Discuss » Faith and Religion

Call for Prayer or cacophony

(11 posts)
  1. hkbajwa

I live in Lahore where ther are at least 15 mosques within earshot. 5 times a day the whole world erupts into a terrifying noise when maulvis from 15 different mosques tap their mics and start off the azaam. This always happens with several seconds of delay from each mosque so in the end all your hear is the mixed noise of 15 mullahs (many of whom are completely tone deaf and totally incapable of doing justice to the melody of the azaan.

come friday i can depend on at least one of the mullahs to give a "fire and brimstone" sermon which sounds more like a severe scolding than a sermon to give people peace, love and joy in Islam.

And lets not forget various other times of the year like ramzaan when each one of these mosques are trying to overpower the other with various recitations, naats and hamds blaring over their everready loudspeakers. they of course usually neglect to ensure that the person on the mic actually sounds good. What seems to matter most is the volume that can be achieved.

Am i the only one who experiences this?? Shouldn't some sort of effort be done to make it more pleasant and less noisy?

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 12:36 #
  2. LalBichoo

hkbajwa,

Thanks for highlighting a serious issue !

The voice of moulvi of a mosque near my house in Karachi is such horrible that sometimes my daughter used to wake up in the morning and started crying :)))

He stresses so much on Allhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh oooooooo Akbarrrrrrrrrrrrrrr Allahhhhhhhhhhh oooooooo Akbarrrrrrrrrr that his voice hurts my ears very badly and once he finishes his Azaan, I even Thank God for making me an Atheist :))))

You won't believe but that moulvi sometimes calls azaan before time and one someone stops him he turns off the mic :))

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 12:43 #
  3. NNL

Yeah the Call reminding of Jahanum is scary bro. It does rile up a lot of people like that.

Take preventive cure for it.

I know its really painful for you lot to experience something which you cant relate to. So find a cure like move or sound proof the room or something.

Dont take the above advice the wrong cos i do understand what it feels to be tortured by something which you cant relate to. Plus the people saying the Azaan have no idea of how many harakats to use and understand this concept that when using a mic one can tone down their voice and not shout on the mic.

So i understand your situation completely.

May Allah Help you in that regard.

And to highlight Bajwa's point yes he is right its fairly rude to wake ppl up in the night for some naats and hamd like why torture an already tortured soul. Let them have some bliss. Yes they over do it. This shouldnt be the case even in Ramadan rather esp in Ramadan cos the believers do like to get up and pray Tahajjud so u did be distrubing a them and distracting them plus bothering a whole lot of people. The night is made for silent prayers not a group of ppl going on and on like rock band.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 15:44 #
  4. hkbajwa

@ NNL

Well when i was living in East London once upon a time my apartment was 2 streets down from the only mosque in europe where azaan was permitted. And i loved it.

It was a single voice, reciting in tune and beautifully. I find a call to prayer to be not only nostalgic but if done well it makes you pause and think for a moment.

Don't assume that i don't have the same relationship to the azaan as you simply because you have slotted me into the ahmadi/infidel category. I don't fit into any slots that you can come up with :)

My issue anyhow is with the complete chaos surrounding the azaan which is in fact supposed to be a peaceful and calming call for people to take a break and remember God. With 15 mosques all giving their individual azaan of greater or lesser quality, the basic objective of the azaan is lost.

Why did the Prophet (pbuh) ask hazrat bilal RA to give the azaan? Was it because he was important or spiritual or anything? No, it was because he had a beautiful and powerful voice. The azaan is supposed to sound GOOD, not like a trainwreck.

And btw a religion that depends of fear of hellfire rather than love of harmony to attract and maintain adherents has something fundamentally wrong in the way it is preached.

Islam is not here to scare the daylights out of people. It is here to give us support and strength in life. The mullah scolding you for your perceived "wrongdoings" is playing on your basest fears and completely forgetting the inherently peaceful, loving, compassionate and forgiving nature of Islam.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 15:57 #
  5. NNL

Oye Yaar

before writing a novel read what i wrote I said u are right read my last para graph I agreed with u.

Pata nahin kia tension. Agree karo tou masla nahin karo tou masla.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 16:01 #
  6. NNL

Chalo ok

Have you ever wondered why the Azaan in Medina is different from Makkah.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 16:02 #
  7. I was in model town Lahore last April and was woken every night at 3am in the morning by a molvie sahab with a habitnak voice on the loudspeaker. The molvie sahab would be joined by a different molvie sahab screaming in competition from another mosque. I wonder why these people use loudspeakers so late at night. The mosques were far away but in the quiet of the night they sounded like they were screaming outside the house. They always kept the show going till 5 in the morning.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2010 21:54 #
  8. My first interaction with a Maolvi Sahib was on the issue of misuse of loudspeaker in a colony close to Nawan Kot, Samanabad, Lahore.
    He was performing a 'sacred duty' of reciting whole of the Holy Quran at midnight, sitting by himself in the compound of the Mosque, using 4 loudspeaker horns at full volume.
    To recite whole of the Quran at night was known as Shabina.
    I requested the Maulvi Sahib to stop the nuisance what was disturbing so many old, sick males, children and pregnant women of the locality.
    At my initiative a numbers of residents of the locality joined me to convince Maulvi Sahib to surrender.

There were so many articles in the media about the misuse of Loudspeaker what once, was declared as Haram and un-Islamic by Mualana Ashraf Ali Thanvi, in 50's.

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2010 0:52 #
  9. SufiSoul

Use of loud speaker except Azaan should only be when it is very important to use...
    Actually we have some so-called Heads over shoulders who would like Azaan to be completly Banned at LS..

On the other side we are also self-sufficient in such a Heads over shoulders which missuses the LS other than AZaan time...
    without any urgent/necessarry need...

NNL

I think both of this type of (GHABI) heads are not required among muslims and i would suggest to send them both sides at exile to Africa.(oN JABRI Mushaqat)...
    If you have any better place than Africa pls let me know....

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2010 12:28 #
  10. hkbajwa

@ NNL

hahahahha.. sorry man.. got caught up in my own words. But i was taking issue with your statement that some people cannot relate. Perhaps i misunderstood you?

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2010 14:30 #
  11. NNL

SufiSoul

I rather not tell here my preferred place to send them.

However they are more than welcome to stay in waco tx.

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2010 14:41 #