjabi will accept your Shariat in Sawat but please do not impose ur shariat on us .

We will support u in Kashimir but not in lahore

Talibanon you can go to Karachi and blast bommbs and we will blame MQM don't worry

Taliban , You can blow schools in paktoonkhaw but we want "Perha Likha Punjab " Please do not come to Punjab .

Talibanon ,Mansura will support you but do not take over Mansura

Please Taliban ,We are your supporters any where ,do what ever you want to do ,we will support you in the media ,Ansar abbasi will support you ,Imran khan ,Munawer hasan will support you but please please stay away from Punjab
    Punjab is the Pakistan

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 4:52 #
  15. expakistani

@zalaan
    Bhai i think punjab is under attack bcz of P Army... ager P Army pak Army hoti to na Banagal jata nay balochistan main fasad hota...

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 5:09 #
  16. its the same for me if a punjabi,makrani or any pakistani dies!... they are all like my brothers as i am a patriot... i wud hav gone nuts if this statement came from CM sindh ( as i reside in sindh) but its upto the punjabis to react on this statement .... btw does this authorise me to say "MIAN TALIBAN"
    LOL just kidding no offence meant..

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 6:58 #
  17. runaway

saray PML-N walay choo mantar ho gaey.

PML is Punjab Muslim League.

Khadim e Aala aesi khidmat kartay rehay tau thoray din baad it will be LML - Lahore Muslim League

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 13:24 #
  18. runaway

If Altaf Hussein or Zardari had said the same thing..this would all over news and headline on PKP

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 13:25 #
  19. tamaazkhan

I think the election proved the PML-N is Punjab Muslim League N.

Even MQM got votes in AJK and Baltistan.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 14:09 #
  20. Anonymous

He is talking as a Punjab CM not as a PMLN member but still his words are not only inappropriate but also condemned because he should understand that Taliban are enemies of the country and Punjab is more then 50% of the country and if Punjab is in bad hands then whole Pakistan is in bad hands....and his statement is speaking itself that Punjab is really on the bad hands and that is why Pakistan is suffering....

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 15:11 #
  21. yahya

This sort of statement by SS reeks of Abduallh bin Abbi type behaviour that when its time to stand up to enemy, be a hyp***** and shy away.

N League is only interested in votes from taliban affiliated terrorist banned groups.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 15:12 #
  22. Bottom Line.
    The appeal to Taliban is an indication that finally it has been acknowledged, accepted and endorsed that Taliban are responsible for terrorism.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 15:24 #
  23. Qalma'go

What a mindset you all have. Just look at your comments. Each and every one of you is spewing hate. No national spirit but provincialism. This is definitely being taken advantage of Pakistanis.

Pakistanis are being killed in Pakhtoonkhwa, in Baluchistan, In Sindh and in Punjab....every where.

Some are being killed by the army itself. Some by the Taliban while taking advantage of this chaos some other elements are claiming their victims too.....who are the victims. They are Pakistanis for God's sake.

Denounce all parties. PMLs, ANP, MQM, PPPs, JI, JUI, TI. Work forward as Pakistanis and search for a leader not from the above. You sure will find someone suitable. Support him right from this forum as a start, not just stay occupied with infighting.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 15:29 #
  24. Wahid Doyum

So, SS is saying taliban are responsible, but Munawar is saying that Blackwater is responsible. ISI should better coordinate statements from their assets.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 15:37 #
  25. skunk

It is indeed sad that some people are giving this a racist color. For the record, latest surveys show that 95% of people in Punjab are against Taliban if not against having war with them. People of Punjab will duly take note of this coziness with the Taliban and vote these clean shaven Taliban out.

@ naseem: quit the all is bad mantra, what army rule has so carefully put in place will take time to cure. In a short period of two years the inter province racism is at its lowest in the decade. What else do you want? Be realistic or please do not bother contributing.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 15:40 #
  26. PML-N is at odds just like the army, Both have pro Taliban stance. Army has to fight Taliban but would never make them so weak not to be able to call upon them. PML-N too remonstrates Taliban but never too much to divert from pro-mullah line.

It is the same rhetoric that US plays with Israel on housing development on Palestinian land, do it but don't overdo it to hamper the peace process.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 15:40 #
  27. skunk

What he said was,

“Gen Musharraf planned a bloodbath of innocent Muslims at the behest of others only to prolong his rule, but we in the PML-N opposed his policies and rejected dictation from abroad and if the Taliban are also fighting for the same cause then they should not carry out acts of terror in Punjab (where the PML-N is ruling),”

What anyone else with pro-Taliban sympathy would have said was,

that people of Pakistan (as he wrongly thinks) are against the policies of the government and Taliban should not attack the innocent,

Anyone against Taliban would have said,

We are gonna fight you lest you mend your ways

But his speech did not indicate the remotest condemnation of taliban.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 15:47 #
  28. azeem20

after SS statement i feel sorry why i voted for Saad Rafique in my halqa, who is PML N candidate. God knows why SS is confused as some idiots, who still give some justifications to taliban barbarism. SS should go to FATA and SWAT and see what taliban had done harm to these beautiful areas, he should meet the women from SWAT who once gave gold ornaments to Fazal ullah and now are ashamed of thier acts. SS should ask the IDPs who are now celebrating defeat in FATA by army. if he think that suicide attacks in pakistan except punjab, is going to win him next elections and help him become PM next time. he is living in fool paradise.
    and look at the venue, where he said this. he should have learnt that Mufti naeemi was martyred by these bastards at the same place where he made appeal from taliban. so sorry for SS.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 16:13 #
  29. @JS
    If the appeal was to blackwater, would that make them the guilty party as well? (Sarcastic Smile :-)

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 16:15 #
  30. واتوار کو لاہور میں جامعہ نعیمیہ میں ایک سیمینار سے خطاب کرتے ہوئے شہباز شریف نے کہا کہ اگر طالبان کا یہ نکتہ نظر یا موقف ہے کہ وہ اغیار کے پاکستان پر تسلط اور ڈکٹیشن کے خلاف ہیں تو پھر انہیں پنجاب میں ایسی حرکتیں نہیں کرنی چاہئیں۔

ايسی حرکتيں کرنے کے ليے باقی تينوں صوبيں جو ہيں، آپ جتنے بندے مارديں ہميں کوئ اعتراض نہيں؛ اعتراض تو ہم نے کبھی بھی نہيں کيا ساری قوم گواہ ہے آج تک ہم نے کبھی کسی قتل و غارت کی مذمت نہيں کی (اللہ نہ کرے جو ہم سے يہ گستاخی سرزد ہو کبھي) ہم تو جی آپ کے سب سے بڑے شپورٹر ہيں جي، يہ عمران خان تو جی ويسے ہي نام ہے جی اصل ميں تو آپ کے بندے ہم ہيں جی يہ آپ سے بہتر کون جانتا ہے
    اوراعتراض تو خير لاہور پر بھی نہ ہوتا (او جی سارا جنوبی پنجاب تو پہلے ہی آپ کے قدموں ميں وار چکے ہيں) اگر يہاں پر آپ کے خادم اعلے کی حکومت نہ ہو تي، اگر آپ ہماری عرض پر غور فرمائيںگے تو يہ ہم پر آپ کا احسان عظيم ہوگا اس طرح اغيار کو ہم پر اعتراض کا موقع نہيں ملے گاـ

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 16:59 #
  31. Why is Shebaz Sharif doing tarley mintain of the terrorist's instead of arresting them?

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 17:09 #
  32. LOL@DILDAR
    u SAID IT ALL!

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 17:15 #
  33. skunk

@ dildar: perfect!

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 19:37 #
  34. skunk

dupatta for Shahbaz Sharif, women MPAs of Pakhtunkhwa assembly offer to protect SS from terrorist! Aur maafi maangnay ke bajaye baighairat khadim e aala safai pesh ker raha hai. Kiyani ka ghussa door kerne ke bajaye Punjab aur Pakistan ki awam ka ghussa dur kere!

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 19:39 #
  35. پنجاب کی عوام کو تو وہ پروٹیکٹ کر رہا ہے ان کا کیا غصّہ -انھیں کبھی دو روپے کی روٹی دیتا ہے کبھی طالبان کوپنجاب پرحملہ کرنے سے باز رہنے کو کہتا ہے - اصل غصّہ توغیر پنجابی پاکستانوں کا ہے جن کی زندگیوں کواس نے حقیر سمجھا

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 21:05 #
  36. d0ct0r

Like Yahya said earlier he was talking as CM Punjab,after the events of that day's multiple bombings and nerve wrecking media frenzy which created more panic,havoc and terrorized every one amid fake rumours of blasts i think his reaction was quite natural. He was pondering what made these terrorists hit lahore. When body count start rising then people at the helm of affair do have to think and take bitter pill.

During 1995 when MQM had created havoc and was brutally butchering dozens of poor Karachiites daily then too PPP govt of that time appealed and called upon MQM to end the bloodshed. Talks(muzakraat) were initiated,PPP's side was headed by Prof N.D Khan and MQM's side represented by Ajmal Dehlvi.

Similarly now in Karachi a serious bloodshed is waiting to happen in coming days. Eventually when the body count will rise then talks will be initiated between the bosses who claim to own this city. Poor public can't be left like orphans(lawaris),people at the top do have to take the initiative and resolve the mess.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 22:09 #
  37. d0ct0r

@barackosama Our Sindh's minister for food Nadir Magsi have clearly rejected the idea of subsidized or cheap roti on the pattern of Punjab. He says its not our cup of tea.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 22:18 #
  38. tamaazkhan

@Doctor
    Where did MQM come from here?
    Doctor Sahib are you suffering from paranoia?
    When the Taliban are exploding near childrens' school - you scream MQM?

I think you are a patient not a doctor.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 22:31 #
  39. Anonymous

@d0ct0r

First of all you may be right about the mantle pressure on his head regarding Taliban's threat as he got a province to manage so his responsibility is very huge but when you drag MQM in to this and in a fake story your whole post become ruined as every one in Pakistan knows about extra judicial killings in Karachi especially of MQM members by PPP Govt. and they were even kicked out of Govt. by then president Laghari for this reason among other reasons as well...

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 22:34 #
  40. runaway

@doct0r

Do you even do anything without dragging MQM

I am sure if there is more salt in your curry ..you will somehow blame it on MQM.

Grow up.. There are plenty of threads where you can do your MQM bashing

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 22:40 #
  41. d0ct0r

@yahya87 Fake story? Are you saying that all those dozens of Karachiites killed during those years are nothing but figment of my imagination? and were there no Talks(muzakraat) held between ppp and MQM in which PPP's side was headed by Prof N.D Khan and MQM's side represented by Ajmal Dehlvi?

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 22:40 #
  42. Anonymous

""was brutally butchering dozens of poor Karachiites daily then too PPP govt of that time appealed and called upon MQM to end the bloodshed. ""

Do you think these sentence is true in 90s as PPP was involved in extra judicial killing of Karachiite and yet you are saying that they want to fix the situation....What should I call it????

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Mar 2010 22:45 #
  43. skunk

SS has clarified that he is against terrorists, PM Gilani and CM Punjab in a joint statement vowed to fight terrorism. What he conveniently did not answer was that whether he thinks that taliban are terrorists or not? He does not think Taliban to be terrorists or would have condemned them by now.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Mar 2010 19:03 #
  44. LiberalKarachi

i liked how he tried to actually "reason" with Taliban, as if they can be engaged on an intellectual level

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Mar 2010 20:32 #
  45. ppl the basic thing is that shabazs statement was an attempt to disrupt harmont between the provinces e statement cannot be defended **** wat may

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2010 9:00 #
  46. Wahid Doyum

SS should invite back all the ISI agents into Punjab so they can leave us alone in peace.

It is better to deal with a straight talking opponent (America) then a duplications one (Punjab).

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2010 19:58 #
  47. His statement was a prime example of stupidity!

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2010 20:01 #
  48. tamaazkhan

@Patriot

I agree, more than that it was an insight into how politicans think that most Pakistani's are stupid themselves and cannot distinguish base populism from important electoral issues.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2010 20:09 #
  49. Anonymous

Its not easy to play a role of big brother because no matter what happens blame came on big brother first and same is the situation of Punjab regarding current Taliban crisis....

Sindh is very vocal against Taliban...Baluchistan have nothing to say as they got their own sets of problem which are also very serious like Taliban problem...NWFP/Pakhtunkwa/ Abasin/Afghania etc are playing front line role in all this crisis....Now left Punjab playing neutral role for many reason...

The reason for Punjab to play neutral role is if in case they start supporting Army openly and Taliban win(Allah na karay) then first one to be blamed for this mess would be Punjab and if they start supporting Taliban openly and Taliban lost then they would be blamed for that as well....so strategy is stay with the winning side as in future their tail could be saved from one way or the other but one thing is also very important to consider is that If Punjab came out to support any of those two sides then that side have much better chances of winning so both sides are working to get Punjab in their side and this what makes Punjab a hot target of terrorists...

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 13:17 #