Discuss » Current Issues

54 foot high BB Shaheed monument to be erected in Karachi

(29 posts)
  1. Monday, October 13, 2008
    Karachi

The design for a monument to be erected in the memory of the victims who died in the October 18 bomb blasts at the welcome rally of the late Benazir Bhutto last year has been approved by Sindh Chief Minister (CM) Syed Qaim Ali Shah. The CM will inaugurate the construction of the monument at Karsaz on Saturday.

Confirming this, official sources said that many designs were presented to the CM, of which he approved one. The monument will be a 54-foot high “arrow”, the PPP election symbol, and will be built on the green belt on the site of the blasts in which more than 150 people were killed and hundreds injured during the welcome rally of Benazir Bhutto.

The monument’s height of 54 feet has symbolic value, with Benazir being 54 years old at the time of the incident.

The monument will be made of concrete, and the PPP has decided that big portraits of the late Benazir would also be displayed at the site.

The decision to construct the monument was taken when the PPP came to power and different designers had been working on this project. The party decided to unveil this monument on the one-year anniversary of the incident.

Posted 3 years ago on 14 Oct 2008 0:59 #
  2. Asif

Bey-nazir roti: All the tandoor owners asked to emboss bey-nazirs sketch on the rotis.

Bey-nazir kapra: The whole textile industry is asked to print bey-nazirs sketch on every piece of cloth.

Bey-Nazir makan: every new house would have a roof watertank with bey-nazirs monument.

Bey-Nazir khao, bey-nazir pehno aur bey-nazir main raho.

Asif Bhutto Zardari (jamhuuri sadar aka PPPP ka karta darta) ney roti kapra aur makan ka waada puura ker diyya.

Posted 3 years ago on 14 Oct 2008 3:12 #
  3. we shud have BB s biggest monument near CJ IFTIKHAR S house.
    who has been called real CJ by BB ...
    and now get side lined by her own party..unfortunately

in karachi ...
    i want to see a huge monument of Quiad e Azam first..
    as he was from karachi...
    he is buried in karachi....
    b4 anyone else ..his monument deserve to b placed in karachi.
    on contrary ..i have noticed that all the hoardings holding Quiad s pic along with his quotes has been disappeared from the city....
    this city is not belong to any ghunda party nazim...
    or any Us stooge shaheed BB ...

Karachi and Karachities are proud to b associated with Quiad and love to b refered as Quiad s city.

Posted 3 years ago on 14 Oct 2008 7:13 #
  4. nazia

No body is asking mr zardari that your beloved wife was murdered in daylight among her followers , instead of chasing his murderers whom name were mentioned in her will actually but his all energy is focussed on using her name in different useless issues.I think this way he is taking revenge to her better half who had sent him in some kind of solitary confinement in NY apartment for 5 years.This way he consoled his heart that now she is dead and no more returned to throw him out from his president palace.

Posted 3 years ago on 14 Oct 2008 13:07 #
  5. @Nazia Dear,
    how can u expect to chase his wifes murderers ??
    if he had planned it himself...or atleast he was aware of whats happening ahead .
    he has shake hands with the murderers...

and now chasing beautiful ladies to over come his sorrow as a widower.

Posted 3 years ago on 14 Oct 2008 13:18 #
  6. expakistani

oho some one deleted ma last post.....let me post it here again wit re wording

wt a freaking idea........ Benzir is in hell.

Posted 3 years ago on 14 Oct 2008 16:02 #
  7. Anonymous

Such stupidity acts are expected only from PPPs' personnel only Strongly Believe on this saying "First Deserve then Desire" or in Urdu "Jub Husan Hota Hai Tou Nazakat Achi Lugti Hai."

In short their/PPP's credibility is being declined on daily basis their popularity graph is touching bottom line and they/PPP is busy to change the Name of Airport or just making Monumnet of so called BB Shaheed who purchased worthwile 51 Crore NECKLACE on the same day when Zardari was executed by the Pakistani Court of Law.

Posted 3 years ago on 14 Oct 2008 22:02 #
  8. Insider

i will be the first to spit some pan juice on it.

Posted 3 years ago on 15 Oct 2008 1:02 #
  9. waqartaurus

these jerks jiyalas dont have any sense absolutely. if they are so loyal to their leader why dont they ask the zard aari sahib, who happens to be the husband of her, and who said "Bb ki maut per sari zindagi sog main rahon ga", why still the investigation is not started yet. first death anniversary is about to come, still who killed her no information. just building monuments, renaming hospitals, airport, bridges and roads to her, how can this help poor people of pakistanis. whats the use. just wastage of time and money, of tax payers.

Posted 3 years ago on 27 Oct 2008 20:57 #
  10. when we can see a 54 foot high monument of Zardari Shaheed ???

ppl of Pakistan are desparately waiting ....

Posted 3 years ago on 28 Oct 2008 6:02 #
  11. expakistani

not only zardari we are waiting for 54 other leaders

Altaf to Zardari.... we need monument in memory of all those so called leaders.

Posted 3 years ago on 28 Oct 2008 17:10 #
  12. Shihab

sallam,
    Guys i think we all should pray for our beautiful country but i think now its time to take some kind of serious action.These ppl hv tried to eat this small n gifted country for 61 years and they will keep on eating it if we as ppl dont react,i think u all should give some suggestions instead of JUGTEIN,,,bye

Posted 3 years ago on 28 Oct 2008 19:19 #
  13. @Shahib dear,
    my first suggestion..i have already given in the thread named Scary...
    i have first analyse my parents choice of leaders ..than thought about it ..rejected it.
    had convinced my parents,uncles ,aunts and cousins not to vote a Ghunda Party ..just for the sake of being Urdu speaking....
    so they never voted this time..though i casted my vote for Lion..as it seems a lesser evil to me at that point in time ....in Feb18,2008 elections ...
    thats another story that now i am getting disappointed by surprising silence of Nawaz Sharif...and inshallah re consider my voting decision again in near future ...\
    in the coming elections ...which is not too far...i guess....inshallah

Posted 3 years ago on 29 Oct 2008 4:00 #
  14. azeem1

@beenai
    good that ur reconsidering. may be u remember I told u why should we compromise on a lesser evil when Imran khan is there.

Posted 3 years ago on 29 Oct 2008 8:06 #
  15. Justapakistani

Lolz Imran Khan? the one man party.......one man show

Posted 3 years ago on 29 Oct 2008 8:56 #
  16. @Azeem,
    thanks for ur suggetion..i will consider it inshallah..
    lets hope time of Election2009 ...will come sooner.....

@justapakistani
    one man show is better than Mr.10% show...anyday..

Posted 3 years ago on 29 Oct 2008 9:03 #
  17. Justapakistani

lolz where u adjust democratic norms within one man show....life time president of the party,

Posted 3 years ago on 29 Oct 2008 9:40 #
  18. @justapakistani,
    janab e aali,
    for ur kind info...
    who is the democratic party out here ????
    any names????

according to my limited knowldge ...
    Bhutto..than Nusrat Bhutto...than Benazir and than Zardari and than Bilawal are the life time owners and president of the so called biggest democratic party of Pakistan.
    Nana..Nani...Beti....Damaad...Nawasa ....great democracy within Party....

Nawaz Sharif and his brother Shahbaz Sharif and his son Hamza Sharif ...and Nawazs son in law Safdar ....are the top decision makers in PML N...
    Ch.Shujaat and his sons and his cousins Ch.pervez Allahi and Ch.Wajaht Hussian are holding PMLQ....

Altaf the great Ghunda of the city is life time all in all for MQM...
    and its been decleared Ghaddari ..if some one tries to differ with him...
    great democracy again.....

Baacha Khan ...Wali Khan..Naseem Wali ...Asfandyar Wali ...chain of Baap beta to fool out of innocent pakhtons ......

funtional Muslim League the only man is Pir Pagara ...

so what r u talking about ???
    wethear it is PPP ,its PML N,PMLQ,MQM,PMLF ,ANP or any other party ...
    its a one man show ...
    than whats the harm in Imran s one man show????
    we r quite use to and receptive to it...
    u know .............

Posted 3 years ago on 29 Oct 2008 11:10 #
  19. A political party's symbol being built on "tax payers money" as a "national monument" when the country's leader is running all over the world begging for money ? only in pakistan

Posted 3 years ago on 29 Oct 2008 21:36 #
  20. We should investigate; this might be American Conspiracy to distract the people of Pakistan through involving them in another nonproductive debate?

Posted 3 years ago on 30 Oct 2008 3:50 #
  21. @Dear Shiekh Sahib,
    i dont think that its a non productive debate...
    i guess ...sometimes it seems but actually this thread is useful....
    announcement of putting 54 foot high monument of Ms.Bhutto shows many things>>>>>
    1.intentions of Govt of PPP
    2.Priorities of Govt of PPP
    3.Limitations of Govt of PPP
    4.focus of the Govt of PPP
    5.Plans of the Govt of PPP (in the largest national interest)

i think...this says a lot about PPP Govt....

Posted 3 years ago on 30 Oct 2008 4:21 #
  22. I acknowledge that the criticism is also a useful stage for the reconstruction of an Ideology to orchestrate a change.
    If the PPP doesn’t deliver to the satisfaction of the people of Pakistan within the tenure of its Governance, they could be out-voted in the next elections as Pakistanis ousted PMLQ.
    Time is to start the homework to consolidate a consensus, who could be the next Party and Leader to fix the problems?

Posted 3 years ago on 30 Oct 2008 11:04 #
  23. azeem1

how genious.

Posted 3 years ago on 30 Oct 2008 11:55 #
  24. Asif

to dilver or not is not a question at the moment. The centre of power in a parliamentry system is parliament headed by PM not by President.
    If Zardari wanna be in the limelight he should fight the election & then ask his parliamentraian to vote him for PM instead of spoiling the whole system.

Posted 3 years ago on 30 Oct 2008 11:57 #
  25. Insider

i wonder if the government will waste money on this project as other important projects are halted due to lack of funds.

Posted 3 years ago on 30 Oct 2008 19:04 #
  26. Mr. Asif,

To deliver is not a question??? The country is on the verge of bankruptcy, if the economic collapse, which appears closer than ever, happens. Hundreds of millions of awam will not care whether it is parliament or Zardari or fauji, they will be out on the streets picking leftover food from garbage cans and dumpsters.

Posted 3 years ago on 30 Oct 2008 21:08 #
  27. the real question is what is zardari compensating for with a 54 ft long arrow

Posted 3 years ago on 30 Oct 2008 21:18 #
  28. Delivering is not a question loool

Your elected prime ministers and presidents are going to the arabs and the Chinese and the goras with their begging bowls, begging for mercy and any petty change they can spare only to be told no **** no.

We have "Friends of Pakistan" conferences where other countries come and see what spare change they can toss to us. These kinds of "Friends of X" conferences used to be held for dirt poor medieval sub-saharan african countries.

What fantasy world do you live in.

Posted 3 years ago on 30 Oct 2008 21:26 #
  29. this Govt had proved very soon..that it cant ..just cant deliver...

Posted 3 years ago on 31 Oct 2008 9:46 #