GA BHUTTO
Discuss » Political Parties
GA BHUTTO- PPP
(34 posts)-
Posted 2 years ago on 19 Mar 2009 19:56 #
Ijay.. Is this a topic u wanna discuss as I can't understand the reason of this posting?
Posted 2 years ago on 19 Mar 2009 20:27 # -
yes how to revive PPP
Posted 2 years ago on 19 Mar 2009 20:34 # -
kabhii yuu.N bhii to ho
suunii har ma.nzil ho
ko_ii na mere saath ho
aur tum aaosounds like
kabhii yuu.N bhii to ho
Bhuttos koi acha kaam ker ayeenPosted 2 years ago on 19 Mar 2009 20:36 # -
There are DESI (real) bhuttos and there are broiler Bhuttos (i mean bhutto zardari) and the time will tell how zardari bhuttos will play their role
Posted 2 years ago on 19 Mar 2009 21:29 # -
Have fun:
Jiye Bhutto!
Posted 2 years ago on 19 Mar 2009 22:54 # -
PPP has become more of a religious cult than political party. Bhuttos can do no wrong. Whatever thay say is more important for jiyalas than Quran and Hadith.
Just like some religious cults have hereditary imams, PPP has hereditary leaders.
That is why even 70 year old PPP leaders talk reverently about their "leader" Bilawal Bhutto-zardari the 18 year old college kid who has not yet done anything worthwhile in life.
Posted 2 years ago on 20 Mar 2009 0:15 # -
Bhuttos survival seems difficult .
there are only few very few options left for the REAL BHUTTOISM to survive with its charismatic approach.1. Bhuttos sensible followers like Aitzaz Ahsan,Raza Rabbani,
Naheed Khan,Safdar Abbasi,Nafees Siddiqui etc should announce their own PPP ....based on the vision of Bhuttos.2. Ghanwa Bhutto seems like a total failed politician in exploiting the Real Bhutto phenomena being the Mom of Zulfiqar Junior. same goes for Mumtaz Bhutto ,Jatoi and other uncles of Ms.Bhutto ....they all are politically dead.
3. Bilwal should take the ALAM E BAGHAWAT from Nawaz Sharif and raise it against his own father .( which seems like a typical filmi situation but can be taken as a possibility in the light of recent reports being published in The News with reference of Sanam Bhutto interview.)
PPP is going to further lose its grip on the political arena ......if its serious n sensible loyalists never came in the command.
Posted 2 years ago on 20 Mar 2009 5:20 # -
Keep dreaming!
Posted 2 years ago on 23 Mar 2009 4:14 # -
@beenai
1. Bhuttos sensible followers like Aitzaz Ahsan,Raza Rabbani,Naheed Khan,Safdar Abbasi,Nafees Siddiqui etc should announce their own PPP ....based on the vision of Bhuttos.Jiye Bhutto ----Beenai got his beenai back. talking of Bhuttoism.
Har Ghar se Bhutto Nikle ga tun jitne Bhutto Maro ge.
Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2009 11:07 # -
shamwariz
lolz, aik bhutto zardarioon kay ghar say bhi nikal aaya hai who is on mission to stop these bhuttos for ever. lolz
There is a concept of self destructive machines who destroy themselves under certain conditions...this time PPP has appointed a self destructive co-chairman who will not let anyone else do this sacred job lolz hahahah
Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2009 11:41 # -
@Shamwariz
Bhutto Phenomena is a reality ...i am not and never was denying that.....
its your turn now to wake up and smell the coffee.
this phenomena is losing its chirstma .
its becoming more of a PAST tense than a PRESENT reality.Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2009 12:33 # -
Asifa will be the new chairperson of PPP soon. i think we would witness another battle between balawal and asifa.
Posted 2 years ago on 24 Mar 2009 14:00 # -
Why the love for this name? Do we want Pakistan to be a Kingdom? Thank God, the lawyers movement did not shout, GA Iftikar, or GA Aitazaz or GA Sharif, they fought for an ideal: GA Azad Adliya..and by translation GA Pakistan! I would like to assume that since you can read and write english, you are literate, and for a literate person to believe in "GA Bhutto" puzzles me! Why the allegiance to a name and not an ideal? Did God send the Bhutto clan to cleanse the world of all evil? If so, BB should have taken zardari with her...
Posted 2 years ago on 25 Mar 2009 21:25 # -
and Finally, the PPP has lost Punjab, and because of that, they have lost Pakistan. If PPP wants to survive, Zardari has to go...
Posted 2 years ago on 25 Mar 2009 21:28 # -
PPP has lost NWFP and Baluchistan before it lost Punjab. It will very soon be a Sindh party, just like PML(N) which will eventually become Punjab party due to its leaders silence against Drones attack and army operation in these provinces.
Posted 2 years ago on 25 Mar 2009 21:32 # -
Sadly all the political parties are becoming regional... the drone atacks are quite the catch 22. One, we don't have the power to stop them (can't bite the hand that feeds you), and secondly we don't have the will to fight those who want to destroy us.
But for the sake of Pakistan, I hope PPP does not lose Punjab. It needs to get rid of Zardari, If the PML-Q and PML-N merge, it will become a national party. I do believe that they should, the Q should let go of the Chaudries and PPP needs to let go of Zardari. There are those in the PPP who think the party is more than just Zardari. Those people need to stand up and take their party back.
Personally speaking, here in Canada, I support the Liberal party, the closest thing to it being the PPP. But given the PML-N's stance on Judiciary, the PPP looks like a Fascist party compared to the center-right PML-N. PML-Q leadership does not seem to have an agenda since its made up of all those who can be bought, ANP is a regional party, the MQM are just thugs who stopped being thugs on the surface.
Out of all the parties, i truly hate the MQM even though I want them to be in power in Karachi.
Posted 2 years ago on 26 Mar 2009 15:43 # -
@Heather_Ali
Could you please elaborate what made you think that PPP has lost NWFP/Pakhtunkhuwah and Balochistan?
Balochistan:
============================================================If there is any political party at this moment of time which is Gaining in Balochistan it is PPP. Steps like:
1- Request of Pardon from Baloch nation by PPP leadership for the injustices committed by Federation in 62 years.
2- Release of Sardar Akhtar mengal and other political prisoners.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2008/05/080509_akhtar_released.shtml
3- Withdrawl of cases against Baloch Nationalists like Mir hyrbyiar Marri etc.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2009/02/090212_hyrbyair_marri_ra.shtml
4- Government help to mitigate Financial difficulties of Balochistan.
http://www.sbp.org.pk/press/2008/Release-BG-Finances-03-Sep-08.pdf
5- Handing over administration of Gawadar port to Balochistan government.
and many other are helping to improve the popularity of PPP in Balochistan. It is evident from recent senate elections in which PPP has secured most number of seats in Baloshistan too.
http://gmcmissing.wordpress.com/2009/03/05/ppp-wins-most-votes-in-senate-elections-in-balochistan/
NWFP/Pakhtunkhuwah:
============================================================PPP is in coalition government with ANP in NWFP/Pakhtunkhuwah. I don't see any reason except the failure of PPP government so far to stop the Drone attacks and reverse the law & order situation. However, the mess which was inherited by PPP led government will take time and I believe people realise that. In its short period it has made some significant improvements in Bajur, Sawat, and some parts of Waziristan regarding insurgency and law and order situation. For the first time in this war on terror, people are hopeful that peace will prevail. Beside other steps like:
1- PPP has promised and accepted the demand of the majority of people of Pakhtunkhuwah and ANP to change the name of Province from "Sarhad" to "Pakhtunkhuwah".
2- Abolition of FC law.
3- Sawat deal to bring immediate peace in the troubled region.
are favouring the popularity of PPP.
Punjab:
============================================================
As far as Punjab is concerned, PPP has suffered severe damages in past few months, but just last year ago on 18th Feb it captured 1/3rd of Punjab. PPP leadership has realized the mood of people and acted accordingly. The only hurdle which was hurting the popularity of PPP in Punjab (Judicial crisis) is removed. Very soon InshALLAH the illegal governor rule is also going to be lifted. Political pundits are signaling that it is quite possible now PMLN join federal cabinet and PPP joins punjab government as it was after 18th Feb. Politics is a day to day game, who knows in near future PPP re-emerges with the same glory that it used to entertain during ZAB time. We have very good leaders in Punjab which guarantee the success of PPP in Punjab.Few people have always desired that PPP dies out for couple of reasons: one because its history represents anti-establishment force and second because its leadership hails from Sindh not Punjab. I am sure you are not one of them. But please understand that it is in the interest of Pakistan if PPP remains a National Party like it is today.
The past of NS is much more darker than AZ. NS has done everything evil single handedly which is done by all pakistani leaders collectively. For example, Support of Dictator (Chowdhry shujat hussain of 80's was NS), Corruption of massive scale, Sacking of CJ and other Judges and attack on Supreme court like Musharaf did on 9th March, Changed teh rules of admission of medical college to favor her daughter like Farah Hameed dogar case, imposition of Governor rule in Sindh in 90's for 6 to 12 months, Military operation in Sindh (karachi and other parts), Sold himself to Hameed gul and became puppet of establishment in the form of IJI, Attack on Media and purchase of journalists (briefcase and lifafa culture), broke many promises with ANP, ARD and APDM, Cut deal with military dictator and preferred to live in some palace in KSA with his family and khansamas deserting his party and workers, extra judicial killings in Punjab, Cheap and obnoxious propaganda against Nusrat Bhutto, Mohtarma Bhutto, and Imran Khan's family, used his influence on Judiciary to oppress political opponents (Malik Qayyum case, NAB cases against mohtarma and AZ, imprisoned and tortured AZ, Salman taseer etc) and list goes on and on. If he can suddenly become hero why not AZ???
Posted 2 years ago on 26 Mar 2009 18:10 # -
its no more a GA Bhutto phenomna.
its GA Bhutto commercial value versus GA Zardari.Posted 2 years ago on 27 Mar 2009 6:40 # -
@Fahim23
Balochistan:
===========================================================Please listen baloch leaders in yesterdays bolta pakistan about the performance of PPP in that region.
Your first point was about asking pardon, listen what they are saying about this. The pardon become a joke for them, the policies of musharraf are still there and there is an increase in their intensity.
Instead of locating missing persons, the no. of missing person is increasing day by day. Actually there is one person who is picked up like 5 days ago.
They asked pardon from Bugtis but the current situation in the dera bugti is that no one could move in or out from dera bugti without a written permission from the army. what a BS?NWFP
==========================================================I am from NWFP and i really want this name to be changed, i am a great supporter of the name Pukhtonkhaw but the way how this is done is shameful. First of all the people from hazara and the people from the waziristan, DI khan are not taken into confidence, no referendum. So its a sick joke with them
On the other side the people who want to have this name, its a shameful joke with them too that it has not been done constitutionally with the 2/3rd voting in the parliment but with a simple order which could be changed anytime and due to which most of them are still forced to use NWFP instead of Pukhtoonkhaw. Its a joke to both of the groups.Second the swat deal, listen to what zardari wanted to say on SKY news. The first thing is this deal was carried out without discussing the matter in the parliament and second shameful thing about this is it has been implemented before the president has signed it. No legal justification. Where is the sovereign parliament, where is the f*****ing democracy now if all the decisions have to be done outside parliament then why to pay more than 90 ministers and this big parliament. Its a joke which a bunch of fools are playing with us.
Drone Attacks:the parliament approved a resolution against drone attacks but what is the result, the drone attacks increased or decreased. Dont you think its a slap on the face of people who are calling themselves sovereign.
Punjab:
==========================================================
I dont think i need to elaborate more about the situation of PPP in punjab. NS is the clear winner and PPP is the clear loser, no matter if you want to keep your eyes close and looking at the so-called golden past, you are free to do this but reality is that PPP lost the battle in Punjab.Posted 2 years ago on 27 Mar 2009 9:59 # -
@Letsdoit
I think with your perspective PPP is all loosing, which is unfair and exaggeration IMO. I think it is loosing and gaining for PPP.
Unfortunately the injusticecs inflicted on Baloch people by Pakistan federation (including PPP's own share i.e., operation during 70's) are colossal. Majority of them have lost any hope from Pakistan and they have been pushed to wall and genuinely are considering the option of independance. In this situation the steps taken by PPP led government are just like starter meal. Much I mean really Much more needs to be done. The president AZ himself today said in his speech that pardons means nothing to Baloch people as many times they are deceived. For that he has suggested a constitutional protection which will InshALLAH aim to ensure that the rights of Balochistan are not voilated anymore. You should be fair enough to appreciate that when the country and world is under financial crisis, the priority is being given to Balochistan. A fresh economic package of (466000000 Rs) is announced and Constitutional package is underway for Balochistan. Though the establishment and agencies are the main culprits behind the missing persons, but I won't give this excuse as being in government it is the responsibility of PPP to find and realse missing persons and if they are suspects they should be given fair and open trial. Having said tht many missing persons are released since PPP has resumed governemt, and there is no political prisoner at the moment in Balochistan. The intensity of military operation is reduced which should be Ended ASAP. I don't mind if Akhtar mengal is claiming that it is increased. I can understand his anger which has many geniune reasons.
Coming to NWFP/Pakhtunkhuwah, the new name of the province will be given in Parliament (forum of people's representatives). It is not and cannot be done on the mere will of AZ or Asfandyar wali. If the NWFP assembly or National assembly agrees on that name that means it is the Will of People! PPP and ANP's stance is that the province should be given a name (be it Afghania, Pakhtunkhuwah, pathanistan whatever) and they are ready to come up with a name acceptable to the majority of people of NWFP. And I think most of them agree on Pakhtunkhuwah.
The Qazi courts in the Sawat are being established on the basis of 1994 law during BB's governemt. It is very much legal, discussed and already approved by the parliament. However, the new amendements in the existing law which are recommended by NWFP government (WITH THE BACKING OF PPP in province and in federation) will soon become law as it is proposed or with some changes as appropriate. AZ responded to the attacking question of the anchor "Are you handing over the country to Talibans"? His poor english and inability to articulate proper answers resulted in that statement. Anyways, the ground situation is that life in sawat is normalizing day by day and people are rehabiliating. Similarly, the situation of Bajur agency is significantly improved. But still the situation is not completely under control and we are still facing the eminent threats of terrorism.
If in few months PPP can loose its popularity in Punjab it can also recover in the same or some more time. What PPP needs in Punjab is good leadership, party workers, and good governance or effective opposition. They have everything they need. They just need to formulate good strategy to exploit their advantages. I think AZ's past is much cleaner thn NS, and it is not impossible to come back in Punjab! For the next govt PPP needs to secure just 40 odd seats which is not ambitious target.
Posted 2 years ago on 27 Mar 2009 17:31 # -
@Fahim you wrote:
His poor english and inability to articulate proper answers resulted in that statementlolz was it his poor english or his deceptive nature, always trying to deceive others thinking that he is clever. lolz
and the most funny thing is that you are thinking AZ will gain popularity against NS. lolz.. no matter how bad is NS but he is a POLITICIAN and AZ is a DAKO and the main difference is that POLITICIAN always work on a long term plan and DAKO always stay in hurry, always have less time so he has to do his job quickly and then run away.... hahahhahaha
Posted 2 years ago on 27 Mar 2009 23:27 # -
@misalligned
In my observation when AZ speaks unlike the knack ZAB and Mohtarma (one of the great orators in Pakistan) used to have, he quickly finds dearth of words and often loose track.
I couldn't understand what do you mean by "No matter how bad is NS but he is politician"??? I'm not sure what does that even mean. And NS is politician while AZ is not??
Yes IMO AZ and PPP is very much capable to gain the popularity against NS and PMLN. Remember even before becoming President AZ was known as Mr 10%. He was made a symbol of Corruption in Pakistan. But at the time of 18th Feb and Bhurban declaration until he became president his popularity was very much near to the NS and he was elected as the President with heavy mandate unanimously from three provinces and with substantial votes in Punjab. Analysts were claiming that NS is outdone by him and AZ has proved himself more mature, far sighted and cunning and World media was terming him one of the most powerful person in Pakistan. Even today NS has very grim chances in Sindh, Balochistan and most part of NWFP. NS's only stronghold is Central Punjab and Punjabi areas of NWFP. In southern Punjab PPP is much more stronger than PMLN. Unfortunately, if anything happens in Lahore and surrounding areas it is assumed by the media that whole nation wants that! As I said earlier "Politics in Pakistan is day to day game" and everything is possible!
Beside by the time next elections come, Bilawal will resume the chairmanship and will InshALLAH induce new blood into the party.
I have tried to explain why and how PPP and AZ can reclaim the popularity in Punjab! They have Good winning leaders, appealing manifesto towards Women, Students, Labour and peasants, dedicated workers, and best track Record. You don't seem to agree with my assessment that is fine to me. In fact I'm glad seeing your superabundant lolz and hahas, I ended up increasing your blood :).
Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2009 8:28 # -
yea it is true that i dont feel that AZ is a politician and that was the reason why BB kept him away from all the political decisions she took. He was the reason why PPP was losing its popularity even at the time of BB, he was behind Murtaza Bhutoos assassination for sure.
And even now when he accidently got popularity, he was not able to hold for some time because he was not having a long term plannings thats why i called him DAKU (dacoit) who are always having short time plans and who have to run in a short time no matter mission is accomplished or not.
You are here and Inshallah i am here, tell me in few months if the popularity of PPP is increased or decreased, this stupid man will commit some blunder very soon.
Posted 2 years ago on 28 Mar 2009 21:27 # -
@misalligned
You and I cannot speak on the behalf of BB regarding why she kept AZ (if at all she did tht) in corner during her times. I'd advice you to read the last chapters of Mohtarma's book which are only about the courage and determinition of AZ and full praise and admiration of her for AZ.
A notion that AZ was sidelined during BB's time is not entirely true. AZ served as a Member of the National Assembly twice (1990-93 and 1993-96), as Federal Minister for the Environment (1993-1996) and as Federal Minister for Investment (1995-96). He was elected Senator in 1997 and served in that capacity until 1999.
He was the principal architect of the BB government's efforts to transform Pakistan's energy power sector by encouraging major investment opportunities in power generation. He was also the initiator of the Iran-Pakistan natural gas pipeline project.
In one interview of BB I heard her saying that I admire AZ because he knew that he is put in jail not coz of any corruption or other charges but because of his relation with Benazir Bhutto and PPP. He was offered many deals and offers during imprisonment to compromise my and party's interest. But he stood fast and chose to bear more thn 11 and half year long improsonment including Mental and physical Torture and solitary confinement. When Mohtarma realized that AZ has become the soft target for conspirators and enemies of PPP in all mighty establishment only thn he was kept away from the party's major proceedings.
About the re-emergence of AZ and PPP in Punjab, his todays speech is already showing positive responses from Media and public. If he continued correcting his mistakes and following the policies in the best interest of people, soon PPP will InshALLAH regain Punjab too.
Posted 2 years ago on 29 Mar 2009 5:30 # -
Fahim23
IMO PPP would be much better if there is no AZ in it.I hope they day will come soon when bhutto blood regain control of ppp.Please i don't mean family of murtaza bhutto.
Posted 2 years ago on 29 Mar 2009 7:38 # -
Blood of Bhutto runs from Mir Murtaza Bhutto's (SON OF BHUTTO) family not from Asif Ali Zardari (Son in LAW)
Regardless of that, we should not support PPP because of Bhutto (WHO IS DEAD!!!!)
Support Personalities on their Background of sincerity to the nation who are loyal and not corrupt.Posted 2 years ago on 29 Mar 2009 14:35 # -
@fahim
something which is apparent could be very easily judged you dont need a big books for that. Tell me s single major decision of PPP in which he was present at the time of BB.
Similarly now the people who were near to BB, very close to her, now give very unsecure feeling to Mr. zardari. When BB was assasinated who were with her.
Mr. Ameen fahim sitting in front, who gathered the whole party in the difficult time, now you dont even see him in any decision making, for the Muree accord he was not even invited and after that he is out of the scene.
Safdar abbasi and Naheed khan were also there, safdar abbasi sitting at the back seat and Naheed khan sitting just at one side of BB, now both of them are called black sheeps of the party and if some one contacts them, is also considered as out of the party.
Sherry Rehman, she was also with BB in her last moments and you know zardari also kicked out her.
And amazingly the person who was the security incharge and who ran away leaving her Quaid, in very difficult moments is now close to zardari and is awarded with every thing and he is definitely consulted before every decision.
Do you have any justificatin for that?
Posted 2 years ago on 29 Mar 2009 21:41 # -
listen Rauf klasara here:
http://pkpolitics.com/2009/03/28/capital-talk-28-march-2009/
Posted 2 years ago on 29 Mar 2009 22:14 # -
@misalligned
If we are discussing person A's perception about person B, then we must rely on the comments of a person A about B. Any person C becomes irrelevant. For that you do need to read books or watch interviews.
I think you missed in my above post where I wrote that AZ was MNA twice, both times he was made Minister, and thn given Senate seat. He was the person behind IPPs and Pak-Iran gas pipeline. The most important projects of BB's government. In 1997 he was put behind bars and therefore was not able to be seen with BB in London or Dubai. When he was released in 2004 his health and condition demanded tht he neede rest. Beside BB also realized that he has become a soft punching bag for PPP and should be kept aside from day to day proceedings. But propagandist machine do not tell all this they only emphasize this part of truth to paint a picture which suits thr argument. And people who do not like to verify the facts and tend to believe everything whats said synchronous with their desires quickly fall in these traps.
The most likely thing that is going to happen first when leadership is changed is the "TEAM". It is something Quite natural. But propagandist machines also exploit this fact to discredit current leadership. Makhdoom AF, Sherry Rehman, Raza Rabbani, Farhatullah babar, and Rehman Malik were the closest allies of Mohtarma. And most of them did become part of AZ's team. But guess what Rehman Malik who is fishy character in your opinion (and mine too to some extent) is also going to be kicked out soon.
Posted 2 years ago on 30 Mar 2009 1:50 # -
talking about PPP and dreaming about a TEAM ...
is a bit too far fetched .
this is the party never been a team.
it was only BHUTTO in 70s.
than BB in 90s.
than Zardari in 2009.Posted 2 years ago on 30 Mar 2009 12:34 # -
@Beena
Instead of critically analysing the people's party and highlighting its pros and cons, most of time when you comment on PPP you end up exposing your incomprehensible anathema which often sounds personal to me or ignorance about its history.
ZAB had The Best team ever in the history of Pakistani Politics. He was accompanied by people like J. A. Rahim, Dr. Mubashir Hassan, Sheikh Rasheed (not of laal haweli), Mairaj Khalid, Yahya Bakhtyar, etc.
Posted 2 years ago on 31 Mar 2009 15:22 # -
"ZAB had the best team ever in Pakistan's history?"
With due respect, I must say that I am amazed how can one make such completely outlandishly untrue statement.
My personal feelings for ZAB aside (which are certainly not very flattering), but what did his team actually achieve?
J.A. Rahim was a socialist idealogue and the author of PPP's first manifesto. He was unceremoniously kicked out of the party and was physically beaten by Bhutto's thugs.
Dr. Mubashir Hassan was the architect of the "nationalization" policy that destroyed the economy of Pakistan.
Sheikh Muhammad Rasheed was minister for health. His whole stint in cabinet was totally unremarkable except for the "generic" medicine scheme that was a spectacular failure.
Seems more like a nightmare team than a dream team.
Posted 2 years ago on 31 Mar 2009 15:50 # -
@Adonis
People like Dr. Mubashir Hassan, J.A. Rahim, Sheikh Rasheed, Mairaj Khalid, Aitzaz Ahsan, Khalid Anwar, Raja Anwar, Hanif Ramay, Hafeez Pirzada, Rafi Raza, Tariq Ali, Hayyat Sherpao, Yahya Bakhtiyar, Khalid Hassa who are pioneers of PPP and its policies are beyond your approval or certificate. They were/are the most selfless, committed, compitent, learned and dedicated persons of our country.
I am not naming people like Mustafa Khar, Mumtaz Bhutto, Ghulam Mustafa Jatoi, who were administratively very efficient but I don't consider them idealogical and intellectual leaders of PPP.
Since you have raised objections on three particular persons from my last post, I'd like to educate you further about them.
J.A. Rahim:
What happent to J. A. Rahim was sad and unfortunate. But that does not deprive him from his contribution towards PPP and first government of PPP until 1974. He is the brains behind the PPP manifesto!
Dr. Mubashir Hassan:
Please read about Dr. Mubashir Hassan here: http://www.pakistanlink.com/mowahid/04182003.html
Sheikh Muhammad Rasheed:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sheikh_Mohammad_Rashid
People who believe in Socialism has deepest regards for Sheikh Muhammad Rasheed. He is termed as the Baba-e-Socialism in Pakistan. He was born to the family of farmers and rose to the ranks of Agriculture and Health Minister. He was appointed the chairman of Land reforms commission.
Unfortunately, organised landed interests prevented Rashid's proposals for land reform which, if implemented completely, would have made Pakistan a very different place.Overall ZAB's team delivered:
1972 – 1977
1. Pakistan's first hydro electric dam on the mighty Indus at Tarbela,
2. Made Pakistan self sufficient in fertilizer, sugar, and cement.
3. National Volunteer Development Programme 1973: to provide interim employment to the 20, 000 jobless scientists, engineers and technicians and also to arrest the brain drain.
4. People’s Works Program 72 - 75: To harness the country’s vast manpower resources in their spare time. This programme provided 450,000 residential plot units in the Punjab and Sind. Asphalted and unasphalted roads were also constructed.
5. Medical colleges in Karachi, Larkana, Quetta, Lyallpur and Rawalpindi are being established.
6. Agrovilles: Whereby many agro-based industries (mostly sugar mills) were established in different parts of Country.
7. Established Mehran University of ET.
8. Economic Reforms Order Nationalisation of Key Industries - January 3, 1972 -(http://bhutto.org/reforms.htm)
9. Announcement of Labour Policies - February 10, 1972
10. Workers would participate in Profits
11. Old Age Pensions and Group Insurance
12. Land Reforms - 1st March, 1973
13. Ceiling reduced from 500 Acres to 150 Acres of irrigated land and 1000 Acres to 300 Acres for semi-irrigated land. All lands in excess of 100 Acres allocated to Govt. Servants confiscated and redistributed.
14. The Law Reform Ordinance - giving effect to the recommendations of the Law Reforms Commission. - 14th April, 1972
15. Martial Law Lifted 21st April, 1972
16. Simla Agreement Signed
17. Pakistan to get back 5000 square miles of territory occupied in 1971 war. India and Pakistan to respect line of control in Kashmir without prejudice to Pakistan's claim. - 2nd July, 1972
18. National Book Foundation established - 24th September, 1972
19. Inaugurated Pakistan's first Nuclear Power Plant at Karachi. - 28th November, 1972
20. Establishment of NDFC - 5th February, 1973
21. Establishment of Quaid-E-Azam University - 9th February, 1973
22. Constitution of Pakistan passed unanimously - 12th April, 1973
23. Establishment of Port Qasim Authority - 27th June, 1973
24. Elected Prime Minister of Pakistan - 14th August, 1973
25. Identity Cards for Citizens - 28th July, 1973
26. Agreement for repatriation of 93,000 POWs - 28th August, 1973
27. Administrative Reforms Order - September, 1973
28. Laid Foundation Stone of Pakistan Steel Mill - 30th December, 1973
29. Nationalisation of Banks - 1st January, 1974
30. Establishment of Gomal University Dera Ismail Khan - 01 May 1974
31. Establishment of Allama Iqbal Open University - 21st May, 1974
32. Islamic Summit at Lahore - 22 February, 1975
33. Inaugurated Pakistan's First Seerat Conference - 3rd March, 1976
34. Kissinger warned Zulfikar Ali Bhutto that if Pakistan continued with its nuclear programme "the Prime Minister would have to pay a heavy price." - August, 1976
35. Bhutto proposed a Third World Summit - September, 1976.I guess it was you (please correct me if i m wrong) with whom I once debated the Trial of ZAB, and if i m not mistaking you were determined that it was a fair trial. Despite the fact that this case is not even referred in any court of law due to its severely controversial judgment. One of the judges who gave that verdict confessed on television that the decision was influenced by Dictator Zia and almost everyone in pakistan agrees that it was a Judicial murder. And I reckon you also wrote on this forum that you consider ZAB the worst thing ever happent to Pakistan, even in the presence of Ayub, Yahya, Zia and Musharaf. Well bro with this mentality of yours I can't help you! and I'm sure my this effort would have made no effect on you.
Anyways, please let me know who do you think among Pakistani leaders from QA to YRG who had best team?
Posted 2 years ago on 31 Mar 2009 21:00 #