@latentry and hariskhan
Kindly both refrain from personal remarks/jabs and stay on topic.
Discuss » Current Issues
Electricity Issue in Pakistan
(171 posts)-
Posted 1 year ago on 13 Feb 2010 14:43 #
Mirza sb. I have no interest in a squabble with him.
However, I need to know if he has something legitimate to say.
Posted 1 year ago on 13 Feb 2010 15:38 # -
DAWN News: Power tariff may rise by 15pc next month
Wednesday, 17 Feb, 2010
ISLAMABAD: Electricity rates are likely to go up by another 15 per cent or Rs1.20 per unit (kwh) on March 1, mainly because of uneconomic use of fuel and resultant rise in generation cost.“This will be the single highest increase in power tariff in more than 13-year history of Nepra (National Electric Power Regulatory Authority)” since it was created in 1997, a senior official told Dawn on Tuesday.
..continued..
-------------------------------------------------------------------..and mismanagement goes on, and on, and on.
Rather than putting up a full plan of recovery from the current situation, Govt. is wasting time in keeping people oblivious of realities.
How great, huh ?
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2010 9:26 # -
I dont know how will they be able to deal with this electricity crises in coming years...i see raja pervaiz ashraf so unconcerned and relaxed on this issue..but besides PPP,no other political party,both in and outside Government has ever tried to raise this issue on serious terms....
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2010 13:11 # -
@*RhyMe*: What do you mean by raising issue on serious terms
Do you have any suggestions ?
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2010 13:20 # -
i mean have you seen any serious efforts to resolve this problem even by the coalition partners of PPP at federal and Provincial levels?
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2010 13:57 # -
@*RhyMe*: No, I haven't. That is why I posted this thread to discuss this matter.
Our current requirement hovers between 10,000 - 15,000 MW.
When PEPCO chairman was interviewed, he said;
(1) Pakistan has installed capacity of 20,000 MW. Yet on the day of his interview, Pakistan generated 7,000 MW electricity.
(2) Pakistan Govt. never gave WAPDA/PEPCO autonomy to work.
(3) He gave Pakistan Govt. a detailed plan of how to tackle electricity issues in 2005
(4) those running Pakistan Govt. are fully! responsible for the electricity crisis, our country is facing right now
I hear some people saying, the current electricity mess can be dealt with effectively! within 1-5 years time. After which we'll have 40,000 MW installed capacity. Which will be well over double our needs for the coming 10-50 years.
Looking at all of the above, I firmly believe, the people who are running Pakistan, are colluding with foreign powers to sabotage Pakistan, its economy, its people's interest.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2010 14:36 # -
Yeah the problem is there you see but what im trying to say is if PPP as we all know has been failed completely in bringing any solution to this problem then why other party leaders are just sitting quiet and not raising this issue in national assembly....they can put pressure on Government by debating on it again and again....by passing any resolution on this crises....to arrange a long march for the accomplishment of meaningful results....they can spend months and years for judiciary crises,can even sacrifies their workers life for it but when it somes to the issues directly related to a common man,i see no seriousness in whatsoever political party....this issue is very serious which many ppl do not consider because economic,agricultural,industrial progress of our future generation is at stake if today we dont make effective plans to sort it out!
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Feb 2010 14:17 # -
DAWN News: PSO threatens to stop supply from March 1
Thursday, 25 Feb, 2010
PSO’s total receivables that stood at Rs73 billion by end of November 2009 have now crossed Rs103 billion. PSO’s payables have also increased to about Rs68.5 billion on February 23. – File Photo.ISLAMABAD: With receivables of the country’s two largest oil and gas companies OGDCL and PSO swelling to about Rs175 billion, the Pakistan State Oil has threatened to discontinue fuel supplies to the two largest independent power producers and the state-run airline from March 1.
Informed sources told Dawn on Wednesday that PSO had written to Hub Power Company, Kot Addu Thermal Power Company and Pakistan International Airlines that their fuel supplies would be discontinued from March 1 because of non-clearance of their payables.
Unless payments were made, the PSO would not be in a position to honour Rs16.4 billion worth of letters of credit becoming due between now and March 15.
The sources said the PSO’s total receivables that stood at Rs73 billion by end of November 2009 have now crossed Rs103 billion. Power sector companies alone owe over Rs93 billion to the state-run fuel supplier. These include Rs38.7 billion from Pakistan Electric Power Company (Pepco), Rs35.5 billion from Hubco and Rs18.7 billion from Kapco.
..continued..
-------------------------------------------------------------------Big trouble ahead ?
Posted 1 year ago on 26 Feb 2010 1:45 # -
DAWN News: Power crisis deepens as PM visits Karachi
Friday, 26 Feb, 2010
KARACHI: When Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani was here on Thursday, many parts of the city remained without electricity for more than six hours at a stretch.The prime minister is on a two-day visit to the metropolis to attend several functions, including the inauguration of a power plant in Korangi on Friday.
The areas affected particularly badly by the outage on Thursday were Defence and Clifton, as Karachi Electric Supply Company’s power generation plant at Bin Qasim produced only 450MW.
The KESC did not spell out the reasons for the long outage, despite several calls to its officials. Complaints of tripping and voltage fluctuations were also reported from parts of Defence.
Sources said the closure for maintenance of a unit of Hubco plant could be behind the breakdown. They said that although the utility claimed to have refurbished its distribution system, its feeders remained overloaded, causing breakdowns.
-------------------------------------------------------------------So, what if Karachi doesn't have electricity ?
PM can still visit to attend functions, can't he ? :|
Posted 1 year ago on 26 Feb 2010 1:50 # -
yeah i wish PM could visit every city every village of Pak durung electricity breakdown so that he could see and feel how miserable life becomes without this basic necessity!
Posted 1 year ago on 26 Feb 2010 13:54 # -
Did any betterment come to Karachi after PM's visit ?
Posted 1 year ago on 26 Feb 2010 14:02 # -
I dont know im not from karachi but normally these kinda visits hardly bring any solutions to the problems prevailing in the country
Posted 1 year ago on 26 Feb 2010 14:10 # -
The entire post is pretty misleading to begin with,
the generation capacity of Pakistan is split between Hydro(dams) and Thermal(oil/gas). In a program on Duniya(dunno if its the same) where they also had a WAPDA official or government official, he made it very clear that the figure 20000 is not correct. The figure is based on original installed capacity of most powerhouses which has in some cases now fallen to below half. As such our generation thermal capacity is far below and hydro capacity cannot be utilized due to water shortage.
Now, the question who is to blame?
Last nuclear plant that is CHashma II was initiated under the civilian rule but no new nuclear plant was installed by Army rule, same is true for thermal plants, where as Musharraf lambasted Benazir in his second televised speech for agreeing expensive power plants he could not put up the same for even double the price ( for those who want to debate the dubiousness of those projects, without them the loadshedding would have been three-fold today)
Similarly only after the first power crisis in 2006 did Mush ran off to Saudi Arab to ask them for power plants, they actually give a couple of old plants but nothing else.
There are plenty power projects under construction, the crisis will be over soon, Inshallah.
Posted 1 year ago on 26 Feb 2010 19:56 # -
I don't agree with your stats, as well as your enthusiasm, according to the interview of MD/Director PEPCO in the program 'Jawab Deh'.
Enlighten us on;
(1) How soon, is soon ?
(2) What power projects are under construction ?
(3) What is their feasibility ?
(4) What is the cost the common man will have to pay, as a result ?Posted 1 year ago on 26 Feb 2010 21:12 # -
DAWN News: Govt to pay oil companies on behalf of Hubco and Kapco
Wednesday, 03 Mar, 2010
Pepco managing-director Tahir Basharat Cheema had informed the federal government that disruption in oil supplies to Hubco and Kapco would plunge the country into severe energy crisis. – Photo by APP.ISLAMABAD: The federal government has promised two leading power and oil companies for direct payments from the national kitty on behalf of their defaulting customers, leading to revival of fuel supplies to two largest private power producers ‘in larger national interest’.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Is this a sane decision ?
Even if it is a sane decision, does that mean, the time after this decision goes into implementation, that we will something good in return ?
Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2010 6:38 # -
DAWN News: Rise in power cuts ahead of summer
Wednesday, 03 Mar, 2010

The residents of Garden, Orangi, North Karachi, Gulshan-i-Iqbal, Gulistan-i-Jauhar, Defence and Clifton complained that they had experienced at least four spells of hour-long power outages since Monday evening. -File PhotoKARACHI: With a slight change in the weather, people in different parts of the city have started experiencing power outages for more than four hours a day amid fears that the electricity situation will worsen when the mercury shoots up any further.
Power cuts before summer ?
Wasn't this being predicted by common man, last year ?
Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2010 11:46 # -
DAWN News: Ten hours of load shedding tests nation’s patience
Thursday, 18 Mar, 2010
--------------------------------------------------------A major part of the city around the Quaid’s mausoleum is enveloped in darkness during a prolonged power outage on Wednesday night in Karachi. –Photo by Fahim Siddiqi
LAHORE: Electricity shortfall rose to a staggering 4,500MW on Wednesday, forcing the Pakistan Electric Power Company to resort to a massive 10-hour unscheduled load shedding across the country.
..and it goes on.. unnoticed by the people of this country, this nation, at large.
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 10:21 # -
I am not favoring Mush, never was but a question crops up in my mind time and again.
We were not facing load shedding even up to the last days of Mush as to what we are facing today.
What happened so suddenly? Is this all a political stunt? To hype up shortages creating grounds for further exploits squeezing dry our already poor and suffering awam!Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 16:11 # -
Mirza sb. It is only a matter of will. Our people don't want to do the right thing. That is the only hurdle in our betterment.
If our people don't want to move towards betterment. So be it. I want this nation to fully!! suffer the consequences of its 'dheet-pan' since Pakistan was created, which is STILL! continuing.
I believe, when this nation goes through 3-4 sessions of this suffering or slaughter(s), they will themselves come back on the right path.
If our people still don't mend their ways, then ALLAH ALMIGHTY should destroy!!! our people, and raise a NEW nation to replace us.
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 16:18 # -
@semirza
"I am not favoring Mush, never was but a question crops up in my mind time and again.
We were not facing load shedding even up to the last days of Mush as to what we are facing today.
What happened so suddenly?"Ummm....Corruption on a much bigger scale. Do you know RPPs make more money by NOT running the plants? Do you know KESC has been intentionally keeping plants shut because they make more money that way too? I also know for sure that KESC has had the rules changed such that for fuel they purchase, they are NOT responsible for payment but Government of Pakistan is! (I am not joking -- and this was the reason for the recent PCO-KESC crisis and of course you know who came into for the rescue. This is another way Zardari is stealing government funds on a massive scale)
BTW: The rumor I've heard is that when Zardari came to power, he went to the IPPs that had been set up under his old 1990s scam and demanded they pay his share for all those years he has not been in power and intentionally made things difficult for them to run their power houses until they paid up 'past dues' .
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 16:32 # -
Things have gone out of control and our rulers are chanting the same 'sub achha'..
Today, one Baluch friend came asking for technical plans for a small scale solar project. He would like to run his 25 acre farm uplifting water for irrigation using solar technology.
Our power elite will do nothing. They blame previous governments and would be blamed by the future governments in turn. Situation will however remain the same.
Our people who are able to afford have to do something on their own and at a small scale like a few neighbors pooling their resources investing for one solar unit-output shared by all. Not by pinning hope on our hopeless governments hoping they will do something in this regard.
Mr. Pervaiz Ashraf is again active with his load of false promises, this time promising us that dams would be complete till 2013? I can't figure out what he is talking should be believed or not.
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 16:39 # -
Re: My comment above
The 'rumor' I talked about was also an accusation Senator Kamil Ali Agha made in Jan 02, 2009's Kal Tak.
He accused Zardari of forcing the independent power producers to shut down by demanding they open their books for all the years since PPP lost power so that he can collect his commission (remember Mr 10% was accused of bringing them in in return for commissions to be paid to him in return for which he allowed them to charge much higher rates than the prevailing ones at the time)
P.S. Here is a comment i had made WAY BACK, i.e. when Zardari had just come to power and the first promises about loadshedding were made, i.e. July 3, 2008:
I think the policy PZP is following is to price electricity so high that most can’t afford it forcing them to rip their meters out. That in turn will lead to drop in demand leading to no load shedding. :-)
P.S. Here is another old comment from Sept 2008:
Regarding the electricity crisis: Was it really a hoax? A trick played by power companies to blackmail government into increasing power tariff?
I ask because it is the fifth day without any load shedding, at least here in Lahore. Recall that the electricity rates have just been raised by another 31%. And we know no new generation capacity has been built as of yet (in fact it has gone down as ControlZ mentioned above).
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 17:00 # -
Massive loadshedding feared in summer
He said 16 power projects — eight thermal and eight rental — in the pipeline with dim chances that all are operational in the most burning months. “According to a conservative approach, upcoming scenario is more painful than previous summer.”
To a query, the official said the country may have up to 5,000 MW of electricity shortfall during peak demand. “In comparison, scarcity will be 1,000-1,500 MW above what the country experienced in 2009 heat season.”
http://www.thenews.com.pk/print1.asp?id=229547
The only way is what Semirza is suggesting.
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 17:41 # -
@aftab: How can one afford that when Govt. won't allow it ?
I know a Pakistani Electrical Engineer, who's now living in US. He tells me, people need licenses for even small scale, self financed electricity generating solutions.
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 18:02 # -
Very true. This is one of the tools that fossil fuel mafia uses to maintain its monopoly. Government (any) will never allow diversification of power generation resources other than thermal power generation.
But than this should not be a deterrence to achieve our goals on a small scale. I would say, flout such unjust red tape that cannot be justified.Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 18:19 # -
@ Hariskhan
My cousin was telling me the same some time ago but i took this with a pinch of salt, thnx for pointing it out again. If for example you put solar panels on the roof of your house and keep hush about it who is going to know.
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 18:44 # -
Just got "official" confirmation from former MD KESC (watch today's -- March 19th -- 11th Hour on ARY)that KESC was sold to present owners for...........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................$1!!!
(Of course this too is NOT all the truth. In fact they were paid billions to "buy" KESC (and more and more payments are ongoing as I mentioned above).
P.S. I did do a detailed report on it a while back and you can read the summary at http://fkpolitics.wordpress.com/2009/08/13/kesc-swindles-past-present-and-future. It also has a link to my 200-page plus document I put together that carries news reports and my comments on which that summary is based)
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Mar 2010 19:17 # -
I am greatly impressed reading through you detailed report. You have obviously done a lot compiling it. Great effort. Highly appreciated.Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 7:30 # -
Media should hightlight this issue 24/7.
This is much more important that a stupid statement of Shabaz or Zardari.
I guess the powerful in media are not really affected by this crises so this not important for them.
Life is good when you have Fauzia Wahab and Saad Rafiq barking in your programme. Why go out and do real jounalism.Why the silence from Azad Adaliya?
Unfortunately, power project take lot more time and this govt has alray wasted two years.
Iran has offered electricty much cheaper than Rental PP. Why no action.
Also, it is law and order issue. Can KESC take this down? No...that would be againt ghareeb
http://jootaymaro.com/kescs-shameful-campaign-they-steal-we-pay/
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 13:30 # -
i tell you ppl that nothing significant has been done by the Government so far in reducing this problem which will surely result in long hours loadshedding in coming months and in some cities it has already started...eventually ppl will come on roads,pull and push the security officers and police like its happenning in pindi and islo,the clash between them on public transport fares,such conflicts will rise in future and ppl got to fight for their basic rights...
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 14:49 # -
What has happened and still happening in Pindi should be taken as an eyeopener.
Public is left with no other option then to come out and express their anger.Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 17:34 # -
Wohi baat hai na Mirza sb. Pakistani loag tab tak theek kaam nahi karte jab tak maut sar par na A jae.
Jab tak maut sar par NA A jae, Pakistani loag ghalat kaam par tule rehte hain.
They fully! deserve to see this day.
It is unfortunate know, since we the current generation will also have to bear the outcome of bad/criminal decisions, bad/criminal actions by previous generations.
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 18:18 # -
Yes harisbhai,
At last public has to come out on streets protesting mismanagement by government.
This is not a good omen. It means only one thing. FAILURE!
Failure of the government itself. On one side riots subdued on promise by the government that transport fares remain unchanged while it did not happen and public was out on the streets once again.Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 18:24 # -
Ameer-JI describes Govt. as the heart in a human's body.
In a human body, the heart is a small organ. Yet IT! is the central! organ in ALL of the body. IT! is the most important organ. It regulates ALL! functions in the human body.
If it goes bad, ALL of the human body feels its pain.
If it works perfectly, ALL of the human body remains healthy.
If Govt., (the central organ in a state) of this country/nation;
(1) works perfectly ALL of the people of this nation will live a happy, prosperous, productive life
(2) does NOT work perfectly, then ALL of this nation will live an unhappy, unsatisfied, miserable, deteriorating, unproductive life
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 18:42 # -
Iran offers power at much lower than RPP rates
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 18:45 # -
"Iran offers power at much lower than RPP rates"
EVERYONE offers power at much lower than RPP rates but our government is not interested 'cause lower rates mean lower commissions...
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 18:48 # -
nota jee,
Please do not use the euphemistic word "commissions" as it alludes to Pakistani Public Service Commission. I mean the institution of "commissions". Such money is simply a Kickback or an old fashion bribe.
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 18:52 # -
Azizi jee,
Well since you are going to be that picky, let me just add isn't it true "Pakistani Public Service Commission" has become synonymous with kickbacks and bribery?
(And it's not just the PPSC but <del>almost</del> every institutional actor prefers to use the word "commission" for kickbacks and bribes they take. A general gets "commission" for the arms deal, a politician gets "commission" for every public works, every bureaucrat gets "commission" for every tender issued, etc., etc., etc.)Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 20:14 # -
DAWN News: Tarbela dam reservoir hits dead level
Tuesday, 16 Mar, 2010
The Indus, which was flowing at 24,300 cusecs on March 15 last year also dipped to 21,300 cusecs. –FileLAHORE: The Tarbela dam reservoir hit the dead level on Monday, leaving the agriculture and power generation to rely on paltry run-of-the-river supplies which also have taken a sharp dip.
According to official figures, all the rivers were flowing on Monday at around 20 per cent less than last year’s levels on the day.
The Indus, which was flowing at 24,300 cusecs on March 15 last year, dipped to 21,300 cusecs, the Jhelum at Mangla flowed 20,800 cusecs against 25,300 cusecs on the same day last year and the Chenab at 9,200 cusecs against 9,700 cusecs last year.
..continued..
-------------------------------------------------------------------Its going from bad to worse. And our people are still squabbling over petty things.
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Mar 2010 22:31 # -
Posted 1 year ago on 22 Mar 2010 13:40 #
DAWN News: $141mn generators imported in Feb
Tuesday, 23 Mar, 2010
--------------------------------------------------------The increasing demand of generators and the devaluation of the rupee against the dollar have made generators very expensive. Therefore, the Pakistan Machinery Merchants Group has urged the govt to remove 5pc customs duty on import of generators. - APP/File photo
KARACHI: Smelling higher demand, traders imported 88 per cent more power generating machinery worth $141 million in February 2010 as compared to $75 million in January 2010.
More! foreign exchange leaves Pakistan's borders. *sigh*
This news clip also suggests that Pakistan has a Federal Bureau of Statistics (FBS). Why do I never see it publishing statistics reports on Govt.'s performance in public domain ?
Posted 1 year ago on 24 Mar 2010 8:59 # -
Load sheding is actualy govt's ban on media, during load sheding corrupt govt and opposition feel better. Media should start campaign against load sheding, lawers and civil society should support media.
Posted 1 year ago on 24 Mar 2010 16:20 # -
DAWN News: Power outages continue across Karachi
Thursday, 25 Mar, 2010
--------------------------------------------------------Posted 1 year ago on 25 Mar 2010 13:48 # -
DAWN News: No end to power outages
Wednesday, 24 Mar, 2010
Pakistani children do their homework by the light of a candle during a power outtage in Karachi. – AFP (File Photo)KARACHI: Despite the resumption of 80 megawatts of power supply from the Karachi Nuclear Power Plant and Sindh government directives asking it not to resort to loadshedding on Pakistan Day, the Karachi Electric Supply Company subjected Karachiites to at least four spells of outages of one hour each on Tuesday though the KESC received more oil and gas supplies.
Massive loadshedding was carried out despite the fact that all offices and shopping malls that consumed substantial load were closed and the mercury dipped to 33 degrees centigrade on Tuesday.
According to sources, the KESC was short of at least 400 megawatts in meeting the demand of 2,100 megawatts. It was supplying about 1,600MW that included about 650MW from the Water and Power Development Authority, 80MW of Kanupp and about 500mw of the Bin Qasim power plant. Supplies from the Korangi gas turbines and the two independent power producers, Gul Ahmad and Tapal Energy, were also depressed.
Consumers are unable to comprehend why the KESC is unable to generate at the optimum level when the financial constraints in purchasing oil and gas supplies have been removed by the government, enabling the Abraaj-led power utility to improve its financial solvency and muster enough working capital.
KESC officials did not respond to telephone calls to explain their point of view on the power supply situation.
-------------------------------------------------------------------You remove constraints and still! they don't supply you with the product you paid for.
Pakistani to the end, eh ?
Posted 1 year ago on 25 Mar 2010 13:51 # -
'surkh faity ka kamal'here is a tremedious coulmn in daily mashriq http://www.dailymashriq.com.pk/oppion/bibil.html
Posted 1 year ago on 25 Mar 2010 15:32 # -
You are rite Ghauri Energy crisis is completely artificial.
Sirf awam ko tang karna oor paisa banana hay. PPP, PMLN and MQM, most corrupt parties are ruling on Pakistan.Posted 1 year ago on 25 Mar 2010 16:02 # -
DAWN News: US objects to gas pipeline deal with Iran
Friday, 02 Apr, 2010
--------------------------------------------------------We have advised Pakistan to seek other alternatives; it is not the right time for doing this kind of transaction with Iran, ,” US Assistant Secretary of State Robert Blake said. –Photo by Reuters
WASHINGTON: The United States urged Pakistan on Thursday to reconsider its deal with Iran for building a multi-billion-dollar pipeline intended to bring the much-needed natural gas to the energy starved country.
..continued..
-------------------------------------------------------------------USA wants to stop Pakistan from acquiring cheap electricity.
(sarcasm) This is how USA is trying to;
(1) improve Pakistan
(2) stabilize Pakistan
(3) improve the lives of people of Pakistanright ? (/sarcasm)
Posted 1 year ago on 02 Apr 2010 16:05 # -
US has been an obstacle to this deal between Pakistan and Iran since a long time.
Pakistan should go ahead and continue laying gas pipelines regardless of objections. Gas will help our economy in the long run not US aid.Posted 1 year ago on 02 Apr 2010 16:24 # -
Correct you are Patriot gas will help our economy in long run, whereas Zar & Co need US help after leaving Pakistan in future.
Posted 1 year ago on 02 Apr 2010 17:58 #