Discuss » Current Issues

Election system of Pakistan

(41 posts)
  1. wantinsaf

Have we ever thought for two seconds how people like Zardari got elected as President of this coutry?Zardari is not only corrupt but also he lacks capabilities and integrity to become even a satisfactory leader.He is hated by everyone,even then his party nominated him for President and wants him to stick with Presidency.How could Nawaz Sharif be a popular leader who proved out to be a big failure twice in the past?How could target killing in karachi make MQM supporters blind to the fact that MQM does have something to do with that?This all led me to the conclusion that people in power are beneficairy of an ineffective election system.
    Elections are supposed to be 'free and fair'.In areas where feudalism exist,there is no free election.As election commision of pakistan is not independent so there are little chances election can be fair.There has always been rigging in all the election held in Pakistan.The only difference is some elction had more rigging and others had less.But problem with election system in Pakistan is far biiger than this.
    What does a voter think before casting his vote?Have we ever asked any voter?Both PPP and PMLN failed at governance
    but they intentionally to their own adavtage formed a system where there is little room for new parties who want to address Pakistan's real issues like education,law and order,juidiciary,tax refroms,land reforms,agricultural reforms,and list goes on for a country like Pakistan which is struggling to survive.
    Thanks to Zia,he promoted ethnic politics in Pakistan where the only criteria for voting in certain parts of the country turnedd out to be ethnicity.
    people in power have always tried to keep the majority uneducated or little educated so that they can fool them easily.
    At the end what we have got is,in pakistan politics and hypocricy are two alternate terms.Politics which lets leaders define and come up with the solutions to problems in their own way has become a house of immorality,corruption,insincerity,and lotacracy.
    And the real question is how to get rid of this system.Persistent political struggle based on principles and morality is only vaible solution.It might take decades but it surely would make people realize one day where the problem lies.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2010 10:12 #
  2. wantinsaf

No one has commented yet.it seems either people don't like the topic or they delibereately don't want to discuss such a big issue.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Mar 2010 13:32 #
  3. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

The problem is, elections are manipulated by Army or its agencies to gain favourable results.

This topic becomes worthless to talk about, as a result.

Army is yet another feudal lord. It has always and still operates in this same way.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Mar 2010 13:42 #
  4. wantinsaf

W Salam
    Well you are right to some extent but that's not the whole story.
    Manipulation has its own limitation,it can be to certain extent in certain areas.I've seen lots of videos how elections were rigged in 2008 in some areas.But overall 2008 elections were fair to most of the extents.
    We as a nation can control manipulation but the real issue is to change the attitude of voters that is to make them vote for Pakistan.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Mar 2010 13:48 #
  5. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Why should feudals, which includes Pak Army solve problems of the people ? Feudals live the life of luxury, they remain in power as long as people's problems remain as they are.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Mar 2010 13:48 #
  6. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

How can you call Feb, 2008 general elections to be fair, when;

(1) Judiciary was in dismissed state
    (2) Election Commission Rules were turned & twisted by Mr. Musharraf
    (3) NRO deal was signed between Army and PPP/Mr. Zardari
    (4) No pre-election razor sharp accountability took place

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Mar 2010 13:50 #
  7. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

The common man in Pakistan will vote, when he will have the confidence that;

(1) his vote has some worth
    (2) his vote will bring change
    (3) that he will get justice, basic necessities of life, education, health, etc etc

Who in Pakistan doesn't know, that there is no law, no justice within Pakistan, even right now, except that which the feudals call 'law' ?

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Mar 2010 13:56 #
  8. RajputPuttar

harris

Judiciary was also dismiised before 2002 elections . Isn't

Which elections rules were amneded before 2008 ?

I remember rules were ameneded befoe 2002 when 2 term and graduate conditions were introduced ?

no accountabliy before 2002 elections occured ?

Then whats the point of this crap that these things didn't happen before 2008

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Mar 2010 14:47 #
  9. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@RajputPuttar: You'r constantly promoting lawlessness in Pakistan, on this forum. Is there a reason to it ?

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Mar 2010 15:19 #
  10. netengr

Pohanchna college hamesha late
    woh kehna sir ka
    get our from the class
    woh baher ja kay ,hamesha kehna

"YAHAN KA SYSTEM , HE HAY KHARAB "

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Mar 2010 15:22 #
  11. wantinsaf

@netenger
    There is no comparison between a simple class system and complex election system.
    You had better analyse the post and then prove me wrong accordingly.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2010 11:30 #
  12. LalBichoo

wantinsaf,

I totally agree with you that it's the system that needs to be changed instead of policies of PTI and IK :)))

How can this system be good which doesn't allow IK to be PM :)))

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2010 11:35 #
  13. wantinsaf

@laibichoo
    You came up with another joke.
    It doesn't have anything to do with Imran Khan,it rather has something to do with Pakistan.
    1-How many poor people like 'Kisans' have been elected in this system?
    2-Why do candidates spend millions on elections in order to get eleted?
    3-Tell me,how many have been sent in Assemblies who can bring education reforms?
    4-do you really people believe that people we have elected can bring some reforms in system?
    5-Why does a feudal have an advantage over ordinary person in this election system?
    There are very serious questions.what I want is only capable people should get elected,not incapable who even don't know the difference between IT and Telecom.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2010 11:44 #
  14. RajputPuttar

wantinsaf

The electoral system has got some issues but root cause lies some here. Probably its going to be a long message so appologize for that in the start.

a) I once read , Molve Tameez ud din Khan , speaker of first constitent assembly , said that in 1946 elections i spent a total of 13 rs and 9 aanaas.

Let me remind u that , he was elected on one of the thirty seats which were allocated across undivived india which at that time included Pak , Ind & Bangledsh.

b) In 1954 , in east pakistan , the sitting CM , noor ul ameen was defeated by a student leader.

c) in 1970 , in the first general elections , the turnover ratio was around 70% despite the fact that there was a major cycleon in East Pakistan and mode of transport were not as good as today.

d) In 1970, in both wings , the big figures were destroyed.

e) Pakistani nation has been de-politicized by continous systematic bashing of civilians.

f) Pakistani nation has lost faith in voting as they know that result will be pre-arranged and this fact is relected by ever decreasing turnover which is now around 35-40%.

g) The non-party system elections of 85 made the law-makers , moori member. Doing development work is not upto MNA's or MPA's , its basiclly duty of local bodies.

h) No civilian govt is allowed to stablize and complete its term & to deliever.

These are major events in my humble oponion. Lets analyze who is responsbile .

a) Who introdcued 'BASIC DEMOCRACY' ? civilians --politicians or --PAK ARMY ?

b) Who refused to hand over power to elected reps of masses and forced bengalis out of Pakistan ? civilians or --PAK ARMY ?

c) Who riggs the elections ? like IJI , PIF , MMA ? whose braind child were these ? civlianz or --PAK ARMY ?

d) who intropduced non-party based elections to de-politicize the nation ?

e) who intoduced 'Islamic Democracy ?

f) Who introduced 'Real Democracy ?

g) Recnetly , who created the chief justice issue ? Was it any civilian or Chief of ARMY STAFF ?

Bahi ,

problem here is that --PAK ARMY is making civilians fight among themself and looting the country.

This has to be a fight between the civilianz , the masses of pkaistan and 'ROUGE ARMY' in order to get the freedom from this viscious circle.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2010 12:08 #
  15. rajju ur still here why dont u answer my post on the forun?

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2010 12:10 #
  16. wantinsaf

@RajputPutter
    Pak Army's past has not been great.But this is a multi dimensional problem.It goes beyond Amry's involvement in politics.
    My question to us the civilians is,have we done any good with this country?We all need to share blame.Problem lies withn all of us.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 11:08 #
  17. RajputPuttar

wantinsaf

Bahi, we need to identify the root cause of the problem. There is a saying "RESPONSIBLITY COMES WITH AUTHORITY".

U can yourself judge who has authority in pakistan ?

Harris

Quoting the facts is not promoting the lawlessness. Do u deny the facts i posted in the message to which's response u have accused me of promoting lawlessness ?

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 13:03 #
  18. wantinsaf

@RajputPutter
    It's the responsiblity of us the political workers to fight for our rights.
    Pakistan doesn't have one centre of power.Politicians,Army,Intellegence Agencies all are part of our power structure.
    So along with Army,I would blame incompetent politicians as well.

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2010 6:42 #
  19. wantinsaf

In this election system poors can not compete against feudals and influential candidates.
    Dawn writes down

"Mai Jori Jamali, the first woman to contest an election for a general seat in the history of Jaffarabad district, could get only 491 votes. She was a candidate of the Awami Party Pakistan and supported by various NGOs."
    she lost the election despite being like common masses of her constituency.
    There is something seriously wrong with this election system and we need to fix that.
    For more read
    http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/front-page/19-ppp-grabs-balochistan-assembly-seat-130-hh-04

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2010 11:44 #
  20. RajputPuttar

wantinsaf bahi,

I m unable to understand why the political workers get this awarenesss when there is political setup. When its generals , tu bhang pee hoti haai :)

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2010 11:54 #
  21. @wantinsaf

Your posts are focused on one point in the background how Imran Khan can become PM of this country?

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2010 12:06 #
  22. wantinsaf

@sweetTruth
    Like you Imran Khan is not an ordinary person.He is special,and extra-ordinary.He surely would make pakistanis realize where problem lies.
    If election is supposed to lead towards electing talenteds,honests,capables,educated,patriotics and kind people over incompetents,dishonests and corrupts,then what problem do you have in seeing electoral reforms?
    By the way,you have admitted there are seriously few things wrong with this system.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 11:39 #
  23. wantinsaf

@RajputPutter
    You are right to some extent.
    So called democrats provide us a chance to get to know with the problems in system.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 11:45 #
  24. RajputPuttar

wantinsaf

Bahi , i think calling the elected representatives of masses "incompetents,dishonests and corrupts" is an insult of masses.

On what ground u call elected reprs

a) Incompetent
    When the elected reps of masses were handed powere and allowed to complete their tenure ?

b) Dishonest & corrupt

Politician have gone through worst type of accountablity under different dictators. Why IK and u people don't raise your voices against DHA's ?

If there is any proven cases , yes even the current legal system doesn't allow such people

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 12:07 #
  25. election system of pakistan is corrupt as any other department in our country...people use pre poll rigging,pressure tactics,contacts,all available means to win the elections in their constituencies...that is why we are having same old corrupt faces in power for years and years now

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 12:31 #
  26. theimrannasir

Nodoubt, the election system in Pakistan is very orthodox and counterproductive. This systems can't represent the nation's decision or opinion. Suppose JI gets 4% vote which shows that every four out of hundred want JI's government but becuase this election system they are always unable to get 4% seats in national or provencial assemblies so is PTI, having vote bank in Pakistan they can't represent their mind set in assembly. So this ramshak system should be eradicated from Pakistan and any system which could give every party their right share in assembly should be enforced. I think their is one system which is called "mutnasib nmaindgi" would be suitable.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 12:43 #
  27. what's "mutnasib nmaindgi"?

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 12:45 #
  28. RajputPuttar

*RhyMe*

"mutnasib nmaindgi" means propotional representation where seats are allocated to parties based on number of votes secured in the whole country

theimrannasir

Mate , even propotional reprsentation system won't benefit PTI or JI as generally there is a minumum percentage limit for every party and only parties exceeding that minimum limit get representation in parliament.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 13:05 #
  29. theimrannasir

Rajputputtar bhai, May I know your name because your opinion is always worthreading so I want to address you by your actual name. Secondly, you're quite right about propotional representation system. If it is so as you say then there should be new system which can give a proper proportion to every party in assembly according to their obtained votes.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 13:28 #
  30. Good idea on proportional representation. In addition to this, what about party manifestoes restricted within the confines of nationalism and barring party agendas based on exploitation of religious/provincial/linguistic sentiments of Pakistanis for their own gains and that is to get hold to power. Once in power, all they do is horde wealth through what ever means possible.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 13:46 #
  31. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Mirza sb. you cannot separate DEEN from power within Muslim UMMAH, in any case. It would have disastrous affects for Muslims. Iqbal also said this.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 13:49 #
  32. RajputPuttar

theimrannasir

Genetleman , my name is Asif.

Sir,

What u r saying is quite not possible. Mainly , due to following reasons

a) Every one seat politician like Jatoi , Khar or Mehar will form his own party and will get say 80k votes translating into 1% and will get 3 seats as per current seats.

b) AT the moment there are around 70 parties regisitered with ECP and u know how many of have got system within themself.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 14:07 #
  33. theimrannasir

Asif Sahib(Rajputputter), you have forced me to see the matter from different angles. You're again right but you havn't suggest any solution except throwing cold water on me.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 14:12 #
  34. RajputPuttar

Tu bahi, aap itney dinno say naahey bhi tu nahi they naa.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 14:17 #
  35. theimrannasir

Asif Sahib(Rajputputter), Thanks for making me have bath but for your kind knowledge unlike you I always remain **** and span.Anyways, plz suggest solution.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 14:26 #
  36. RajputPuttar

theimrannasir

Sir, that was on a light note . aap tu tension hi laay gaaey.

Bahi , in my eyes solution is pretty simple.

a) Continuty of system
    b) Elimination of --PAK ARMY
    c) Investment in human resources (specially in education )

Sir,
    these are 3 basic steps . If u would like , i can give details of my view point but that would be a long messagee.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 14:30 #
  37. theimrannasir

ok, thank you, this much is enough to reach your mind set. sit back and get relaxed.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 14:33 #
  38. RajputPuttar

Sir,

Kutch aap bhi tu farmiyan. Aur kutch nahi yeh tu bata daain , what u have understood about my mindset.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 14:41 #
  39. theimrannasir

sir, your three points are tremendously thought-provoking which are not to be sneazed at.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 14:47 #
  40. RajputPuttar

frankly speaking , meeray saar kaay ooper say guzar gaai haai.

Yaar, aap 'tanz' tu nahi farma rahey ):

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 14:52 #
  41. theimrannasir

No, not at all. I'm of the view that these three points are actual solution for the problem.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2010 14:57 #